Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lemon Bay High School

Public | 9-12 | 1261 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2013

Lemon Bay High School was terrific in the old school building which my daughter liked because it had character. Of course it was very old and needed to be rebuilt. I can only imagine how wonderful it will be with the new buildings and technology. From the office workers to the principals, the staff was pleasant and caring. The teachers really want the kids to succeed. Their career guidance counselor is a jewel; the best I've ever known.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

LBHS is being completely rebuilt from the bottom up. The new school is very close to completion, will be state of the art and beautiful. I am glad my daughter went here. Their arts program, particularly the theatre program, is one of the best in the state. There is an overall atmosphere of acceptance among the students with regards to race, religion and sexual orienation. Some of the administration and teachers are set in their ways and can be difficult to deal with, but overall the experience my daugher had was amazing. Is it a perfect school? No. However, it is better than most and I highly reccommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

The teachers are ok. Its a small town school with small town aspirations. The 9th grade registar is a Nurse Rachet. Not a nice person. Everyone else I came in contact with is pleasant. My child will be attending HS elsewhere next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My grandchildren go to lemon bay and they have caring teachers who try there best to help kids learn.


Posted November 17, 2008

I am curently atending LBHS and it is awsome it is old (but not filthy like another post had stated) but i personaly like that because of all of the history it holds. We also have a great honors education program, it may not be the biggest but its the best. and although all football team has been on a loosing streak since it was built all of our other sports are good. Expecaly our vollyball team(State Champ runner up 08 baby). But the #1 reson you should send your students to LBHS is Mr. Ramsy, he truly inspires and mentors every student who walks through his door.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2007

I love this school.. I have had three of my 6 kid in lbhs and they love it as well yes it looks old gee my husband went there and he's no young chickin but the staff there rock and they alwways have things going on for the teens. Lbhs keeps them busy and keeps them learning and keeps them happy its not whats on the outside that counts its all that good that happens under the roof!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

This is the best Charlotte County School. Although I am a graduate of Charlotte High, this is the school I prefer my children attend. The staff are always helpful and really care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

The academics at Lemon Bay are not the most impressive, however a wide variety of courses adds interest. Strong Science and Physical Education programs (my daughter lost 15 pounds from participating in daily PE- and she hates sports!) kept my daughter loving school. The athletic programs seem okay, the drama department is always putting on one show or another. Facility wise, the school is aging quickly, but a young and youthful staff give energy and bring excitement to the school. Besides my daugther loves her teachers, because 'they are so cool!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Basic studies only, poor leadership in athletics and Deans, school is old and filthy, too many portable classrooms. Experience among teachers and leaders extremely low. Very little community involvement. Academics quality poor, very few alternative electives. Very poor use of judgement when appropriating school funds. School not recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

although this school is sometimes referred to as the 'wonderbread' school because of the lack of majority, overall i am happy with my child going here. every school has its weakness but i feel lemon bay is one of the better high schools to go to in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

Lemon Bay High School is the only public h.s. in Englewood. The atmospere is good and has a small-town feel. Nothing is extraordinary at Lemon Bay, but nothing is particularly lacking orwoeful. It is situated firmly in slightly above average in academic programs, sports, the arts, music and parental involvement. Safe, consistent, yet not all that inspiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

This school teaches to the FCAT and not subject matter. It seems to exist solely for testing and sports/extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

I am really happy with Lemon Bay High School. The teachers and staff are so good with the students, they are always willing to go above what is needed. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2003

I currently attend Lemon Bay and it isnt a great school, I don't feel that everything I have to offer is currently being used. Students creativity can be dampered. Teachers try, but alot of them have become out of touch with the kids they are teaching. Becasue of that alot of them aeturning to other things that will stimulate them.


Posted August 13, 2003

I just recently graduated in 2003 from Lemon Bay. I enjoyed my time there. I do nt believe that Charlotte County is #1 in drugs. I cannot recall at anytime that me of any of my many friends were ever given a survey asking about drug use. No one knows where they got that information because no one was surveyed. It's impossible. Cities like Miami and Tampa, or even Sarasota are worse off in drugs than little Charlotte County. So don't look down on Lemon Bay. True, it has its share of druggies, but the school as a whole is a a fun, safe and enjoyable learning place.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 25, 2003

I think it should be noted here that Charlotte County, FL children have the highest drug use in the state, this includes Lemon Bay High School. I think the dicipline here is awful and teacher-parent communication is terrible. i have my youngest child at this school and my three oldest went up north, and believe me, there is no comparision in the quality of the teachers overall, but especially the discipline area. kids here get away with way too much! I have been very disappointed with my youngest child's education here.


Posted June 24, 2003

The teachers are very good. Now with standardized testing more of the studies are geared toward test scores and I think that schools like LBHS suffer; the curricular was broader before to the benefit of students but this issue effects all public schools today. Lemon Bay is still one of the best High Schools in FL. My wife was a teacher and my daughter is a teacher up north now and they agree.


Posted June 2, 2003

That school is not what i wanted for my kids.


Posted May 7, 2003

My children graduated in 1984 and 1986 and now I have grandchildren that will graduate 2003 and 2005. Most of the same teachers are there and seem to care about the kids. The current principle and the future principle have been associated with this school for that long also. I have been involved with the sports program with both my children and my grandchildren and I have found that these kids are respectfull and mannerly, as opposed to so many of the other schools that we have played against.I truely believe that the coaches have something to do with that. Their behavior is exemplery. They need to be commended. It is a shame that this school doesn't get recognized for this.They only get noticed if something bad happens in the school. Catherine Hess (parent and grandparent)


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

303 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

289 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

281 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

322 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 91%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 14%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BOB BEDFORD
Fax number
  • (941) 475-5260
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 Placida Road
Englewood, FL 34224
Phone: (941) 629-4552

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT