Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1137 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

The school said a lot of good things about itself and the programs. In reality the school is a bad enviroment for most students. Teachers ignore the kids and punish them severly in most cases. student's explanations are ignored and are given immediate punishment. People have been pick-pocketed, beat up and harrased at Sunrise middle. I personally know 1 person who's Iphone 5c was stolen once and he got another and it was stolen too. I recomend not to bring more than 10$ to school (in cash+items). If the school would like to become better they may actually ask teachers and staff to listen to "explainations". They may also want to lower GEM Homework since I know many GEM Student from 6-8th grade who stay later than 11:30PM Just to Finish their Homework and yet get good grades. The school is bellow averege (2 stars) since It has a Magnet program and pretty good facility but has averge teachers/staff and AWFUL students.


Posted February 26, 2014

I would have given this school 5 stars if I were rating the Montessori section only. Sadly the traditional side of the school is a future Arthur Ashe in the making. I am a teacher who had considered staying there for a while and sending my child there. Now? It's a definitive no! The students in traditional are awful! The teachers and administrators work hard to ensure some learning take place but it is useless. This year when Ashe closed down, we took some of their students and that was the worst thing ever to happen to the school. Unless your child is going to the Montessori section, don't even think about this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2014

Definitely a high standard montessori program that will lead your children to advancement. Awesome teachers and staff, salute to all from the Principal to the security and to all students who adopts the education system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

the teachers and principal for Montessori are terrible, the teacher are absent and they put substitues that they do not even grade the homeworks of the children wich is is reflected en the grades ,after all the conferences they do not fixed anything, I just loose my time ... they always says; "the problem is the student...Montessori teacher and directors are a mess!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Sunrise middle school was the best choice for my son. He was at a low reading level and was not interested in completing his homework before we moved. After the move and his enrollment in Sunrise Middle, my son did his homework, made new friends, and even had amazing stories to share with me. He was able to learn at a reasonable pace and he came out of his shell, thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

Sunrise has a great Montessori program. My son attended in 6th and 7th grade but sadly I'll have to move him because of my school schedule. The teachers are very much interested in the students' education and gives meaningful work. Sometimes too much. I felt very safe and the kids are taught to respect each other and bullying is not tolerated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

can someone tell me the who the nice teachers are in 6th grade i'm going to start this school in august


Posted November 1, 2012

My son went to Sunrise Montessori program all 3 years and loved it. Great classes and great teachers in this program. He made great friends, made straight As, and was accepted to a great High School magnet program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

The Montessori program at this school is simply phenomenal. I have graduated from Sunrise just a few months ago and I dearly miss it! My favorite teacher of all time is here Mr. Saball. He has inspired me to continue writing and I may become an English teacher/professor when I grow up. Each day, I fulfilled my duty as a student; I learned. I don't regret spending my time there and hope to forever be a part of the Osprey family.


Posted June 29, 2011

I Love sunrise middle school, It has a very safe and welcoming Atmosphere. And also has GREAT learning Programs! Amazing school i recomend to ALL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

sunrise middle is the skool dhatt will be hated by sum of dha kids there but will also be loved by the nerds dhatt are there my name is micka nd i luv it bt sumtines i hate it there i know all of the administrators nd it is fun to be at a skool where dha principles help out


Posted January 18, 2010

sunnrise middle school is the best i know the kids is loud and wild but they learn and teacher care for us like we are there own kids im in 7 grade and i hate some of my teacher but they teach me new thing so i can carry it on in my future and i just love it shout out to my favorie teacher at sunrise middle Mr.meit my world geo teacher
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

The Montessori Program is an excellent program. My son loves this school and he loves his teacher. I couldn't be happier that my 13 year old boy loves school. That is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

I went to sunrise last year and its the most fun and learning school. I would love to send my kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2007

sunrise is the bomb! escecially the montessori program. i am in the program now and in the 8th grade. in 6th and 7th grade i was in traditional. i thought it was okay but the kids are out of control. if you were going to send you child to sunrise, go montessori. there is soo much for your kids to do and they will have soo much fun with the activaties that they allow and by learning!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2007

The Montessori program at Sunrise Middle is excellent. Both of my daughters attend and are doing well. Their teachers work very hard so that they can excel. I would only recommend Sunrise Middle if they child is in the Montessori Magnet program. The 'traditional' students seem to be out of control and don't have an interest in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

My child recently started this school and we are horrified by the whole thing. Students are aggressive, loud, troubled, more interested in fashion than education, and it seems all that the teachers do is try to discipline them. I found no extra curriculum activities and a poor level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

This is the best school ever! If you go to the montessori program, you won't believe how much fun you hace while doing work, and how much you learn! We have many field trips such as Washington D.C for 8th graders. Also community meeting, which is a daily 15 min meeting for the classmates you acknowledge others, comment, ask questions and share. It is a great way to make friends. I graduated there year 2005 and I miss that school and the teachers and staff. Mrs. Prisciando, Mrs. Arnoux, Mr. Cochrin, Mrs. Hamilton, are the best teachers ever!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 30, 2004

We really like Sunrise Middle School. The school's discipline is good and the teachers are mostly top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2003

Sunrise Middle School is the Great School. Its' one of the best school that Im attended to for 7th and 8th grade. I really love this sunrise middle. Right now Im a 9th grader and I really wish that I could be back in 8th grade because it was a really nice time with my friends. I give it an A+.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

378 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
89%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 23%
White 28% 42%
Hispanic 15% 29%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sandra Shipman
Fax number
  • (754) 322-4785

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1750 NE 14th St
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone: (754) 322-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jam Youth Connection
Fort Lauderdale, FL



St. Anthony School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


St. Mark's Episcopal School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Pace Center for Girls, Inc.
Wilton Manors, FL


Full Gospel Christian Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT