Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dunnellon Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 146 students

We are best known for Christian family environment.

 
 

Living in Dunnellon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2009

I have 2 daughters, one has graduated and the other is still attending DCA. The school has been such a wonderful influence on them. My now 20 year old is on the deans list at the college she is attending and this is because of the education she recieved at DCA. I let her attend public school for 2 of her high school years and upon returning to DCA her comment to me was,' I learned more at DCA in the past 6 weeks than I did in a whole year in public shcool'. DCA has an outstanding academic program and teachers who teach God's word along side of all academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

My child transferred from her local public school this year. There is not enough room to describe the professionalism, the caring, and my overall feeling of happiness here at DCA. Public school did not nurture her or even follow her IEP as required by law. Here at DCA, they asked what accommodations were necessary, and they were in continued contact. Obviously being Christian, it was important for me for her to grow in God, but academically, there is no happier parent out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

I have attended Dunnellon Christian Academy for 14 years and am a graduate. I am not only saying that I loved my experience at DCA, but also it built many relationships with friends, and most of all the Lord and Savior who has helped me through my life! DCA is one of the best schools in Marion County not only because there is a Christian perspective on the education the students receive, but also because the teachers actually care! The teachers do not get paid the amount that they would at a public school, but they do not care they love what they do and they know that they are building the Kingdom. I have had so many opportunities at DCA that I would not have had if I would have attended any where else. The leadership opportunites that I have had are endless! I highly reccomend this school!


Posted March 13, 2009

DCA does a great job of meeting the needs of individual students. I am grateful for quality degreed teachers who present a Biblical worldview to my child. The extracurricular activities including sports are incredible for a school this size. My child has attended for 12 years and I have been very pleased with the education and love we have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I have an elementary, middle and highschool student at DCA. My family has been so blessed through the 8 years that we have been there. My children each have different needs and they have all been met above and beyond. It is such a blessing to know that the teachers and staff not only love my children, but also love the Lord. DCA is a place where the children receive excellent education and a firm foundation with Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Well, all I can say is that I am thankful that God showed us the door before our child stayed there any longer. After 4 years we learned that there are some wonderful people at the school, but we also learned that the school is run by Mr. Randall (the Principal) who undoubtably is the person who cares least about the children. He is only concerned with sweeping issues that need to be dealt with under the rug. We had concerns about the education not being challenging for the kids (learning the same info. as the year prior), he didn't want to even listen. The athletic field is a disaster, the computer room is just that, except the kids don't know what they are doing. This school offers nothing extra for our children except for child care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

My child has been at DCA for several years.At one time I thought this was the best school ever.The computer class is a joke, all they do is play games which can be done at home.What a waste of time.No spanish. Teachers come and go all the time. As far as getting help from your principal forget it.You will not get nothing solved. I am so glad that my child is not there any more.The school needs alot of help. It is really a shame becuse I really did love it at one
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

This school has both good and bad, I believe students at a young age should have computer skills and a language (Spanish) we don't get either. We have a computer room that is not used to its potential! The academics a very good otherwise. The communication between the principal and parents is not what it should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I think its a wonderful school. We were blessed to be able to have our children attend for two years. I never had any problems. Mr Randall the principle is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

The teachers at DCA care about their students progress in all areas. Spiritual leadership at this school is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

The pre-school at DCA is absolutely wonderful. The teachers care about the student's intellectual and spiritual growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

Excellent academics thru 8th grade. High school is not yet large enough to offer a choice of classes to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

Our children have been receiving an excellent education in Christ, life, and learning at DCS. The principle has a huge caring heart for the children. The teachers work for less than what they could make in the public system just because they love the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

My child is in middle school.I put my child in Dunnellon Christain School becasue I thought the studens would be a better influence on my child as well as the teachers. Boy did I go wrong there! My child came home saying that most of the students in his grade were using as much foul language as his old public school. I was very dissapointed with that situation. After that I found out that one of my childs teacher did not a have a college degree. Parents, please think carefully about this school before you enroll you child to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 44%
Hispanic 6% 24%
Black 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Local public schools
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Florida
Santa Fe College
College of Central Florida
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kristy Minton Nelson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • FLOCS/ACTS
Fax number
  • (352) 489-5760

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Local public schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
College of Central Florida
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20831 Powell Rd
Dunnellon, FL 34431
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 489-7716

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dunnellon High School
Dunnellon, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT