Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Students enrolled: 600
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 45 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


51 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bayview Elementary School 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Bayview Elementary is a great school, but, as stated, the principal is making the whole atmosphere one of anger, frustration, and suspicion. She lets just about anyone enroll, many from the Wilton Manors area who are not in the boundaries, and does nothing about it when reported to her. Bayview's current enrollment and future projections are above capacity, and if nothing is done to keep illegally enrolled students out, the situation will only get worse. The principal and the illegally enrolled need to go!
2 people found this helpful

Bayview Elementary School 3

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
Bayview academically is pretty good, but the ONLY problem that Bayview have is the principal, as this fellow from the below comment, which I totally agree with, in the comment, that people over fear don't confront her, her leadership is based on fear, and pressure, even the teachers are afraid of her, but they don't tell the real problems because of that. I believe Bay view should not deserve that, over the years Bayview was Number 1 in Broward, and you can see the records, how scores decreased since she came to the school. She is a bully, and is really hard to communicate with her, is her way or no way. pretty sad, overall because Broward county public schools is so bad, this is really one of the best schools and people have to deal with this person, which such a low skills of personal and social skills. Sorry, but is the truth, that nobody want to say...
4 people found this helpful


Bayview Elementary School 3

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is excellent as far as academics and overall experience however the principal has a very bad temper and yells a lot. Many parents, teachers, and students are afraid of her and everyone keeps their mouth shut about it out of fear. She should not be a principal.
4 people found this helpful

Bayview Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
The school is great, they keep challenging child till find the area where he can become an expert, then they provide allot of ways to accelerate. Participating in American Math competitions, studying levels ahead etc., so my child was accepted into MathPath competitive camp for older kids, passed it with a high rate, accepted to Hopkins CTY placed into Studying Exceptionally Talented team in it, get a college adviser being just a 5th grader, I can say more and more... this what this school and the principal did for 6 years of studying for my child. I am very proud of this school and their work. Miss them for the middle school, but the child is taking High School Honors and AP classes being just a 6th grader, next year will be in dual enrollment. Thank them allot for providing kids with this type of education.

Bayview Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
The school is the best possible one. My child started in K in it and finished all the years. I wish we would have similar for the middle school too. We moved into Chicago, the child is on top of the district. Nobody believes that Florida gives so great knowledge, knowledge which placed my child into high nationally!


Bayview Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Bayview Elementary School is an excellent school. They educate our children more on analytical thinking - problem solving - and awareness on current events. Teachers emphasize the importance of great values, respect, and obedient, which at their young age is very important.

Bayview Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Who would you recommend as the Kindergarten teacher? We just move into the area and do not know the school well as well as the teacher or any one in the neighborhood I appreciate very much Thank you

Bayview Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
Bayview is a great school. The teachers are very involved and truly care about the kids. My daughter came from private school and Bayview is small and feels like a private school. The school has very low student teacher ratio compared to all private schools in this area. I was apprehensive to put my daughter in public school but Bayview has been great. There are politics at every school as there are here but you can get as involved as much as you want by just volunteering as I do. The school is always communicating what is going on and as long as you have your volunteer approval through Broward county you can do all the activities with the kids. The principal is strict and my opinion it is necessary to keep the school at this high level. This is a great school with a great staff.


Bayview Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are fairly good but the principal is not effective or a good leader. Makes one wonder the criteria used by Broward Schools to appoint principals. Also, a lot of politics and favoritism. Very little diversity. Discipline uneven. Overall, could use improvement, starting with the principal. To the reviewer below mine; please note the different words, principle vs principal.

Bayview Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
My son is just finishing kindergarten and we've had a fabulous year. His teacher is top-notch. His math and reading skills are above grade level which is significant considering he started the year refusing to read or write. My older children were in different schools, both public and private, in other parts of the country and I believe Bayview offers a solid education in the fundamentals . It is true that the school is lacking in extracurriculars but that may be the trade off for a high-quality, public, elementary school education in Broward County. I've talked to the principle several times, not sure what the huff is all about in these reviews. She is no-nonsense, she sets high standards, she lets everyone know the expectations in advance. The school offers plenty of opportunities for parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bayview Elementary School
1175 Middle River Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL  33304
(754) 322-5400
Last modified Bayview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bayview Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top