Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Englewood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 492 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2013

Englewood Elementary is a caring community. The feeling of family is abundant here. From the weekly reading night event which includes a barbecue to the mileage club where families do laps around the PE field. The teachers are outstanding and the principal is approachable and efficient. You feel at home here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2013

I just left this amazing school. I'm going to middle school now. But this school will always bring back great memories. It will forever and always remind me of my amazing, smart, and incredible teachers, my awesome, generous, and helpful friends, and my cool, nice, FUN, and caring principal. I LOVE this school and will surely miss it. But at least I believe I left my mark there. I won't forget them, and I hope they won't forget me. :) -Harley


Posted April 10, 2013

Pros: Energetic, involved principal. Open campus that welcomes and encourages family involvement. Great after-care program. Some good teachers. Nice outdoor facilities. Friendly office staff (except the registrar!). Wonderful "specials" teachers. Cons: Old school in need of a renovation. Some experienced teachers are burned out. Taking away recess as a punishment should be banned as it is in so many other states; kids that are getting into trouble are precisely the ones that NEED that time to get their excess energy out. Make them clean something instead of taking away recess! Children that are gifted get no extra help in the early years and are bored out of their mind. If you have a child you think is gifted, fight for them! They need just as much help as a child with a disability! Florida curriculum in general focuses too much on "no child left behind", and the ones who will be leading our country in the future, are really the ones who are left behind. Meaning bored and learning nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

I would never recommend this school to any parent. The children are required to do heavy amounts of work at home even on holiday vacations. I am so thankful I pulled my son out and dis-enrolled him. The class sizes are large, and the grading system is poor. I will give them credit for computer technology in the class room though. Thank God for school choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

Best teachers, Great open campus that allows parents to brings students all the way into classroom. Teacher / student ratio good. School gets parent involvement and test scores are highest in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

I think they do very well with the kids I have never heard anything but good about englewood elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This school excels on every level! The principal Is extremely approachable and very appreciative of parent involvement. This is a small school with a home-town community atmosphere. It has many extracurricular activities, including a weekly family night that promotes family exercise and reading together. EES is a fantastic school with amazing educators. We couldn t be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

I am a parent of a student and I have to say that I am very pleased with the individual attention that each student has. Our son is a recent transfer from a private school. With this transition I was concerned that he would not be engaged, but just the opposite. This year the school started a program called Eagle Academy. The premise is to challenge each group based on learning ability so that each student learns at a more progressive pace. The kids seem to love it and I cannot believe how well my son is doing. I say 'Good Job' to the teachers and Principal for thinking outside the box. I wish more educators would exercise their combined experience instead of embracing the norm that has not been working for years. Our kids deserve the best education delivered in a manner that they respond to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

I am a new parent that trasferred from another county in Florida. I am very unhappy with the academic program in place at this school. The children (k-5) are switching classrooms for every subject area, like middle and high school students. It is very confusing for parent communication and for the student. My student is unable to complete assignments in class, and those assignments are being sent home in addition to homework. Too much academic time is wasted with all this switching. I never had this problem in the past in our former school district. The whole idea is insane. Go to the school and see the plan in action before you make the choice to buy a home in this area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Englewood Elementary School is WONDERFUL!!!..I would recommend to any parent. I have a 2nd and 4th grader each has gone here since kindergarten. The teachers are caring, helpful and want your child to succeed. I have never had any problems with questions or concerns I had being addressed. My children love this school and any child is truly lucky to be a part of it. We live in a beautiful community topped off w/ great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Great Office staff and teachers very caring and helpful. I would recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

This school is terrific in every way. I have a Kindergartner and a 2nd grader. Both have learned a great deal more than the school we moved from. The teachers are fantastic. Caring, communicative, go out of their way to ensure your child's success. There are family reading nights and other fun school activities where parents can get involved. We have to move and I dread having to send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My son was ready for middle school with his Englewood Elementary preparation. Another son is enjoying his experiences,too. I would recommend EES to you and yours.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 41%41%61%
Master's degree 56%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 North McCall Road
Englewood, FL 34223
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 474-3247

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT