Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fleming Island Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 762 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2014

We couldn't be happier with this school. My son needed a 504 plan and we had no problems getting one. All the teachers we have had have been very involved and very approachable. They really care about the students. My son is getting straight A's and my other son is loving kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

Love the teachers and love the new principal. She is very involved. When we were stationed here before it seems like there was a little more parent involvement but over all we couldn't be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

It's a shame how everything thinks, these clay county schools are suppose to be better than Duval, but my children been it that school for two years now, all it's been is frustration, poor communication, carelessness of the children.. I mean that's ridiculous and no one does anything about it when you complain..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Horrible Special Needs Autism Unit. The teachers/administrators are more concerned with getting the most money per student opposed to providing the best education for a child.Removed my student for inappropriate teaching strategies
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

I have two children who attend this school and agree that communication is a problem between parents, teachers, and the administration. The quality of teaching varies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

I have had two children attend this school. The oldest did K and 1st grade at FIE and my youngest just finished PreK. I love this school. I find it very easy to talk to teachers and administrators. The parents are actively involved as well. I couldn't have asked for a better school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Overall, our experience has been pretty good. We moved here in January, so we started mid year, right in the middle of FCAT prep. My son had previously attended a private school up north for the last 6 1/2 years. He had a very difficult time adapting, and the teachers seemed more concerned about FCAT prep than finding out where my son was having some difficulties. It has definitely improved and we are happy with his progress. The lack of extracurriclular activities and teacher communication are where I feel the school falls short, but otherwise it's a good school. My son's teachers do not use email for communication purposes, I feel this would help tremendously with keeping updated with your childs progress (or lack of). Especially if your 5th or 6th grader is one of those children that does not share openly how things are going at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Fleming Island Elementary is the best school my child has gone too. The teachers are very nice and help them learn a lot. My child has done so well there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

If you have a child that will score low on standardized tests - don't come. They don't want you here and they will make sure you know it. Run... run far away..... Now if the teachers in your current school district actually talk to you.... stay right where you are. Your expectations are already too high to move to this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Fleming Island is an amazing school. I would be happy for all of my children to go K-6 there and I would recommend others children to as well. While I can't say every, but most teachers genuinely care about each childs education. I have seen teachers do everything in their power to make that light bulb come on. Classes are fun and interesting. Teachers don't just teach to a test, but to inform, entertain, and have a cool new experience that could enable the child to remember a fact or a process for a lifetime. When a grade level team is on...they are on! Fourth grade is so impressive! Whether your child has a learning disability, is slightly below average, is average, is slightly above average, is above average, is gifted...there is something for every child here. The campus is safe, clean, and run very well. You won't be sorry here!!


Posted October 20, 2008

I have two children who graduated from FIE and one remaining. Prior to my youngest attending, I would have said this was absolutely the best school and given it a 9.5! Now, I'm not so certain. If you have a child who is average to gifted, you'll love it and your child will do great. If you have a child who doesn't necessarily 'fit into their box', I'm afraid you may be greatly dissapointed. I loved FIE before my youngest child with a learning disability attended. He was overlooked and definitely fell through the cracks even though we insisted there was a problem. It wasn't until we went outside and had private testing performed that we discovered his disability. I find they are less supportive of this type of child, but have a great program for the Gifted children and seem to challenge the average child. Good Luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

New Principal is very approachable and warm and friendly. You can tell that the students and faculty really like her. While new to her job, she is not new to the schools as she was V. Principal previously. Great academics - I don't feel that any of our teachers have taught the FCAT and in my experience, they have actually played down the FCAT. I think 'teaching the test' has become and overused tagline with no really thought or research put behind it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Admittedly, a better school than some surrounding the area, but I would prefer an administration that was more cooperative towards parents. Definately doesn't rate a 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

Overall the past 2 years, we have had a positive experience at FIE. My daughter is in 1st grade and has been doing well. The teachers seem to learn individual student needs academically, behaviorially, and socially to maintain the school's reputation. I am not crazy about overemphasis on testing starting in Kindergarten which I was not used to seeing in the northern states. The school reputations are mostly measured by test scores and being a high rated school there is a push to maintain scores in all the local schools. There is tons of parental involvement, and I like the relaxed atmosphere of always seeing parents eating lunch with their kids outside, and coming to volunteer or visit their kids when they want. Overall, the open environment and campus layout is great. The drawback is lack of after school activities available for younger students and overemphasis on teaching for the tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I am thrilled with my children's experience at this school. With the low student to teacher ratio, I felt that the teachers really were able to know my child. These teachers really care about the kids. They have wonderful resource classes (music, art, P.E., library and technology.)The technology (computer) program is top notch and really prepares the children for technology that is used today. There is now a fence that surrounds the entire school and is locked after school starts so that anyone coming throughout the day must report to the front office and sign in before going anywhere on campus. There are also teachers posted for morning dropoff and pickup.I am thrilled with my children's education at FIE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

FIE has been a good experience for us. In contrast to some of these reviewers, the principal has been nothing but gracious and available to us. Contrary to what it might seem like - we are just the average family and have no real ties to the school. The one time I approached the school about the computer class policy, I was directed straight to her office. She resolved my problem fairly and it only took one visit to the school. I couldn't ask for better support from my child's educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

Academic programs are challenging and teachers are very commited. Would be a huge improvement if there was a foreign language program available or a more proactiv approach for identifying gifted students. Unless you have entered the school in the very early grades, the admin. concludes that your probably coming from a less rigorous environment and therefore does not keep the information coming regarding opportunities to participate in enrichment programs. A little close minded/arrogant in that regard. The programs are there. You just have to find them on your own. Don't expect the administration to present them to you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

A great school. My kids always brought home wonderful art projects and were always involved and thought of throught the whole experience of Fleming Island Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

Fleming Island Elementary is by far one of the best schools I've been exposed to as a mother. My children love their teachers, the level of academics is above the state average and the surroundings are positive and motivating. The parent involvement is superior, and my children have a wide range of choices of extracurricular activities, math club, chess club, walk/run club, student council, chorus, book clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2006

Great Academic school. Falls short on extracurricular activities to keep kids interested in learning. Lots of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 7%
Black 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%64%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4425 Lakeshore Drive
Fleming Island, FL 32003
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 278-2020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Berean Christian Academy
Fleming Island, FL


Heritage Christian Academy
Fleming Island, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT