Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Dandy Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1059 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2013

I graduated from the medical magnet program in 2005. I am now preparing to start medical school this summer (2013). The support and knowledge I acquired during my stay here has really helped me grow as a person. I am fortunate to have been a Dandy Wildcat!


Posted October 14, 2009

Very good school and I would recommend to all my friends. The magnet program is excellent for any child who would like to start early program in Laws or Medical fields.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

While it is good school academically, you will see your nice and good child transformed right before your eyes as your child is forever picked on and is always placed in a position where he/she will have to constantly be defending themselves. Each time your phone rings and you see William Dandy you wonder what now, dont try talking to any body in authority as once you do not agree with there decision they get real defensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

I attended William Dandy Middle school for three years and my mom enrolled me in the Pre-Med program. This school really helped me to learn more about the medical field by allowing me to take trips to the Rand Eye Institute where i seen a real life lasik eye surgery. This school was a great experience and has alot of after school activities you can join, I joined the step team there for three years straight. William Dandy's magnet program helped me learn and understand my work and allowed me to improve my FCAT scores. The teachers are very nice and helpful as well. As of now I attend Blanche Ely high school, Im a Freshman. I like this school so far and Im a cheerleader and going to be a dancer!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

i am a former student at WDMS. i was enrolled in the Pre-Medical program and had so much fun. unfortunatly i got a scholorship and currently go to a private school. thanks for teaching me!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

My son went to this school and my daughter is about to go too. I really think is an excellent school in all aspects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

My son has been going to this school for2yrs going on his 3rd he has grown alot since he has been in williamdandy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

I went to William Dandy Middle school for 3 years and was enrolled in the Pre-Law program. I found this school to be a great experience. For three years I enjoyed almost everyday going to this school and learned very much. This school help my FCAT scores increase by offering before school, afterschool, and Saturday school tutoring. As a student in the Law program I also learned much about being a lawyer by getting involved in mock trials, and actually taking on real life tasks that lawyers today would. Now I am a freshman at Blanche Ely high school, I I like it there as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 21, 2004

My son attended the Pre-Law Magnet Program at William Dandy. The teachers are very serious and committed as well as the principals. Discipline and respect is expected, which is essential in order to achieve. My son received a very good education. The school offered FCAT studies every Saturday until the test dates. I recommend it very highly for all students to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

292 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 23%
Hispanic 3% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 10%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 21%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Casandra D Robinson
Fax number
  • (754) 322-3285

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 NW 26th St
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33311
Phone: (754) 322-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eagle Academy Charter School
Lauderdale Lakes, FL


Smart School Charter Middle
Lauderdale Lakes, FL


St. Helen School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT