Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Jose Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 496 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2013

My son has very specific needs and they met them all with a caring hart. I highly recommend this school! My son isn't the easiest kid, but they stuck with us and helped improved him and his learning skills! My son is going to a different school this year, because unfortunately we had to relocate . Before we left from San Jose I had to be very careful on what we put on his IEP. They sat in the meeting with me for about 2hrs to make sure I was happy with the verbiage and all the accommodations! I send my Love and a Big Thank you to the San Jose team!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

My son attended San Jose a few years ago. He has learning disabilities which they were aware of. At the time he was fairly new to the area and very quiet and shy, yet the principal was constantly accusing him of bullying others based not on anything he did, but things he allegedly said to groups of other kids as he usually walked alone on campus due to his shyness. For little things like dropping his pencil or getting out of his chair they did not allow him to go on a field trip he had his heart set on and the principal kicked him out of the school like 3 weeks before graduation based on something he allegedly said. However, I only wish he had left SJ sooner because it turned out he went to a great elementary and had an absolutely wonderful teacher his last weeks of elementary school and in just a few weeks made lots of friends. There tends to be a lot of gossip among office staff and parents at San Jose, more than at other schools and the principal apparently pays too much attention to this and my son got in the cross fire of it. Such childish behavior by adults and professionals should not be the source of unfair treatment of children. Hope SJ is doing better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

San Jose is definitly a diamond in the rough. I am a parent who lives in Garrison Jones Elementary school district who had to have her child moved to San Jose because of bullying. The Principal at Garrison JE just didn't feel it was her responsibility to take care of the kids who are being bullied it was the parents job to toughin up their kids. After switching from that A school to San Jose I have learned the grades down here in Florida mean nothing. This is absolutely a fantastic school.. Yes my daughter has been bullied by one kid but you know what the difference is? The leadership of the school has a ZERO tollerance. There is an amazing parent involvement and the Liaison of the school is AMAZING! She is a wealth of information who is always taking care of making our school more green and keeping community involvement. I also have a love for the Assistant Principal they are all amazing educators. The Principal at San Jose 100% takes care of her teachers and admin. in return they are happy which makes for GREAT teachers. I have not been this happy since I moved to Florida. Don't look at the school grade to make a decision on a school. Those schools worry more about grade then kid
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

My sons, as new students at SJ Elem, felt welcome & secure from the very first day in August. Since then, In only three and a half months, one of my children has risen 4 levels in his reading level through extra during school-time tutoring, consistent daily strategic teaching, and friendly systems for parent-child reading time at home. The other has been tracked for gifted classes, and both love going to school.. Our children's health is a priority there, they have two mornings of an extra 30 minutes of supervised play per week and teach the children about nutrition and cardio vascular health. My first and second graders love learning there, and based on the way the children at San Jose get along in the halls and in class, they have a very effective discipline policy. The staff has been very accessible and professional, including their wonderful principal Ms. Wolcott. Thanks for the daily experiences my sons tell me about, including the specials like PE Art and Music. What an amazing team of a faculty and support staff! Thanks for the daily inspiration that I see in my kids. They work hard there & they love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

This is a great school. Both my kids went there and have moved on successfully. One child was gifted, the other with a specific learning disorder. It is unfair to assess a school by test results when transient students and learning disorders are averaged in with the remainder of the student body. San Jose currently has specialized classes for Autism. Previously they had classes for Emotionally Disturbed students. Take out those scores and you would see a much higher stat!


Posted March 19, 2010

My son receives therapy at San Jose from the Pre-K program. I have been really impressed with his teachers and the staff. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

San jose is great school with great resources at hand. Parental involvement is lacking at the school and i say this as a very involved parent! despite a post below, pinellas county has a strong anti-bullying program in place! monika wolcott is a very considerate hard working principal and this is her third year at san jose, a five star school which has been selected among the 80 district elementary schools to participate in pilot programs. This is an excellent school with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The San Jose Family is truly the best around. A hometown, neighborhood school doing whatever it takes to help children be successful. We absolutely love and care about kids and families like nobody's business! United We (DO) Soar!


Posted November 3, 2009

New administration has a huge learning curve and unfortunately the students may suffer. Bullying is not addressed. This neighborhood school no longer has the quaintness it was famous for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

San Jose Elementary ROCKS! We have the best teachers, students, parents and community supporter.in Pinellas County. United We Soar!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Both Granddaughters attended San Jose; they are now and have been among the top in their class. The oldest is now President of er class and the youngest was in the gifted classes. Very proud of both of them; San Jose is doing something right.


Posted July 17, 2008

I was a student at San Jose many moons ago and loved it. Both of my children attended San Jose, one in middle school and one starting fifth grade. Both are excelling in advanced/gifted classes. I volunteer in the school, sometimes with teachers that taught ME thirty years ago. The teachers are wonderful. They really care about their students. They inspired me to become an educator as well, I will be finishing up May 2009. Parental involvement is important to your child's education, this school makes involvement fun and easy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

Best school teachers great I loved everything about it espcially the fifth greade teacher Mr. Leanes he is funny, but can knock some sense into the children thats why hes my favorite my children went there for 3 years and they said 'I wish I can go back!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

I am a GrandMother of 3 great children. Two of them have attended San Jose Elementary School in Dunedin, Fl. for 2 years. This school gets my vote in being a Great School. The Principal is involved in everything with the students and parents. He has always been kind and considerate even though his schedule is always full. He is on-top-of-it in every aspect of educating,socializing and protecting our children each and every day. The Staff is also trained, dedicated to insure that our children are taught with the best possible methods available. We entrusted San Jose with our most precious children and are very happy that they responded with their best in every department. With thanks to all including the terrific office staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

San Jose elementary school is the best elementary school for ESE students. This program needs to stay in place for years to come. Thank you San Jose for helping my son to exceed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

This is a great school with very caring teachers and staff. My child is in K and I am amazed at the work they are asked to do. It's not just finger paint and edible glue, like I remember my first year. It's reading, writing, problem solving, and the whole gamut of educational preparation. I feel my child is growing steadily and happily in a supportive environment that includes community involvement and multi-cultural awareness. But parents must beware, all schools educate about 6 hours a day, you are expected to enhance and reinforce that education the other 18. This school expects no less, and for that I recommend them whole heartedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2003

I have not been pleased with my childs learning experiences at this school.. they are more concerned about organizational skills than children learning achedemic coursesMy child is not happy at this school.. comes home feeling belittled at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This school is Dunedin's best kept secret. I refuse to move until my daughter completes 4th and 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 12%
Black 9%
Two or more races 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 127%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 25%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%60%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50am
School end time
  • 2:50pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. MONIKA S WOLCOTT
Fax number
  • (727) 469-5960

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1670 San Helen Drive
Dunedin, FL 34698
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 469-5956

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Athenian Academy
Palm Harbor, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT