Advertisement
Advertisement

Berean Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 80 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Fleming Island

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $190,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

My children have been enrolled in Berean Christian Academy for five years. They look forward to going to school each day. My child has a learning disability that requires much additional attention from the staff to keep up with others in traditional classes. My child has not only learned to read, but loves to read, enjoys science and has learned to enjoy physical activity such as running. Our staff is willing to gladly put in the extra effort to help the students be successful. I cannot thank them enough. The school is very balanced despite some of the previous review. Take reviews with a grain of salt - poor learning usually results from little to no parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

As a graduate of Berean Christian Academy, I am glad to say how proud I am of thsi school! The teaching staff is tremendous. Not only do they care about achieving good grades in the classroom, but they care about the students on a more personal basis as well. I would recommend this school to anyone looking to establish a good Christian foundation and high academics. I learned so much through the teaching at BCA, and hope that one day my children are able to attend this great school. GO BCA!


Posted August 8, 2013

I am a proud graduate of Berean Christian Academy! Before i attended the school, i attended some other public schools in the area. I have had experience with several different schools before i came to Berean Christian Academy, and i must say that Berean was by far the best! Berean has a high acedemic standard that trumps other schools, not just in our district, but accross America. Many times, we pulled much higher SAT scores and a much better overall grade level than our competitors. Berean is not just supirior in academics, but it is also a success because of it's staff. The teachers that are put in the classrooms have a real desire to teach. They don't believe in just teaching the material but instead, they realize that they are teaching kids that material. Teachers at our school always put the needs of the student first. There are also many opportunities for one on one time with the teachers for those who have a hard time learning or need an extra push. All of this, as well as many other attributes that the school maintains, are what make it an amazing school. I hope by this i was able to share with you information on a school that changes lives.


Posted August 8, 2013

I attended Berean Christian Academy from Pre-Kindergarten through twelfth grade. I can honestly say that I would not change my education for anything. The staff and faculty of the school are committed to providing a higher standard of balanced education. They focus on the academic, physical, spiritual, and emotional developement of each student. I would have to say that some of the most crucial foundational years of my life were nurtured by caring individuals who encouraged me to make the right decisions which only spurred me on to success in my current endeavors. The teachers are highly intelligent and enthusiastic individuals who teach, encourage, love, and pray for students. They are people who are concerned with making a difference in the next generation. Some of them have turned down much higher paying secular positions in the hopes of helping those coming behind them succeed. One of my favorite things about Berean Christian Academy is that it reinforces the importance of loyalty to your family, country, and God--after all, He is the one who has given us everything we have.


Posted August 7, 2013

Berean is hyper-focused on your children and their potential. They use top of the line ABeka curriculum and even add on top of that to strengthen their math skills. Your child, even if you think they struggle now, will excel by public school standards in math. Their english and grammar skills can't even be challenged. I know kids who have graduated and gotten jobs within a month of graduating, making $13-14 an hour out of the gate. The employers were so impressed with their poise and polish, but the math and english skills blew them away. If it were me, I would ignore a disgruntled parent who has a sad three sentence review, and check out the great adults that have grown up going to this school. They are a bright light in society today, thanks to the hard work, love, and consistency of Berean Christian Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

I graduated from this school, and if it wasn't for the dedication of the staff and teachers, I would never be the person I am today. I am so blessed to have had the opportunity to attend Berean Christian Academy. I am enrolling my own kids this year! Parents should prepare to be a big part of your children's education. It is the heart of this school and you being a part of it is vital. They are constantly striving to find better ways to turn out smart, well-rounded kids. The kids are all so happy and it really shows that they LOVE going to school. The teachers love and pray for these kids. They truly want the best for them, and work hard to achieve success for the kids. They recently started taking the Step Up For Students Scholarship, so it has made this school accessible to many people who have always wanted a great and safe environment in which their kids could learn and grow. Please keep in mind that this is a closed school, meaning that you have to be an active member of the parent church to enroll your kids. You will find that the church is filled with parents just like you that only want the best for their kids and want to be a big part of raising successful children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Not a good influence on chldren, poor leadership, the teaching materials don't help futher a child's education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

All five of my children attended this school and I wouldn't recommend it. They were behind in many subjects and definitely needed counseling to have a more balanced life. We left on good terms but would never return.If you check out the school, definitely meet with the principal and ask A LOT of questions about parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

All of my children attended this school for a few years and the quality of education was far behind their grade level at the time. The teachers and principal of the school were very demanding and the requirements for the students was very legalistic. I would not recommend this school unless you are looking for a school that puts their rules higher than true education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

I am very grateful that we removed our children from this school after only a few years of attendance. It has taken me two years of supplementing to catch them up in the area of mathematics. In the area of language arts they were average at best. I could have maybe overlooked the educational deficits had they at least encouraged my children's spiritual growth...sadly this was not the case. I found the staff to be arrogant & crossing the lines into parental authority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

I'm truly blessed to have my children in this school. The teachers feel like family members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

This is a great school and Helped my daughter grow into a great young lady. This school rates above any Clay County or county school system. They do not set-up children for the FCAT, learning is more important to them. The training focus is set for success and prep for college. Would recommend any
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

My children love this school and I have found it a great privilege for them to attend Berean Christian Academy. I wouldn t have them anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

Berean Christian Academy offers a balanced education for all of its students, from K-3 through 12th grade. Students receive first rate academic, spiritual, and physical development through top rate curriculum and teachers who care about every student. They will also benefit from a principal who knows and cares for every student. He displays firmness and love as he guides each student. Those who enroll their students in Berean Christian Academy will thank God every day on behalf of their child for the opportunities that they will have for a successful life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

My child attends this school and it is fabulous. It is the best caring, trusting and knowledgeable staff. My child has individual attention and is correctly disiplined. Children are taught to grow into respectable young adults with heavy empasis on Christian beliefs. The school will be adding several new programs and buildings in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 44%
Hispanic 14% 24%
Black 3% 29%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8 a.m.
School end time
  • 3 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Principal Wesley Roach
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4459 US Highway 17
Fleming Island, FL 32003
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 264-5333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT