Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,128 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fort Lauderdale High School 1

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
this school has cockroaches in the cafeteria and none of my teachers care about their classes. im transferring.

Fort Lauderdale High School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
My child of 10 grade he is doing great ,he loves to be at this Magnet program Cambridge ,he is already doing some college credit , Thanks to the school he is in the right path !!


Fort Lauderdale High School 1

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
I feel sorry for all the students that are in this school, I have to take my child from this school, when she wants to spoke with the counselor she was NEVER AVAILABLE even for me, the guitar teacher in 2 years NEVER teach a thing, I am still upset. The chemistry teacher nasty scream to the students and doesnt like to answer any students inquires. Rude staff, I my opinion this school should closed, and all staff should be doing other thing than being in a school, They are giving BAD EXAMPLE to students.

Fort Lauderdale High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 01, 2016
- a student
Students are favored over others based on socialization, relation to sport, or race leading to favoritism

Fort Lauderdale High School 1

Posted January 01, 2016
- a student
Is there a star less than terrible? Everything said below stated by another reviewer is true: The campus is very dirty and not taken care of, the guidance counselors are almost never available and they mostly don't take the time to help any student or parent to a useful extent. Also, most of the teachers show a lack of discipline themselves and only a handful show genuine concern for the education of their students. Students can always be seen roaming the halls during class time and in class, teachers put no stop to texting or disruptive talking. The security guards that go around the campus pay no mind to students, even though they are supposed to check every student for a hall pass, and they often show favor for certain students, allowing them to disregard the rules while they punish others at the same time. The two lunch periods are also a problem-there is never enough organization or time for every student to get through a lunch line and have a significant amount of time to eat. The lack of space and seating for every student is also a daily problem for many students. Not just this but counslers not only are nowhere to be found but blame students for there wrong doings. I spent weeks trying to get my dual enrollment paper work on track, when asked what classes I wanted to take for the program I said to the counslers to choose what she thinks is best. Weeks go by and no answer if my classes got approved I then finally is able to meet and she said I did not get any of the classes and that it was my fault because it was to picky then promptly told to leave and try again next year after a month of work I put into getting everything together. Again the lack of motivation teachers have is so bad that when students try to switch out of the class because they want a better class that actual teaches they are threatened with lowering there gpas in turn forcing the students to stay in class that does nothing for them. they are also now taking the pre law program and making it only Cambridge which I saddening since Cambridge credits only work for some colleges and majority of the students go for that magnet program. If you want your child to succeed I hope you have personal teachers at home because all they will do is struggle to teach themselves rather than the teacher. (Teachers who would rather socialize than teach)


Fort Lauderdale High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 01, 2016
- a student
Thank you Mr. Perl for being the only teacher who actually try's to engage students, set rules, help students better understand the material and for teaching!!!

Fort Lauderdale High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 01, 2016
- a student
Teachers either are all about socialization to care to teach, are too inexperienced or just have lack of motivation to teach.

Fort Lauderdale High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 01, 2016
- a student
If I'm a student saying I need homework then that's just disappointing, the little homework we do.get pertains to nothing of the little we learn


Fort Lauderdale High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 01, 2016
- a student
There was a coach that was the most admiral and most utmost respectful member of the community who took the time to support charity events and be a great mentor but fired like nothing because they did not like how she stood up for us, then replaced with a disrespectful uncaring lazy replacement

Fort Lauderdale High School 1

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
Rude staff, the COUNSELOR (never available). Guitar teacher does not teach at all but nothing, Teachers dont really teach and dont care about students. The school should make better choices in regards to who they hire and parents should think twice about putting their children in this "school". The cambridge program does not have any significance if the kids are not learning anything due to the lack of motivation teachers have to ensure that every student knows the material that they are teaching

Nearby schools

Fort Lauderdale High School
1600 Northeast 4th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL  33305
(754) 322-1100
Last modified Fort Lauderdale High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top