Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bayview Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 561 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2008

This school is a great school. Many people think that this is the best to send your kid to. I do agree with them. The only problem I had was when my daughter graduated last year, they were babied if a project was bad they still got A's. Late work was accepted. Kids did extra credit. When my daughter and son went to sixth grade I was stunned at the amount of work that was given to the students. Bayview did not give the fifth graders a middle school experience like I thought it would. When my son turned in a late project he got a 0. At Bayview he would have had a B at the lowest. Bayview may be a disadvantage to students. As parent try to prepare them for middle school on your own time it will be a big help to your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

This is my daughter's third year (2nd grade) at Bayview. We love this school and they love their parent volunteers. They will take as much time as you can give them! This is great if you have the time to do it. The PTA works so hard and it is a pleasure to work together. The teachers and staff are very strict, luckily my daughter does not have any issues there but if your child does, you may find it 'challenging'. Lots of focus on the FCAT, too much really. Wish there were more art, music and science than once a week. Finally, I believe this school has more technology based teaching tools than any public school in Broward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

This school has a very strong focus on reading, writing, and math, to the detriment of other activities such as sports or art. The school is very competitive and makes the children that way. It is a good school, but not for every child, and a parent will need to supplement with extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

I have a son who is currently in second grade. I would not recommend this school. I have asked for several conferences with the teacher and still have not gotten one. Teacher do not have the patience for children who are a little hyper. We have also tried to get our son advanced and they take their time with the testing for gifted kids. My son has an above average IQ and gets bored very easily. The school focuses on the FCAT way too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

This is a fabulous school IF your child is above average. I have one child who is gifted and one who is ESE. I have not been pleased with the services offered or provided by the ESE department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

my son has been part of Bayview elementary and I can only say fantastic thing about the school and teachers. 5th grade teachers are preparing the kids for what to expect in 6th grade and on, my son is a A student with honor for the past 3 yrs - I love the school - I wish they would have a physical Education but, they do not this is the only down fault- you have to compensate sports outside of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

We too moved out of state and frankly I appreciate Bayview even more today. My daughter was not happy at the new school when we got here and was comparing it to Bayview for the first month. There was no homework and no discipline. I value both thanks to Bayview. We want to raise a girl who can run her own company and Bayview teaches responsibility, time management & accountability. I think our kids should all be challenged to that level. She still compare's the two schools today. Bravo! Bayview! We miss you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

A wonderful school. Great teachers, excellent principal. Too much focus on FCAT as in all public schools. Too little extracurricular activities. Sill the best you can find in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My son has attended Bayview Elementary for 6 years now (including kindergarden). Thank god for this school. It is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

This school was awesome! I have moved away to another state and I miss this school and the education it provided for my child more than ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

One of the best public schools. It ia as good as private. The only drawback for me is that they push the FCAT all year long when other subjects could be taught more. You cant find a better public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

When my daughter started at Bayview I was very upset with the size of her class. Her Kindergarten teacher then quit after the 2nd week of school. It seemed to have gone from bad to worse. I wrote Letters to the school board trying to circumvent the principal. However she got a hold of me and somehow made me promise to give them a chance and see for myself by volunteering. I did and even with 31 students in my daughters class they some how managed to exceed my expectations with the way my daughter learned to read and write. Her math skills are also pretty good but never did I think she would come out of Kindergarten reading and writing the way she does. We are moving and sadly have to leave Bayview. I fear we will not find the same experience elsewhere. Wish us luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

Bayview is an excellent school. They focus greatly on the fcat's. Your child will score higher at this school then any other elementary school in Broward County. My only concern is the focus too much on it and some subjects will suffer because of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

This is an excellent school with a administrative and teaching staff committed to giving the students who attend the very best possible education, parent involvement is also very high in this school and again the students benefit greatly from this also allowing open communication between parents and teachers regarding curiculum and progress of their children. This school has made such a wonderful impression on our child and really provided an excellent foundation for his elementary education. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 12% 29%
Asian 4% 3%
Black 4% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1175 Middle River Dr
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone: (754) 322-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bennett Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


North Side Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



St. Anthony School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


St. Mark's Episcopal School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT