Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Lauderdale High School

Public | 9-12 | 2075 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2010

Because of the excellent Cambridge program they offer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Fort Lauderdale High School is one of long standing public high schools in Fort Lauderdale. I am an alumni of FLHS and have many great memories of this school. I am extremely proud to be a Flying L - Strong & True, White & Blue! Here are just a few reasons Fort Lauderdale High School is a great school as follows: *FLHS is ranked Top 3% of all United States high schools for academic excellence by CollegeBoard. 83% of all FLHS graduates attend college. Millions of scholarship $$$ awarded annually to FLHS students. Individualized comprehensive college counseling. Free before-school & after-school tutoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

My daughter is in the Magnet and an athlete. Go FLHS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

The teachers are great ,the adm,guidance ...very helpfull
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

The diversity, of both the programs offered and the student body itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Because my son loves it and he has great grades, also the staff is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

The administration is the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Ft Lauderdale high school is a great school.Student are prepared for their next challange
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

I give Ft. Lauderdale 5 stars for the Cambridge Program. This is an amazing academic approach. The classes offered are amazing and the school does not try to limit a child's enthusiasm for learning. While some private schools do not allow their students to take AP Courses in a student's freshman year, FLHS does. This has helped my son who is very bright and needs to be challenged in school. FLHS gives the green light to any child who wants to learn. Also, FLHS offers many program choices to their students, such as the Pre-Law Program, Criminal Justice, Marine Biology, First Responders and they have a top rate ROTC program, giving all students a chance to succeed at a very nominal cost - FREE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

I'm a sophomore at Fort Lauderdale High right now and everything there is great! Great teachers, great administration, and great classes. Try getting some honors and AP classes and a lot of service hours for a bright future. Try making as many friends as you can too. Go Flying L's! Class of 2012!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

FT. Lauderdale High is a very academically minded school. Discipline is fair but effective and my daughter feels safe going there.The administration is very accessible and always willing to help solve problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Fort Lauderdale High School is a really terrific public school. My son just graduated this May 2008 and he loved it. The teachers are beyond excellent, the guidance counselors really know what they are doing, and the staff all really care about the students. I recommend taking as many AP classes as you can. My son took 12 at FLHS and 2 on FLVS (online) and 2 dual enrollment (at BCC). He was accepted to Georgetown, Dartmouth, Cornell, University of Pennsylvania, Vanderbilt, Notre Dame, Johns Hopkins University, and more. Every school he applied to except Yale and Princeton. And ... Parents, please go to the SAC/SAF meetings. It's a great way to get to know the people who help your children every day, all year. Also, they are very helpful and you can get all your questions answered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

my son is a graduated of 2008 class i am proud of him. and he was in the cambridge program ,and band so far i am very impress with the teachers and staff go flying L you are the best school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

My daughter is a freshman at FLHS, she is in the Cambridge Program and so far I am very impressed with the quality of education offered. This schools has the ability to bring out the greatest potential in my child and we look forward to 4 wonderful years. The only thing I don't like is the dress code, it is not enforced as much as the other high schools, flip flops should not be worn and the girls shorts are more like underwear. The principal should look into this. Overall academics are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

My son is a senior at FLHS and I'm very pleased with the education he has received over the 4yrs. He is very involved with football, track and basketball and maintains a 4.3gpa. FLHS prepared him well for college and he is excited about his scholarship prospects. He was recently visited by at least 10 college football scouts. I attribute this to the teachers and football coaches and greatly appreciate their dedication to all FLHS students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

My son is a Freshman. The orientation was well organized and the teachers and students involved were helpful and upbeat. We are very optimistic about our son's high school education potential at Ft. Lauderdale High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I graduated from fort lauderdale high may of 2005. The academics, as far as teaching, is great. It is up yo every student to doo their best by staying on the ball. The sports program is great too. The coaches are exceptional. The cheerleading program is a great way for young ladies at fort lauderdale to meet girls just like them. I do say that more parents should be inolved in what their children are doing. There are some parents that are doing that. I just want to thank you for doing so.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2005

The teachers at Fort Lauderdale High School are what make this such an amazing place. I love this school and I recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 20, 2005

This school is wonderful. My two kids attend this school and they love the school. The school has a great number of Ap and honors classes, letting motivated students get ahead in their high school career. There are a few magnet programs as well such as the Pre-law magnet, Cambridge, and Advanced Studies Institute(my kids are in ASI). THe faculty is great and there are a number of after school activities and clubs for students to join. This school also has the best track team in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

good and safe school. and the new principal does a good job.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

527 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

559 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

572 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

460 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
74%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

551 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

401 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
56%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

446 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 56%
White 25%
Hispanic 14%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 92%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 85%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PRISCILA RIBEIRO
Fax number
  • (754) 322-1230

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 Northeast 4th Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305
Phone: (754) 322-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jam Youth Connection
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Ivy Academy High
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Full Gospel Christian Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL



Lighthouse Christian Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT