Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Curtis Fundamental Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 536 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

My children have attended Curtis since K. I am a teacher myself, at another elementary school, and wouldn't have them anywhere else. Both of my children have become responsible, caring, and excellent students through Curtis. My children have been challenged through the gifted program which in my opinion is top notch. Teachers really do care about the children there and are dedicated professionals. We are proud of the successes that we have achieved both academically and in the community. The facility is always clean, well maintained, and secure. As a working parent, I do not get to volunteer as much as I would like, but I am never treated any less for it. There has not been a single minute in the past 5 years that I have wished for some place other than Curtis for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

My child is in his 2nd year of attendance at Curtis. We have been impressed with the professionalism and tenure of the teachers and administration. We feel that Curtis is providing him with an excellent education and that he has both teachers and a support staff that is very caring and attempts to help every child grow. My husband and I are very pleased with the education at Curtis Fundamental.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Curtis has the greatest teachers who really care about our kids and want them to do their best. Coming from a parent with a child with learning disabilities, they have supported both my daughter and me as we worked together as a team to help her to succeed. If it wasn't for the support or the teachers and staff, she wouldn't be the student she is today. I know she will succeed because of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

This is our first year here at Curtis and I cannot say enough good things about it. One of my favorite things is the sense of community and family. You always feel like you are welcome and heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

I am so glad we won this lottery! My daughter loves her school and we love her teachers. Wonderful place and staff really care and go above and beyond. This principal has a love for her students that I have not seen elsewhere. wish all schools were like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

I currently have 3 children attending Curtis Fundamental. I couldn't say enough good things about this school. The teachers are great and the principal is very involved. Most of the involved parents are a positive contribution to the school. Some parents may not agree with the guidelines, but they do ensure equitable treatment of the children. My kids love Curtis Fundamental.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Great school, great teachers and principal. I feel that the support we have from the school as a whole is more than I ever dreamed of. I have had experience with home zone school and it doesn't compare to this school at all. I am so thankful that we got in on the lottery system. I would never second guess the fundamental way. Having to comment to being 100% involved is a great thing. If you can't be committed than this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Ever since our daughter started at Curtis her kindergarten year, we realized how lucky she was to get into such a great school. The teachers and staff go above and beyond to encourage the students to succeed. I believe that she will be able to grow and flourish with the education she continues to receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

This is our 4th year at Curtis, it's an amazing school!! The teachers and ataff do such great things, my children love going there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

As a single minority Mother it was important that my child was able to transition from out of state and not feel lost in such a different environment. I was excited for my Child to attend Curtis but I have to admit I was concerned. Now two years later we have met so many parents and families and the staff and Admiistration are awesome..I'm blessed and thankful I found a school that is commited to education #proudsinglemom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

My two children are at Curtis Fundamental (5th and 3rd grades). We could not be happier. Teachers are really dedicated to students' success. They go way above and beyond their responsibilities. Love the tradition of monthly Open Court, where students accomplishments and positive character traits are celebrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

This school overall is pretty good. I do feel that some of the teachers are not as caring as others. I am not impressed with the principal though. If you have an issue she just blows it off and bullying is not adressed as it should be. The gifted teacher though is awesome and really goes above and beyond. I do agree about the previous comment about donations. I feel sometimes that the clique PTA members have to much say in what is going on also. Overall I was happy with most of the teachers but there were some that were really bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

My daughter is in second grade and Write up are giving out too freely and some of the teachers hold the smart kids back cause other students are behind instead of challanging the one's that need it. The principle is always down grading the parents. My daughter will not be attending the third grade next year at curtis. Instead she will be going to tarpon fundamental so she can get the education that she rightfully deserves. Parents get involved with the kids education which is really great. I believe that the teachers have to start caring about every child and not just a selected few. What happen to the no child left behind ACT?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

Curtis only cares about donations and ratings and not the students. Children should not be put on the back burner. Some of the teachers are great at what they do and you have the rest of them that just don't care and scream at the children and when a child does something wrong they do not correct them correctly. My child is advanced for his class and is not getting the proper education because they do not want him ahead of his class. If you have any problems about any of the teachers and you bring it up to the principle she will tell you to go to another school instead of trying to resolve the problems. The school policies are great just not alot of the staff. I want to know who is lying and giving the school 10 out of 10. Please stop lying to everyone and be honest about curtis fundamental.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

We currently have a 4th and 2nd grader attending Curtis. What we value in Curtis is the Principle, Ms. Metz-Easley, the teachers (all of who have challenged our children), curriculum and diverse approaches they take to making learning fun and long lasting. The Art and Music teachers inspires our children creatively and PE teachers reinforce healthy behaviors (physically and teaches the value of good nutrition). My husband and I applaud the staff of Curtis Fundamental for all they do for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

Curtis is a great school and the teacher seem to genuinely care about the students. I also understand that they are mandated to " teach for the test" and how frustrating that must be for them. I also applaud the family involvement requirment and would like to suggest that if one family member doesn't seem to keeping the commitment, could staff contact other family members who are listed? Especially in cases of multiple children, it can be easy to lose track of things and this way other concerned family memvers could pick up the slack?


Posted August 17, 2011

Curtis is a great school with parent involvement as the cornerstone of its success. Disruptive students are not tolerated which in turn improves the teachers ability to have quality interaction with the students that are there to learn. There were too unruly children in my daughters class last year and both of them were gone by October.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

This is the finest elementary school in this part of the county. My daughter has been enrolled for 3 years and I am very satisified with the results. Parent envolvement is required and they have a no tolerance policy that works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

We left Curtis after a 1-1/2 years. I thought the curriculum would be more rigorous, but found out it is no different than any other elementary school. In my experience, a child meeting 'end of year expectations' early is not pushed or challenged. In fact, the school said they don't want children to work ahead of grade level, even if they are capable. While I appreciate some elements of the fundamental structure, it sometimes seemed like the rules were more important than keeping a child engaged and challenged. The result for us was an unhappy, stressed child who didn't feel like learning was fun. That being said, the parental involvement and support was wonderful as were some of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

They teach respect for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Black 7%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%60%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

531 Beltrees Street
Dunedin, FL 34698
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 738-6438

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT