Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Englewood, FL
Students enrolled: 492

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Englewood Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
The previous comment makes me laugh. Some people need to look at themselves and realize that if they continue to have the same problems maybe it's not everyone else's fault! This is an amazing school that we consider our hidden gem in Englewood. Amazing staff, families, and community support! I could go on forever about how lucky we feel to be a part of it. Teachers take special interest in students and principal is approachable and actively involved in every area. We love EES!

Englewood Elementary School 1

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
My twins were students at this school for three years starting in the third grade. The first year was good but the second and third year my girls were bullied by students and mistreated by teachers. I brought to the attention of their teachers, nothing was done, I brought to the attention of the principal who told me ( after I told him it was getting to the point where my wife and I were considering pulling the girls out of the school ) he would personally take care of it but nothing was done ! Beware of this school, a wolf in sheep's clothing, unless you want your kids to attend a school where the kids bully and the teachers make you sit in the back of the class if you don't know the answers or they refuse to help you on a computer project for graduation just because you missed days from being sick !!!!! We are now trying to reverse the damage caused by this school with counseling. Shame on you Englewood elementary, shame on you, they are more worried about raising money for what ever when they should be taking care of bullies and teachers that are counting the days until summer break !!!


Englewood Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Englewood Elementary is a caring community. The feeling of family is abundant here. From the weekly reading night event which includes a barbecue to the mileage club where families do laps around the PE field. The teachers are outstanding and the principal is approachable and efficient. You feel at home here.

Englewood Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2013
- a community member
I just left this amazing school. I'm going to middle school now. But this school will always bring back great memories. It will forever and always remind me of my amazing, smart, and incredible teachers, my awesome, generous, and helpful friends, and my cool, nice, FUN, and caring principal. I LOVE this school and will surely miss it. But at least I believe I left my mark there. I won't forget them, and I hope they won't forget me. :) -Harley

Englewood Elementary School 3

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Pros: Energetic, involved principal. Open campus that welcomes and encourages family involvement. Great after-care program. Some good teachers. Nice outdoor facilities. Friendly office staff (except the registrar!). Wonderful "specials" teachers. Cons: Old school in need of a renovation. Some experienced teachers are burned out. Taking away recess as a punishment should be banned as it is in so many other states; kids that are getting into trouble are precisely the ones that NEED that time to get their excess energy out. Make them clean something instead of taking away recess! Children that are gifted get no extra help in the early years and are bored out of their mind. If you have a child you think is gifted, fight for them! They need just as much help as a child with a disability! Florida curriculum in general focuses too much on "no child left behind", and the ones who will be leading our country in the future, are really the ones who are left behind. Meaning bored and learning nothing.


Englewood Elementary School 2

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
I would never recommend this school to any parent. The children are required to do heavy amounts of work at home even on holiday vacations. I am so thankful I pulled my son out and dis-enrolled him. The class sizes are large, and the grading system is poor. I will give them credit for computer technology in the class room though. Thank God for school choice.

Englewood Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2010
- a parent
Best teachers, Great open campus that allows parents to brings students all the way into classroom. Teacher / student ratio good. School gets parent involvement and test scores are highest in the area.

Englewood Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
I think they do very well with the kids I have never heard anything but good about englewood elementary


Englewood Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Englewood Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Englewood Elementary School
150 North McCall Road, Englewood, FL  34223
(941) 474-3247
Last modified Englewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Englewood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top