Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert M. Paterson Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 885 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2005

The academics of this school are great. The staff are friendly and very helpful. There is also a very high level of parent involvement which is wonderful. I have had some issues with a few teachers' which I do not feel were properly addressed by administration. I believe the students best interest is the main factor that must be considered (not the parents' needs) and I believe there is somewhat of a fear of confrontation with teachers and some of the involved parents who volunteer their time from administration when an incident arises. This is not to say the parents who volunteers are not appreciated, I am one of them. I just feel as if we should all be equally held accountable for our actions. Administration should never have to tip toe around the issues when it comes to our children.I will say most of the teachers are tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2004

Paterson Elementary is a top notch school with teachers that are exceptional. I don't think you could find a better school anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

The overall school morale has declined since the retirement of its former principal, Fred Fedorowich. Teachers and students alike are treated as guilty until proven innocent rather than the reverse. The stress that has been put on the teachers is negatively affecting their students. I believe my child's teacher to be qualified and proficient in her field, I wish the administration did the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

This was our first year at Patterson and I must admit that overall the school is good but I feel there is much room for improvement. I feel that the security issue is not addressed at all. At any given time I was allowed to walk around on campus without any id tag and never questioned. The system for even getting an ID tag was useless. Anyone could grab one off the counter at the office (which many times was unmanned) and stick one on without any ID at all. Those tags should be issued when ID is shown and the secretary should issue and log time in and out. Also the 'team' teaching (2 teachers sharing one class) should be eliminated. My experience was that this benefited the teachers and not the students. Kids need consistency in their learning not a part time commitment. Also parent pick up is chaos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

Patterson has been a great experience for our children. We highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

We love RMP for so many reasons. The caring staff, they go the extra mile, the way they treat each child like their own. Mrs Pruette is a tough teacher, but one of the best! She pushes where they need pushed. Cudos! Mrs Knight too~ she loves those kids like her own. I love the extra effort the PFA puts in to give back to the school and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I have had a child in this school since it opened. Since then I have had two more finish and move on I now only have one left. We have a wonderful staff and the teachers are great, but the volunteers are the best always there to help out when and where they are needed. I want to say thank you to Mrs. Whitacre for making this year so much fun for my son. There isn't a day that goes by that he doesn't have something to say about how fun it was learning sience or math. We will be very sad to go when that time comes. Our children are prepared for the seventh grade when they leave Paterson. They know how to use a library thanks to Mrs. Dunnavant and all her hard work. She goes above the call of duty to get the children ready for any research project that may arise in their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Paterson Elem is a family school. The mix between the parents and teachers, guided by the adminstration is great. This creates a great learning environment. I know my children will well prepared for the next level in learning. I would also like to say that the Media Center is the best in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I loved it when I went here. My teachers Mrs. Nix, and Mrs. Pruette where amazing. I ws very sad to move. The school lunches were so-so, but most of the time the lunch ladies where really nice, the nurse Mrs. Wright was okay. But the thing I loved most was the atmosphere of respect, and fun. I adored it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I have had 1 child graduate the 6th grade at Paterson and now I have a 1st grader there. The school is top notch and would tell anyone that asked me what I thought about it. The teachers and staff are always there to help in anyway possible and they provide a quality of education that is above the rest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I just want to say that I feel very proud to have my daughter at this school. I am learning to deal with the education process along with my daughter. I am very impressed with Mrs. Dautel. She has went far and beyond the call of duty as a teacher. She has not only taught my daughter but teaches me as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

I commend Ms. Grim for her outstanding teaching ability and student support. thanks Ms. Grim! Your choice of building a child's self esteem through redirection greatly affected my son. Also, Ms. Glanville's extra step of keeping in touch through email was greatly appreciated as this helped me stay more involved as a parent of one who does not usually bring all the paperwork home. Thanks Paterson!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 76%
Hispanic 12%
Black 7%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%64%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Pine Avenue
Fleming Island, FL 32003
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 278-2078

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Berean Christian Academy
Fleming Island, FL


Heritage Christian Academy
Fleming Island, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT