Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eustis Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1024 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

Eustis Middle School in my opinion is not an acceptable place of learning. If you are in need of a daycare then this will do. Only a handful of teachers are what I consider doing their job. Too many teachers that seem to just be collecting a small paycheck but really have no desire in bettering your child's education.Parents that are involved and speak up about issues will only get your children treated like an outcast. I have never been as disappointed with a school as I am with EMS. My 14 year old child watched more Disney movies at this school than he has in his entire existence in life. I find the administration to not be capable of enforcing rules. While I believe the public school system is failing as a whole, EMS is just one more example of the deterioration of our schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

This middle school has really been a tremendous encouragement and help for our daughters. I've seen great improvements in 2014. Teachers are great and care about the students scores and progress. I would continue to encourage parents to take an active role by getting involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This school is getting better. My son does not like school middle school is not for him
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I am a student of this school and yes sometimes someone leaves a surprise in the boy's bathroom or a fight breaks up but the bus I rode today was horrible. But most of the teachers are nice yet they make it fun to learn like Mr. Green he is a cool teacher same with Mr. Banta. Remember I am a student of this school and I have learned a lot from this school.


Posted October 21, 2012

i love this school. I have a lot of friends i don't have any enemies. out of all 6 teachers theres only one that i really dislike. i love my classes. they could ease up on the homework


Posted September 19, 2009

Eustis Middle School has a great staff, who cares about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We are an A rated school, there is great care and involvement from the parents. We have a very large student band, where kids of all social ecomonic back grounds get a chance to play an instrument.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I think this is a very great school from the top of my heart!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2009

This is a great school. Teachers educate the children wonderful. Im very proud of how this school has increased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

This middle school has friendly staff and above average organizational skills when it comes to keeping the students on course. They fall short on communication between teachers and parents on a weekly basis, I only hear from my son's teachers at progress report time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

The bathrooms are nasty the teachers are bad. Always making the children mad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

We have been thrilled with the music/band program. Mr Gerry Ricke (director) does a great job educating and motivating in a classroom of respect. The level I Mustang Jazz band again received superior ratings in 2007 and is well positioned to take national awards at various festivals this year keeping the historical achievements on track. Regarding other teachers, we haven't been that excited as the quality has varied greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

Great Band Program and good advanced classes. Overall it is a very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2005

The music program is wonderful. The teacher is devoted to the joy of music education. Great Jazz. I found dealing with administration to be difficult as often they jumped to conclusions that were later found to be wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

I don't feel there is enough communication to parents from teachers. Teachers don't welcome parent involvement.This school is over crowded therefore there is not enough supervision. There also aren't enough extra school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

i don't like the fact that at the end of the school day the kids get on the buses and the teachers or administrators then turn off the phones. if my child comes home with a problem and i need to call, forget calling after 4pm. i have been to the school office at that time and seen the people behind the desk simpley not answer the phone. it's like their day is over. whatever need a parent may have to call, well it just has to wait till the next day. i think calling hours should be until 5pm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2003

It is a very wonderful school!


Posted August 15, 2003

I am actually a graduate from Eustis Middle School and Eustis High School. I would like to add that Lake County School Systems have great opportunities going for their students. Not only do they have outstanding teachers, but they also have outstanding, bright students! If you are thinking about getting involved in the Eustis community school system you will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2003

This school is the worst school in lake county. From everyone I know all I have heard is how terrible the school is and have had 3 kids gone there and made F's from being straight A students in elementry should tell you something. So for all the parents that are considering having there children go there reconsider it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2003

I just had my 2nd child graduate from EMS, and I have been thrilled. The teachers are wonderful - we only had a problem with one teacher. With 6 classes per day for 3 years per child, only having to deal with 1 bad teacher was pretty good. This is the most difficult stage of adolescents, and EMS did a good job with both of my children. I would highly recommend this school for anyone moving to Lake County.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

228 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

355 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

324 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Black 17%
Hispanic 17%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%62%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID CUNNINGHAM
Fax number
  • (352) 357-5963

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18725 Bates Avenue
Eustis, FL 32736
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 357-3366

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lakeside Academy
Eustis, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT