Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

232 students|Pinellas
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (7 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 123 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academie Da Vinci Charter School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Students are held accountable by staff and one another. This could be stronger in the upper grades.

Academie Da Vinci Charter School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
ADV is the only arts-focused school in the area. This importantant to my family. Classes also consistently have recess. Academics are strong, but could be more rigorous in the upper grades. Glad they are adding middle school because we like the small environment. The teachers are very dedicated and caring--going above and beyond, even in the wake of some turnover. This is a public school, but being a charter, extensive special services are simply not available. Students with a lot of needs might be better served elsewhere. Technology use is developing. However, if you are looking for a small, caring environment coupled with solid academics and an arts-focus, this is a good option!


Academie Da Vinci Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
I can't name just one teacher because there are so many amazing teachers at ADV. Thank you adv teachers for giving your all to teach, enrich and support my girls. You are appreciated!

Academie Da Vinci Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 01, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Duelle was the best Kindergarten teacher we could have asked for! She made my daughters transistion from an even smaller school to Da Vinci so smooth and easy. She is more confident than ever and doing so well in school!

Academie Da Vinci Charter School 5

Posted April 17, 2016
- a parent
This is our second year at Academie Da Vinci and my children couldn't be happier and neither could I with the wonderful education they are getting. One of the few statements made by a previous reviewer that troubled me is that "all the good teachers leave." I disagree fiercely with this. A couple of upper grade teachers chose to leave. To me, this speaks of unprofessionalism and a lack of caring. The teachers that continue to stay at Academie Da Vinci work hard to provide creative, interesting ways to present the curriculum to our kids. They take pride in their work and care about their students. I think the ones who really care STAY. I have had the opportunity to chat with teachers other than my children's teachers and have gained more respect as they talk about how they work to make learning meaningful for the kids. As my children have their struggles, their teachers work in partnership with me, hearing my concerns and exchanging ideas on how to best help my child. No place is perfect and Academie Da Vinci may not be for every family but throwing respectable, caring, hard working teachers under the bus is just not ok with me. I am very happy with the school, the teachers especially, as well as the wonderful opportunities afforded the kids in the arts...dance, fine art and music. If you are looking for a more fundamental approach to education or one with lots more technology based learning, this probably isn't the school for your family. If you, like me, appreciate an education that includes the chance to be creative, have artistic and thoughtful, hands on experiences you should check out Academie Da Vinci. It's a good school with an administration doing their best to continually raise the standard of excellence and teachers who care and strive to make learning interesting and meaningful.


Academie Da Vinci Charter School 1

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Bad principal. No organization. Does not control bullying. No safe place for the older kids to play, right now they play in a field by a pond or on concrete. No gym to play indoors when bad weather hits. No real cafeteria. Some teachers who don't care. No school nurse. No counselor. Definitely not ready to add middle school grades like they r doing. I have paid for things ie field trip or things to order from school and they lost my money and tried to argue me on me getting the item even though I had proof of payment. This was my kids first yr there and it will be their LAST!!!!!!! If u have any other option Take it.

Academie Da Vinci Charter School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Bad principal. No organization. Does not control bullying. No safe place for the older kids to play, right now they play in a field by a pond or on concrete. No gym to play indoors when bad weather hits. No real cafeteria. Some teachers who don't care. No school nurse. No counselor. Definitely not ready to add middle school grades like they r doing. I have paid for things in field trip or things to order from school and they lost my money and tried to argue me on me getting the item even though I had proof of payment. This was my kids first yr there and it will be their LAST!!!!!!! If u have any other option Take it.

Academie Da Vinci Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Bad principal. No organization. Does not control bullying. No safe place for the older kids to play, right now they play in a field by a pond or on concrete. No gym to play indoors when bad weather hits. No real cafeteria. Some teachers who don't care. No school nurse. No counselor. Definitely not ready to add middle school grades like they r doing. I have paid for things in field trip or things to order from school and they lost my money and tried to argue me on me getting the item even though I had proof of payment. This was my kids first yr there and it will be their LAST!!!!!!! If u have any other option Take it.


Academie Da Vinci Charter School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Bad principal. No organization. Does not control bullying. No safe place for the older kids to play, right now they play in a field by a pond or on concrete. No gym to play indoors when bad weather hits. No real cafeteria. Some teachers who don't care. No school nurse. No counselor. Definitely not ready to add middle school grades like they r doing. I have paid for things in field trip or things to order from school and they lost my money and tried to argue me on me getting the item even though I had proof of payment. This was my kids first yr there and it will be their LAST!!!!!!! If u have any other option Take it.

Academie Da Vinci Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Bad principal. No organization. Does not control bullying. No safe place for the older kids to play, right now they play in a field by a pond or on concrete. No gym to play indoors when bad weather hits. No real cafeteria. Some teachers who don't care. No school nurse. No counselor. Definitely not ready to add middle school grades like they r doing. I have paid for things in field trip or things to order from school and they lost my money and tried to argue me on me getting the item even though I had proof of payment. This was my kids first yr there and it will be their LAST!!!!!!! If u have any other option Take it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academie Da Vinci Charter School
1060 Keene Road, Dunedin, FL  34698
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 123 reviews. (727) 298-2778
Last modified Academie Da Vinci Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top