Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dillard High School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended this school. A magnet school with caring teachers and administration. This school was extremely intimidating at the start of the year. I have to admit that the comments and signage around the school terrified me. Join the PTA- get involved! Everyone wants to help. The guidance counselors were amazing Mrs. Yera and Mrs. MacDonald definitely went beyond. Mr. Witherspoon helped with all the paperwork needed for my child to get into UCF where she starts school tomorrow. The music program led by Mr. Charles and Mrs. Beharri will always be remembered - especially Carols By Candle Light in Disney where the kids performed with Sigourney Weaver.

Dillard High School 1

Posted April 13, 2014
- a student
I am currently a 12th grade student at Dillard High School for the 2013-2014 school year In I am not very happy with this school I have been going to this school for about 3 years In I have had nothing but on going problems their are some teachers that care but the administration in the office does not do their job in they could care less what u got to say they need better people working at the school.


Dillard High School 2

Posted February 04, 2014
- a student
teaching is atrocious, we get graded over how we dress more often than how we do academically

Dillard High School 4

Posted September 20, 2013
- a teacher
One word sums up this school - potential. The possibilities exist for this school to set the bar very high. This means that a student can learn and prepare themselves for college if (and only if) they want to do so. A student at DHS will not be forced to learn, but the opportunity is certainly there. The teachers that I know really care and want the students to be successful. Some students are there to play and socialize and couldn't care less about their education. But again, there is great POTENTIAL for any student to get a great education if that is why they are there. It all goes back to what the student has learned from their home environment - either they will care or they will not. It is a safe environment. As a teacher, I do wish we had more resources for the students - and I cannot understand why the Administration cannot do this (textbooks, computer labs, etc.). Some say that the money is funneled into the Performing Arts Magnet and into sports (leaving out academics). But again the POTENTIAL is so high for DHS to be a model high school to INCLUDE academics.

Dillard High School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
Dillard High School is located in the inner city of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. It is one of two surviving Historically Black High Schools in Broward County with a rich history of serving the community. Dillard is a focal point for many community and county activities. The school has a beautiful campus that is open and welcoming. The academic programs offered there are comparable to the best in the county. There is a Performing Arts and a Computer Technology magnet on campus. For school year 2013-2014 a new Entrepreneur magnet will be added as the school expands from grades 9-12 to become one of only two 6-12 schools in Broward County.


Dillard High School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a community member
Go Panthersssss!!!! Dillard High will always be number one along with all the great memories when I attended

Dillard High School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a teacher
As a former student and employee the school is GREAT! Students that come to learn will learn. For students that can be distracted and side tracked it's not a great environment. It's truely an inner city school, without the big city. MUSIC- #1 brass band in THE NATION 2 of the last 4 years. ATHLETICS- School with the most nfl players in the NATION.

Dillard High School 3

Posted April 23, 2013
- a student
As a former student, although forever a Panther, I'd have to fairly give Dillard High School a rating of 3 out of 5 stars. I was a member of BOTH the Emerging Technology and Performing Arts Magnet Programs and enjoyed aspects of each. Honors level classes and AP level magnet classes were semi-challenging, and the interactions within each program really make the two programs worthwhile. However, students are what make a school what it is and unfortunately, they didn't do a great job at making it great for the right reasons. Fights did frequently take place, drugs were definitely present, and just an overall uncouth and untamed nature was unnecessarily prevalent across campus. Security was definitely never an issue, but when your school makes the news - it's a problem. Teachers could be more motivated, of course, but so could students. Choose wisely about putting your child here if you're doubting whether they can handle it. The school is in a bad area and requires a bit of toughness, in the social aspect. Academically, it's what the student makes of it. I managed to spend four years and gain invaluable skills from my attendance. Class of 2007! GO PANTHERS!!!!!


Dillard High School 4

Posted January 13, 2011
- a teacher
Although Dillard is over 100 years old, the present campus was built about 10 years ago. Visitors often say it reminds them of a junior college campus. Dillard has changed with the times. Today, it has the district's only arts magnet as well as an emergent technology magnet and an academy of finance (NAF). The school works as a traditional public school, serving community needs for academics, sports, continuing education, and career education (vocational). The school's statistics on crime and violence give it an above average standing with regard to safety. The state grade is currently "B" (2010) because Dillard did not eliminate AP courses like many other schools. Like other schools, our top students enter top universities. The graduation rate is over 90 percent. Students that are focused do well here because Dillard has resources that are not just physical. Yes, we have a lovely facility. But the staff is loving and the level of knowledge is awesome.

Dillard High School 1

Posted October 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dillard High School
2501 Northwest 11th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL  33311
(754) 322-0800
Last modified Dillard High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dillard High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top