Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Thomas Aquinas High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Lauderdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2006

I am currently attending sta and I love it! #1 school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2005

I went to this school and so did my brother. It was a fantastic school. When I went to college and then law school I realized how superior the education really is at STA. I saw a lot of kids from other schools in my area really struggle in college. I feel blessed to have gone to such a great school. Another poster said that there was drugging and drinking at STA. Well quite honestly there is druging and drinking at all high schools. My fiance teaches at the only A-ranked public high school in broward county, and he says there is major drug consumption by his students. Unless you are going to home school your kids, you have to teach them to make the right choices.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 29, 2005

My daughter transferred in the beginning of her Junior year and has loved every minute. St. Thomas offers every student a wide range of extracurricular activities. The teachers at St. Thomas go far and beyond their call of duty. They truly care for each individual child. Always willing to lend a helping hand in any area a child may need a little extra help. Both parents and students take great pride in St. Thomas, that is why the level of involvement is so enormous. I feel truly blessed that my daughter is surrounded my such a great faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

Great school, wonderful environment. Fantastic teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 3, 2004

I entered STA as a freshman. Unless you're a sports star or a genius finding the right crowd can be tough, sometimes just enough. Academically teacers grade fairly, and work is pretty easy; never need to study for tests, and I'm not above average in intelligence. If you are white and catholic there's clearly a favor for you, I am not catholic, let alone white. STA is Florida's best sports high school, and if im not mistaken it is also ranked number one of standardized testing. Overall I give the school a 4/10.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 10, 2004

My brother and I both attended St. Thomas. When we got to college, it was like a 13th year of high school. We were extremely prepared. Not to mention the fact that the extra-curricular activities promoted and instilled excellence in us as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 9, 2004

In school it seems children are taught well and prosper when they are motivated enough. Discipline is tight and conseqences for misbehavior enforced. However, the school breeds horrendous behavior outside its boundaries. It's unbelieveable the undercurrent of drugs, drinking and sex that goes on in these students lives. Inquire of any student who goes here before sending your child, to fall into this shockingly huge 'in' crowd can be dangerous, literally. Has anyone seen the 'O.C.'? Quite similar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2004

If you don't have a lot of money to donate, or you're not the starting quarterback, you're going to be a nobody at STA. All they care about is money, and the athletes that make them look good. The kids that are smart, the kids that work hard, and the kids that contribute in other areas are extremely overlooked. STA has done nothing for me as a student, absolutely nothing. I could have gotten an education just as good for far less money, and enjoyed my high school experience so much more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2003

Top-notch curriculum, the best teachers, involved parents - it just doesn't get any better than this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This school strives to provide a top notch education for its students. Administration & faculty are dedicated and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

St. Thomas provides the most-well rounded education in South Florida. Class offerings, clubs, athletics are extensive. They have dedicated and experienced teachers. The religious aspect of it is obvious and present at all levels, but not overbearing. Go Raiders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

no better than this
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

STA provides a fantstic overall education for their students, from academics, to sports, to community involvement and they offer a huge variety of clubs and organizations. They are constantly striving to improve themselves and college preparation begins the day your child enters their freshman year. Teachers are incredibly dedicated and always available to students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

It's a breath of fresh air in Broward County;like an old fashioned Northeast school.The families that send their kids here are top quality, involved and the kids are very respectful. Theology everyday for 4 years doesn't hurt!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 27% 29%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tina Jones
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (954) 581-8263

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2801 Southwest 12th Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 327-2208

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Independence High School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Melrose High
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Stranahan High School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Sunset School
Fort Lauderdale, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT