Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dunnellon Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 628 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I posted a review on this school that has magically been removed. Why would that be? Is it because I called out Marion county for neglecting the schools in Dunnellon OR could it be because I stated the building they are sending these kids to school in is older than life itself and should seriously be taken care of? There were no vulgarities, no out of line comments so why was it removed??? This school is way out of date and quite franklin I believe it is a health concern. Lets talk about the notifications that went home to the parents concerning the tanks that were at one time under the schools and are now causing issues in the soil. OR could it be that I pointed out the fact that this school is rated a D and the teachers were clearly telling the kids they have to do good on their FCATS or they will fire the current teachers and hire teachers that will just give them more homework? Guess what that type of coaching didn't work because they got rated a D yet again this year. I am not sitting around making this stuff up it is just truth! I guess I should expect this post to be removed as well? I gave one star because there was not an option to give no stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

I see all these reviews and the rating of this school and I am honestly astonished. DMS has a lot of academic opportunities that you probably could not receive at any other schools, it's up too the student to take advantage of it. This school had a lot of fun aspects to it, but yet it was still very academically concerned. For example, my 7th grader was pulled by Mr. Rocker just to remind her that she needs to bring her HW. Mr. Smallridge is AMAZING too! Much better than that old principal. He is actually involved with the student body! The parents are involved, but not that much, which I dont have a problem with because all 3 of my kids LOVE it there and how independent they felt!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2012

This is a wonderful school! my son has been going here for 2 years and he will be in 8Th grade next year! he had some "peer" issues but solved easily with the help of dean Thomas! the problem stop right away and the children got dealt with properly. the teachers are very helpful interactive caring people. the staff was very nice and helpful One of the science teachers won science teacher of the year award. i would recommend this school to anyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

I only gave 1 star because there was no option to give none. I talked to teachers and guidance before sending my children there; they warned me highly against it; due to transportation issues I had no choice but to send my child there.The dean Murphy must have been an angry prison guard somewhere, bullying students and singling them out for harassment. My child had straight A's and was in advanced programs, he has threatened to quit school if i send him back there next year. He will be going to Belleview or Lake Weir High where the staff is actually qualified and that atmosphere of the buildings and rooms are clean and kept up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

Every parents nightmare... My daughter is in 6th grade at Dunnellon Middle.. Im not even sure where to begin .. the first problems start with a female coach at the school that is allowed to humiliate children..example: a heavy set boy was looking for a pencil as the coach was speaking.. so in front of 2 full classes the coach exclaims.. "what are you looking for a cookie?!?" how horrible.. she also acts like she cant read and calls Hispanic boys named Jose Josie.. on several occasions she was rude to my child fortunately I was able to get my daughter out of her class.. next there is a teacher who if your child scores under a 95 on anything he gives it back and gives the child a 55 F until they get the 95.. so even if your child turns in a 91 A he/ she will be required to do it over and over or will be given a 55 F instead of the 91 A they originally turned in.. I understand teaching "mastery" as the teacher calls it but there is no way my child should be given an F just because she didnt get an A+.. my daughter had a C in this class.. after raising cane to get this changed my daughter's grade went from a C to a B in 1 week.. prior to DMS my daughter was an honor roll student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

I dont have any reviews to give about this school but I noticved that alot of these comments are dated. Are there any parents out there that have experience with this school in 2010? I am considering sending my son here for fall of 2010 and would ike to hear some more recent feedback from parents...my child has some learning disabilities and will need some extra support from the teachers and staff....will he get it at DMC?


Posted October 9, 2009

This school totally disappointed me. My daughter started in this school after having an excellant academic run at Romeo Elementary(A honor roll every year). She started in this school, and in three weeks the staff had her not wanting to attend there anymore. The guidance counsler(Sugar?) was of no use when I tried to get involved, asking for help. After five weeks in this school, and feeling that my daughter would possibly lose her love for school, I pulled her from DMC and enrolled her in a private christian school. Needless to say, my daughter,my wife, and myself are sleeping better at night, knowing that she will continue to get a better education,with an added bonus of having god loving teachers that love and care about her. Be careful parents! Stay involved with your children's education, and make sure you know whats going on with their enviroment. They're your biggest investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

I'm reading alot of bad things for DMS and not good.I do not feel this is true,I am involved in my sons grades and I talk to his teachers all the time.The best teacher at DMS iS ms.Wiggins.Out of all my children they all loved her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

The facility is older then I am. It is a property that has been denied the funds it needs to bring it into this century. Some of the older teachers are very pleasant and motivate the children. It has an excellent FFA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

I have not been too impressed with the teachers at the middle school. I tried to get them to help implement some things with my oldest daughter to no avail. I don't know how I am going to get through another year with this school if the teachers don't get more involved with the students and teach them something besides how to pass the FCAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

Could not get teachers to communicate in most cases. Was refused a parent conference because 'it was too late in the school year.' However, teachers would not return phone calls. I don't think my son has learned anything in the past two years. SAC meetings are so early in the day that parents can't be involved... probably because they don't want to have any input from us. The whole even/odd/half block/half not schedule sets up students for failure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

I am so glad that I do not have to deal with the faculty at this school again! There are a few good teachers, most don't have the time for one on one with the students. I have had some dealings, with Mrs. Thomas and found her to be helpful.Some of the teachers would rather let students write them letters telling them why they wouldn't like to do an assignment that grade the assignment.Amd if you student tries to do the assignment and it isn't quite right, they get no credit for even trying. When the students who wrote the letters get credit..is this supposed to be fair?? I feel sorry for all the parents whose kids attend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

I agree with the last comment. I too an not happy with DMS. We moved from another county where the teachers did care about thier students. Here at DMS I myself have had issues with the way the Deans run the school and the Principal has no say in anything. My child was in advanced classes and DMS did not offer anything. Unfourtunately, I still have another child in this school and what surprised me the most was that my other child who's academic grades were not the greatest and was failing three subjects got promoted and the one with the learning disablity was held back. The school here in Marion County in my opinion stinks. They are more concerned about themselves and not the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

I have had children go through DMS under the leadership of 3 different principals. The current principal, Jane Ashman, is pitiful. She does not support extra curricular activities. She has done away with the Drill team, Drama CLub. THe Student Council, which used to participate in numerous community activities has fallen to the level of non-existence. All advanced curriculum has been taken away so that advanced learners are no longer challenged. THis is so disheartening. I am to the point that I cannot wait for the end of the school year so that I no longer have to deal with Dunnellon Middle School and it's lack of proper leadership. I am currently saving money to send my last child to a private school rather than have to deal with DMS again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

Some teachers good, some bad. Overboard on disciplinary issues. Guidance department is useless. Lack of communication between teachers and administration. Principal seems to be way in the background and not helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

Their band director/chorus director, Mr. Stallings, is coolest teacher!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2004

Mrs. Thomas, the dean is useless. I've contacted her about issues with my son. She says she will look into things and call back and never does. Some teachers are good, others not so great. Hope to see an improvement on dealing with parent concerns with new principal. I personally will not deal with Thomas again if I have any concerns this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

This school is o.k. Some of the teachers are great some are bad what else can you say... The parent involvement could be more and they are having a new principal this year so you never know what that will be like. Overall it is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

The teachers are more into rules then teaching. No room for child advancement! Teachers not taken to task after many parental complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

200 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

200 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

200 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

214 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 28%
Black 7%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%63%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DELBERT SMALLRIDGE
Fax number
  • (352) 465-6721

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21005 Chestnut Street
Dunnellon, FL 34431
Phone: (352) 465-6720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Citrus Springs Middle School
Citrus Springs, FL


St Pauls Lutheran School
Beverly Hills, FL


Crystal River Middle School
Crystal River, FL


West Coast Christian School
Crystal River, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT