Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
260 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
64 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Lourdes 2

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
OLL’s facilities are beautiful; the classrooms are accommodating and modern and students are provided iPads. Once you look past the physical attributes, the true school will reveal itself; a marginal school with mediocre academics and an embarrassing competitive sports program. If you tour the school, the staff will promote the school in the same manner as the reviews on this web page. They will talk about how nice of an environment the school offers and the updated campus; however, once you get beyond the fluff, the true school will reveal itself; a small school that offers marginal academics. If you are researching OLL on this web page you obviously care about your children. Ask about class sizes and if advanced courses are offered. Because the class sizes are so small, the school cannot offer advanced classes; remedial students, mid-range students and advanced students are all taught at the same level. Ask about the sports programs, fielding competitive teams plagues this school and sports teams are embarrassingly decimated during competitions. These losses not only humiliate athletes, but pit students against each other as they struggle to place blame on each other’s errors as the reason for a loss.

Our Lady Of Lourdes 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a teacher
As a teacher at Our Lady of Lourdes, I can personally say that this is the most incredible faith-filled community I have ever been privileged to be a part of. The faculty & staff truly care about each student and work their hardest to provide each family with the best school experience possible. I feel so blessed to work with a group of people that I respect in a professional environment and also genuinely enjoy being around. The education your child will get at OLL cannot be compared to any other school and I look forward to the day that I have children who can attend school here.


Our Lady Of Lourdes 5

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
It is very sad to see someone who is disgruntled defame such a wonderful school, full of hardworking and dedicated staff who each day see that each child excels and not only benefits from the academics, but also from the sense of community, love, and spiritual growth. Please see beyond the one disgruntled and ask the 170 families who are happy their opinions of this wonderful school!

Our Lady Of Lourdes 2

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
This school is definitely overrated, everyone in the car line looks upset or mad to be at the school. Oh and did mention FAVORITISM at its Finest, this school is way to small for the amount of students attending. Teaching skills could definitely be better . Better catholic schools in the area do not waste your hard earned money in this school

Our Lady Of Lourdes 1

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Leaving OLL was the best decision we made for the formation of our child. The school is too small and lacks the ability to offer advanced classes. Last year the school graduated 13 eighth grade students; it is impossible for a school to offer advanced classes when they need to focus on the lower end of the bell curve. Parents, if you are considering this school, ask the tough questions of the administration; specifically, class size and the offerings for advanced classes. Now that our child is in high school, it is self-evident that OLL did not adequately prepare our child for high school. Our child’s peers took geometry in eighth grade which meant they started algebra 2 as freshmen; the same goes for science and STEM. Our child was not placed in advanced classes because prerequisites were not offered at OLL. I was part of the HSA; we regularly discussed in our meetings that parents should write favorable reviews on this web page. I regret writing inflated reviews, especially since I have seen how woefully unprepared my child was prepared for high school.


Our Lady Of Lourdes
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are mostly comprised of younger teachers. They need a more experienced staff. The principle is not effective.

Our Lady Of Lourdes
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Homework load is sadly not demanding. We asked the teachers why there was little to no home work; their only reply was that they covered the material in class.

Our Lady Of Lourdes
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
OLL try's to employ and other new world ideas to improve the behavior of students. It boils down to unqualified teachers who do not know how to instruct and manage student behavior.


Our Lady Of Lourdes
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Students of select parents receive special care and administrators look away when these select students misbehave.

Our Lady Of Lourdes
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
OLL favors select parents and children of those select parents. As a parent volunteering for the school fair, I overheard the chairperson and committee members discussing why parents receiving tuition assistance should be responsible for more volunteer hours. It was disappointing to hear people talk down about fellow parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Lourdes
730 San Salvador Dr, Dunedin, FL  34698
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. (727) 733-3776
Last modified Our Lady Of Lourdes is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top