Advertisement
Advertisement

Saint Jerome Catholic School

Private | PK-12 | 310 students

SJS is known for its technology 1:1 iPads for 5th-8th grade & family atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Fort Lauderdale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

SJS is truly Fort Lauderdale's hidden gem! SJS is a small school with a big heart. Each student is given individual attention they need and the opportunity to excel. We are thrilled with the advanced programs, technology and extra curricular activities. The academics cannot be beat. The IBTS test scores for our school are consistently top notch. I believe my children will be well prepared for high school and beyond. If you have a concern or idea for improvement, Sister Vivian's (principal) door is always open. She listens to parents and students and is open minded. My first experience at SJS was on a random tour. I was walking alone to the main office and a middle school aged student passed me and said "Hello, How are you today?". I thought "Wow", I hope my daughters will remember to be this polite to adults when they reach middle school age. I had visited all the Catholic schools in the area, some were closer to my home, some had pristine grounds, but when you visit SJS you will know you have to look no further. We have been at SJS for several years now and the students and families have made us feel at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

Both my children attend SJS and we completely LOVE It!!! The teachers are extremely kind and warm-hearted. My children truly enjoy their classes, their classmates and the faculty and staff. My oldest child made the Honor Roll this year and was recognized for scoring a 95% on her ITBS testing and qualified for DUKE TIPS (Duke Talent Identification Program). I credit these accomplishments to her hard work but also to the dedication of the teachers and the administration. The curriculum is challenging and the classes are very organized. The administration is hands on and has an open door policy. The after care program is fantastic as my children participate in: ballet, arts and craft club, gymnastics club, choir, and science club. After seven years of sending my children to St. Jerome's, I am still thrilled that we made the right decision to bring our children to St Jerome Catholic School. I would recommend St. Jerome's without any hesitation to other parents. The school is having an Open House on Saturday, January 11th, 2014 for prospective families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

St. Jerome's is a wonderful school. It has caring teachers and staff. The diversity of students there also helps the children to learn that we are really more alike then we are different. My 7th and 8th grade teachers were a big inspiration to me and I am forever grateful to them. St. Jerome made me feel like I had a voice for the first time. I went to public school until 6th grade. It got so bad that I couldn't even tell my parents that I was being bullied everyday in the public school. St. Jerome's offers a caring and safe environment where students are able to learn without fear of being ridiculed.


Posted January 29, 2012

Nurturing environment. Good, Catholic values. Very nice families. However, class size averages over 30 children per class and there is poor communication between teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

Honestly? It's ok. I mean yeah. If your looking for a school with a good curriculum, go there, but in terms of heart? Umm not really. I spent two years there as a student and by my second quarter first year, I wanted out. The thing is, no matter how "amazing" the teaching is, they practically forget about you when you leave not graduating! I was there until 7th grade and tried contacting the teachers to "see how it's going". 3 months ago. twice. We even visited the school only to be greeted with a hello, look away, goodbye. "Family" Oriented? yeah right. "Know you by your by your first name"? Sure, for three months. Thats All


Posted April 11, 2011

Very good school. My goal was to find a safe school that will help to continue and reinforce the ethics that we value at home. A great education is an added bonus. They have surpassed my expectations. The school is small enough that it feels like a family, but large enough that I do not worry about it closing (as our previous school did). In addition there are extra curricular activities, aftercare, spring break camp, and summer camp. The principal is driven to do everything that is necessary to keep this school running well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

love it..kids love it...like a family ....first name basis..and they know you!!! recommended lots of families from other catholic schools and they came and joined my wonderful school and love it.....SJS number 1..go panthers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

St. Jerome is an exceptional school. Sister Vivian Gomez is a wonderful principal. My daughter began attending St. Jerome at 3 years of age, she just graduated 8th grade. The education she received at St. Jerome is helpong her to succeed is a challenging high school enviornment. Hats off to the St. Jerome family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

St. Jerome is wonderful. My son excels there. The faculty and staff know, and care about, each and every student. There is so much parental involvement, it's inspiring. Can't say enough about it. Sure, there's room for improvement, but they listen to suggestions for that. There aren't many schools where you can have a voice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

Wonderful academic and nurturing environment. Committed faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

St. Jerome is an exceptional school and parish. My daughter has spent three wonderful and fulfilling years here. The staff are so caring, and the kids in every grade are just wonderful. I recommend everyone to send their children here! We are moving out of state this summer, and it will be extremely hard to say goodbye to the exceptional families and staff that make up this wonderful parish and school. God bless all at St. Jerome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

Great principal. My niece goes there and i sometimes help her with her homework. Great teachers also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Excellent caring staff from the principal on down. Good multi-national cross section of students - my belief being that when different cultures come together it teaches our young people basically we all want to be peaceful and happy in our daily lives. Saint Jerome teaches this valuable underestimated life leason to the student body. In a wonderful Catholic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 44%
Hispanic 25% 24%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Black 6% 29%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Harbordale
Virginia Shuman Young
Croissant Park Elementary
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Speech and language therapist(s)
School psychologist
Reading specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Cardinal Gibbons H.S. Brain Brawl (2013)
  • Saint Thomas Aquinas H.S. entrance exam (top 1%) (2013)
  • BCCTM (Math Broward County Council of Teachers) competition (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Ballet/ Tap
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sr. Vivian Gomez, R.F., Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Associations
  • FACCS
Fax number
  • (954) 524-7439

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Common Core State Standards
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Math & Grammar clinics
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Pee-wee tennis
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Pee-wee tennis
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: Ballet/ Tap
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Harbordale
Virginia Shuman Young
Croissant Park Elementary

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Step-Up

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
None
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2601 SW 9th Ave
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 524-1990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Seagull School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Florida Ocean Sciences Inst
Fort Lauderdale, FL




Charter School of Excellence 2
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT