Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Floranada Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 749 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2013

Good teachers the principal is very involved in the school activities. It has mostly been a good experience with a few bumps along the road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

I have 3 children attending Floranada. I drive all the way from Deerfield Beach to attend this wonderful school. I can't say enough good things about it. My children have all been blessed with amazing teachers. The principal is always around and very friendly. The office staff is very helpful. The parents are very involved. It is safe and very clean. There are lots of family activities. We will be moving this summer and are very sad about leaving this wonderful school. I highly recommend it. I wish there were more schools like Floranada.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

We only have 1 child so I make sure that when we make a choice for him, it's the best possible one! That being said, we toured 9 different schools! From Boca to Ft. Lauderdale & from private to charter to public. Obviously, Floranada won! It truely was a God send when we received our letter of acceptance for re-assignment to Floranada since we are districted for a different school! The classes and programs they still offer (even with budget cuts), their teachers, their parent involvement.....EVERYTHING is perfect! Plus, Mr. Peters is so intertwined with the involvement too! Try to find all of this in another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

Floranada Elementary is a truly an extraordinary school. As a third grade teacher at Floranada, I see the students I am now teaching growing up to become the leadership that our country needs to be successful. I see future doctors and lawyers, teachers and public servants, politicians and business executives, and maybe even a few drama queens and comedians. And, in seeing these qualities in these students, I feel more secure about getting older. I know we will pass our country onto capable hands. Our principal, Keith Peters, is the most dedicated principal that I've ever met. In addition to just knowing each child, Mr. Peters meets with each child during lunch and discusses their futures, college, grades, test scores, future job choices and a lot more. He tries to get to know each and every student personally. In addition, each day, we walks each hallway and says good morning to the students. He makes an effort to be a positive role model and leader to both the students and the teachers. Floranada Elementary is such an amazing place. The educational environment provide at this school is truly unique. These students and teachers deserve every opportunity available.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 11, 2011

When I walk into school, I feel honored and excited to be part of such a caring and hardworking group of people. We are like a famly who truly enjoys each other's company and ideas. We strive to do our best for all our students each and every day and it shows on their faces. Ask any child or staff member at Floranada Elementary and they will say, "I LOVE my school!"
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 11, 2011

SO sad I am leaving this school..my son is in 1st Grade and before coming to FLoranada he was so miserable in school..everyday in the office in trouble failing KINDERGARTEN every week conferences to medicate him..not at Forananda he LOVES school thanks to them 100's on his weekly tests..never in trouble a model student! everyone is friendly the school is so clean..I am really going to be so sad to move away this week and take him from where he is so happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

I have two children currently at Floranada. One is in 5th grade and has gone since kindergarten. My other child is currently in kindergarten. This is hands down the most wonderful school. There is strong parent involvement. The teachers, staff, and administrators go above and beyond to help each child excel. If you are looking for an elementary school, stop here. Read the reviews from parents. Talk to people in the community. Everyone loves this school and I am so glad that my children attend Floranada.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

I have been an involved parent for 6 years now and I am here to tell you that this school is an A+ school in more than just test grades. The school is a volunteers dream, it's friendly, clean and the students, teachers and all whom you come in contact with are helpful and kind. The school is not our home boundered school, it is a school we re-assigned to after extensive research and we knew that the education would be top notch. My daughter has grown from a tiny kidergartner to a mature 5th grade tween who is on the top of her game academically, mentally and confidently in most part because of the loving, nurturing guidance of her teachers and the entire staff at Floranada. In short there aren't enough words to express how indebted our family is to this wonderful school. I don't know who will be crying more at the end of this year, as we prepare to leave, her father and I or her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I went to Floranada Elementary last year... and I miss it! The principal is young and kind. Do not underestimate him though, he's smart,kind, and a strong leader! The teachers are fantastic; they make class work fun and easy to understand! This school has a great after care program! There is a student government, news crew, safety patrols, and chorus. The library is filled of books and other resources. There are computers and laptop carts. There's a field for P.E., a basketball court, two sand playgrounds; one for K-2 and another for 3-5. There are super citizen awards each month awarded to a student from each class. The cafeteria is always clean, but it can get a little loud sometimes from all the talking...but that's what kids do! We talk... a lot! The school is always safe! They practice fire drills and tornado drills so that way the student know exactly what to do and where to go! Being a part of that school was like being a part of a family! I love that school and the people in it!


Posted October 20, 2010

We have a wonderful Principal, and a great team of parents that volunteer, get involved and care. We are proud to be in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Why do you love Floranada Eleme ntary School? Our school is like a family. The teachers, administration, staff, parents and students work together to make the educational experience of each child challenging, exciting, and safe. Our principal is a hands-on administrator and makes time to meet individually with as many students as possible, eat lunch with the students, and has an open door policy with parents, students, and staff. Besides being a teacher, my daughter attended this school from kindergarten through 5th grade and received an exceptional education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I've been teaching 36 years. I've never taught in a place where the love of children is so prevalent. I see it the students for their teachers and parents, in the parents for their children and the people who teach them, and in the teachers for their students and the students' parents and for each other. We have a strong, knowledgeable principal and assistant principal who we are confident can lead us into the future. It all adds up to an awesome school!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2010

The faculty and staff are one of the most caring and knowledgeable group of people I have ever had the pleasure of working with. The parents go the extra mile to help their children achieve their highest academic goals. The students work hard and are happy to learn. That all adds up to a winning - A+ combination.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 18, 2010

We love Floranada because the teachers and support staff truly care about each student, and we have wonderful volunteer parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

They have a school where the parents, staff and teachers all work together to ensure that every child has the greatest opportunity to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

We have great teachers, caring staff and awesome kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The teachers challenge all their students and work really hard to make learning fun
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

LOVE LOVE LOVE this school! This is my ninth, yes ninth, year as a parent here and I have nothing but good things to say about it! We got a new principal this year (the previous one retired who was fantastic)... and this new principal is phenomenal as well. The staff is highly qualified and the PTA program is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

My Son had the honor of graduating from Floranada Elem, this past Thursday May 31,2007 after attending grades one through five and I would like to add that I was very impressed with the whole commencement from start to finish. I also would love to highly praise Mr. Armstrong for ability to win the respect and praise of both parents and students. My Son has had the best anyone parent could ask for both from the teachers, aftercare and all the office staff. The best of luck to all of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My child is in kindergarten and what an incredible year. The teacher, Mrs. Boardman has gifted my child with a strong educational foundation by which he excitedly wants to continue to build on. Mrs. Boardman not only respects my child but also respects me as a parent, for that I am grateful. One of the coolest things about the Floranada experience is my child's learning experience does not end with the 2:00 bell. Aftercare with Ms. Sanchez is the absolute best. The office staff, Mr. kholi,the Principal and Mrs. Myers, the Vice principal really add to the positive Floranada experience. At first, in any new environment there is an adjustment period where everyone gets used to one another and through out this past year I have learned many new names, received guidance on Broward County School guidelines, and met really talented teachers, parents and staff. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 29%
Black 11%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Keith Peters
Fax number
  • (754) 322-6390

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5251 NE 14th Way
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334
Phone: (754) 322-6350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Shepherd Of The Coast
Fort Lauderdale, FL



Pine Crest School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Christ Church School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Gulfstream Montessori School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Westminster Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT