Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dunnellon High School

Public | 9-12 | 1052 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2013

As a student of DHS, I can tell you that this school is an amazing small school with alot of heart. The teachers and staff are extremely caring and fun as long as a student is understanding that school is school, not free play time. Since it's a small school, the teachers and staff can actually create a bond with the students and know all their names. This school is so fun and has helped me through alot! Respect and you'll be respected. This glorious school has given me the most amazing school experience and I'll forever be a Tiger! So as long as students and parents understand that their student is no more special than the next, and rules are rules, your life at Dunnellon will be great! <3


Posted July 13, 2013

Dunnellon High is a pathetic excuse as a school. The faculty doesn't care about the students education nor the fact that the staff is very unfair. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone, only thing they have to offer is a diploma with your name on it and you will be lucky if you even get that!


Posted May 8, 2012

This school does not even deserve 1 star. The dean Mrs. Murphy- humiliates and harasses the children; she is very unprofessional and is probably an ex prison guard. The school is filthy. I was warned by guidance not to send my child here but had no choice. My child who is straight A's for 10 years has threatened to quit school if I make him go next year. He will be transferred to a real school with a qualified staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

The staff in this school are rude and very lazy, although there are a few good teachers here. Like several parents that I have talked with I withdrew my son from here and placed him into Westport where he is much happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The Principal, teachers and students are just awesome! There's great school spirit and a real team effort to help kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2009

Nice school, good opportunities for kids, friendly atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

I am currently a student at DHS. I recently moved from NY and my parents as well as I are proud of the outcome. We can see the difference and are proud of our choice!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2008

dunnellon high school is a great school.my kids get to do the sports they enjoyed when they were little.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2008

Our family could not be happier with the quality of education provided by DHS in the caring nurturing environment that exists at this community school. Our children have been well prepared to compete academically at the next level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

As a parent of two DHS students, I am extremely pleased with the overall quality of the school. The teachers are caring and willing to go above and beyond to assist students when needed. I have seen many teachers offering before or after-school tutoring. The administration is supportive of students and has set high expectations for student achievement and behavior. They have implemented many new programs that benefit a majority of the students. Their out-reach program to the Marion Oaks community is exceptional amd they have a large number of honors and AP courses available to challenge and stimulate learning. I could not be more pleased with a school. They have truly assisted in preparing my children for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

This was the school showing the most improvement in FL for 2005-2006. The principal under which this improvement occurred retired and the 1st year under the new principal the schools academic rating fell drastically. The Principal Leadership under the current administration is questionable. however, the faculty that I have had experience with have by and large been admirable, both in their comand of their field and their attitude toward the students. There is a communication gap with parents and the teacher web pages that should go to close this gap are woefully under utilized. All in all , this school has been a good experienc for my daushter even though it would not have been my first choise for a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

this shcool is very small and seemingly poor.you will rarely find a teacher here actually concerned with wether you pass or fail.not only are most of them absurdly strict,for no apparent reason,but dont do anything about the REAL problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2007

this school needs more outgoing teachers and not so many rules.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2007

There are to may fites in this school and they do not do any thing about it
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2006

This school is way to crowded. They need to either make it bigger or start sending students to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

289 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

250 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

286 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
31%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

265 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
51%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Hispanic 22%
Black 16%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 84%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%63%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. KEN MCATEER
Fax number
  • (352) 465-6746

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10055 Southwest 180th Avenue Road
Dunnellon, FL 34432
Phone: (352) 465-6745

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Crystal River High School
Crystal River, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT