Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

English Estates Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 765 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

I have never seen a school where the teachers and staff go so far above and beyond to benefit the kids. This school is improving every year despite their high ratio of non English speaking and underprivileged students. Parental involvement is also incredible. The principal, Mr. Welch, has done a tremendous job of hiring qualified and caring staff. His involvement has resulted in improved test scores and great school spirit. We will be so sorry to see him go but know that the new administration will build on the excellent foundation he has made for them. I am so impressed with this school and my child loves it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

John W. has destroyed an otherwise fine school and now he is moving on. I wish he would take some of the staff with him. These inappropriate hires need to end. The families in the community have to grin and bare it or find alternative education. I did the latter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

My son has gone to English Estates Elementary from kindergarten to 5th grade and we have had nothing but positive experiences. The teachers are compassionate and seem to love to teach. Administration has an open door policy and makes time to listen and utilize parental suggestions. Last year we took teams to Odyssey of the Mind and placed first in two events and second in another event.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

I have three children that have attended English Estates. I believe that they are doing a great job improving the school every year, especially considering the fiscal climate they must work in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

Hi, I was impressed with Mr. Welch because he was very straightforward and friendly. The school looked inviting and the office staff was very friendly. I believe he will definitely make English Estates an "A" school again. Mr. Welch is hiring very qualified, teachers who have master's degrees and a wealth of teaching experience which is critical. I wish him the best for 2012/2013.


Posted July 5, 2011

i love this school. We had other choices and this English Estates is the best fit. The family activities offered are awesome. The teachers always communicate with the parents, including the school as a whole. Through folders that go home with the children and the teachers e-mail and phone numbers directed to the classroom. I love it. There is an awesome amount of funding given to this school for children and their families to help us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

English Estates is an excellent school! The curriculum is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I love English Estates! The Principal, Dr. Beth Sharpe is very much involved and attends almost everything! She has implemented the Steven Covey Leadership program for Elementary children (7 Habits for Highly Effective People) and our school is run better and more efficiently than most private schools. Music and Art programs fall a bit short but Seminole county does offer Enrichment programs and this year my Son is learning to play and appreciate the Violin. There is also classical music that is played in the hallways. The Phys Ed department is fun and even teaches nutrition. Several parents in the school are very active and our PTA even brought us a Fair Trade fundraiser this year! The only school in Florida to do this! Our guidance Team seems to never sleep creating many parent nights and Adriana Council heads up the All Pro Dads Breakfast too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

My son attended English Estates for 2006-2007 school year the school is great they teach them so much and they really do care for them. I was real sad to see this school year end so fast cant wait for next year the best teacher for kindergarten is Miss Holey the very best. She has so much patience with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

My daughter attended this school and had a great experience. I am especially impressed with the principal and the emphasis on leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Our children, aged 6 and 10, went to a private parochial school so changing to a public school with such a diverse population was a bit scary. I've heard so many bad things about Florida public schools and my husband and I went to tour the school 'just to see'. Boy, were we surprised. Attentive, professional administrators, focused and impressive teachers, and engaged students learning curriculum that was identical to what our kids were learning at the private school with the private school tuition! We are half way through our first year at English Estates and I am bowled over! My first impression has been reinforced with repeated, positive interactions with staff, faculty and administrators. The curriculum is taught more logically and efficiently at English Estates than it was at their previous school. I simply could not be happier. Just take a tour and I'm sure you'll agree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

Excellent principal, Dr. Sharpe. Moderate parent involvement. Poor level of extra-curricular opportunties for students. Great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

I have two kids attending this school and I am extremly happy with their academic program and teachers that we have. We have been going thru some transition and will be going thru a few more. The Principal is new and has brought a new perspective to the school. We will be starting a new leadership program next year and mandatory uniforms. This school is full of varity and parents that care about the children. PTA is very involved and also embraces our diversity by creating activities that bring not only families together but also community. This school is a force to be reckoned with wonderful things ahead. I believe that my kids are getting an excellent education. This school is full of Leaders which I am very proud to say I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I am an alumna of English Estates. What I remember most is the level of teacher/parent involvement. Whenever there were art shows, musicals, anything at all where the parents could come to the school they were there. And it was amazing! I have attended other schools, but nothing bar my small college ever attained anything like the feeling of community that English Estates did. My husband and I drove past there the other evening, and guess what? There were cars everywhere. In the parking lot, in the bus lot, parked on the side of the road. They must still have an amazing turnout!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 14, 2005

My son attends this school and from what Ive seen and heard its a very positive enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

My daughter is a fifth grader at English Estates. We are relocated to Florida from NYC. We love the school. There are a lot of things going on. My daughter was a part of the science afterschool program, SECME. She also came in third in an essay contest about being a good citizen. She already loved to read, but she loves to read even more now due to the AR_accelerated reader incentives. Every few weeks she has won a prize or is going to yet another AR party. English Estates is a great school that motivates children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

The EEPTA has work along side the past and current administrations and love the warmth and caring relationships from our faculty and staff. English Estates is a wonderful school and their PTA and SAC committees work hard to help the school provide the best possible educational environment possible for all EEE students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2003

I am pleased to say that all three of my children went to English Estates El. They all received an excellent education. The teachers were very warm and caring people. Everyone I encountered did their best to provide me and my children with what was needed at the time. I am proud to be a former roadrunner parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

English Estates is a great school. The negative comments were probably from a angry parent. In fact I would bet that their student was either below level, retained, had behavior issues, or better yet a 'spoiled PTA mom.' Please do not let their comments spoil your thoughts. Visit the EEE website www.scps.k12.fl.us and you will see for yourself their professionalism and technology integration. English Estates serves with all they have to all populations of children. The administration is supportive and willing to do anything to help out! Please visit EEE website and see how wonderful the school is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Good school acedemicly. The principal does not work well with parents on certain issues. Goes strickly by the book. Discipline seems to be lacking here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 37%
White 34%
Black 21%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN WELCH
Fax number
  • (407) 746-2858

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

299 Oxford Road
Fern Park, FL 32730
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 746-2850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Maitland Academy
Maitland, FL


The Trinity School
Fern Park, FL


The Regent Academy
Casselberry, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT