Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Old Kings Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 1106 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

AWESOME! The best! The teachers are focused on helping the students learn, and will do anything to help.


Posted June 28, 2013

We have been very fortunate to have had both of our girls thrive in this school with excellent teachers. This was their first year at Old Kings Elementary and they will be going into the second and sixth grade in the fall. The teachers I encountered were always warm and caring. They go the extra mile to ensure my girls are challenged, and they make learning fun. It has never been difficult to get a response from the teachers when I had a question. I would hope that any parent with children going to this school would exemplify a positive attitude, and realize that effective leadership with their children at home, is as important as going to a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

My children have only attended Old Kings Elementary since we moved to Palm Coast. Although there are some fabulous people there, I have never in my life seen such poor administration in the retired and returned principal and some of the teachers who believe they are "untouchable" (for the record they are!) The current District Superintendent could care less and I believe both the Superintendent and the principal should be replaced immediately. The teachers (and you know who you are) who care more about where they are from or using someone else's teaching format should really retire immediately. I have two of the three students in the 6th grade getting all A's for the year. If that doesn't tell you how bad this school is nothing will. I do find suspect most of the posts on this site. Let the reader beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

I have had at least one child attending OKES for the last 4 years. My son just completed 3rd grade, my daughter has just completed Kindergarten. We could not ask for a more concerned, loving, highly trained staff of teachers and administrators and support personnel. My son has been an honor roll student since he first began receiving grades (K doesn't grade, but does give MS/PS marks) and has been taught and coached well. He has had the privilege of "looping up" with his class and teacher at least once, and the benefits are tremendous -- teachers know the students and can begin teach quickly, rather than adjusting to learning styles and personalities the first few weeks of school. I have been involved in the school as a parent since we first began attending. Yes, there are fundraisers, but all the monies donated and profits are returned to the school and students and staff through purchase of educational materials and courses that can enhance our children's learning experiences. With federal and local budget cuts, these donations are much needed to help bridge the gaps. I appreciate those parents and others who donate their time and resources to OKES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

This is my girls second year at old kings and they are doing great! They were in private school before and I thought they would be ahead but I was wrong. The struggled their first year but they had great teachers and by the end of the year they showed a lot of improvement. This year they didn't struggle at all. The staff is awesome! I've been notified of all incidents immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2012

This really is a bad school. They are very anti-family. The teachers are nice - for the most part. Some are just plain incompetent. They replaced a 6th grade advanced teacher with a permanent substitute (who does not even have a teaching certificate) as the regular teacher is out on medical leave. Our advanced students are now suffering. They really do not care about educating. Its all about how much the kids can sell, sell, sell in the MANY fundraisers. There is NO recess in this school either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

I have one child in middle school and one in 5th grade who've attended this school since kindergarten - it is AWESOME! The teachers are amazing and the district is really focused on kids! Great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

My son goes to OKES. Everybody are very friendly. If you ask who is the best teacher, there is no answer. Teachers are grate. My son is so happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Both of my boths have been going to this school since the 1st and second grade and I have been pleased with thier teaching methods. It is one of the best schools in Palm Coast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

My two daughters have been lucky to have such great teachers. Both are principal honor girls. I am very proud, and the teachers should take credit as well....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I don't undertand why this school has a rating of only 7 ??? Test scores state that the student of this school scored considerably higher than student in Belle Terre-rated 9. My daughter used to go to Old Kings and loved it there, she is an honor roll student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

I love this school they have the best teachers and staff there. Teachers are very helpful and really seem to care about the kids. Both my kids are doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

I have two children attending this school and love it. The teachers are fantastic and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We came from up north, this is a big change from the small suburban walk to school we came from. We find the teachers really know how their students are doing and are aware of their needs, etc. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

My oldest child has been in OKES since kindergarden, he is now in 3rd grade. All of the teachers that he has had and has have been wonderful. Now my 2nd child is in kindergarden and he to has a loving, wonderful teacher. They both are doing exceptionally well. I could not ask for a better school. Awsome school! Thanks teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

My daughter currently attends okes (3rd grade). On my first visit to okes i was stunned to see how clean office, halls, classrooms, and bathrooms were. All the teachers are excellent, they are all very supportive, and caring. There are alot of activities during the school year and during summer for the kids. This is the best school i've ever come across !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

MY oldest daughter has attended OKES for since kindergarten and is currently in 2nd grade about to be promoted to 3rd. Her Teachers every year have been helpful and accesible. In Kindergartden my daughter was struggling due to some hearing loss as a toddler ,which was repaired with tubes. Her K teacher worked with us and her so that a kid who at the beginning of the year couldn't even make all the ABC sounds, was reading and even scored in the 97th percentile on the K gates test. 1st and 2nd grade have been just as great and some of the projects she has had a very fun while still being educational. To sum it all up I Love OKES. Sincerly, A proud parent
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

176 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Hispanic 10%
Black 5%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%61%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Old Kings Road South
Flagler Beach, FL 32136
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 517-2060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Phoenix Academy
Palm Coast, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT