Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
310 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saint Jerome Catholic School 5

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
I love this school. Amazing community and academics. I love the teachers and so far they have been very accommodating to questions and concerns

Saint Jerome Catholic School 1

Posted October 29, 2014
- a community member
The school is good educational wise but the sports will waste your time and money we loses every game


Saint Jerome Catholic School 4

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
Small school with caring faculty and staff. I think it truly is a hidden gem. They only reason I didn't rate 5 is their conditions of facility. Bathrooms, playground, community hall definitely need some serious updates.

Saint Jerome Catholic School 2

Posted June 24, 2014
- a community member
When I first started this school I thought it was good. I had very good grades, a group of friends and all my teachers were nice and supportive. As time went on I could notice some teachers would put more effort into helping certain students. Basically everyone had a favorite student and anyone who wasn't was basically ignored. It seems to me that the teachers would become more and more judgmental about what the students were doing outside of school. They would call out kids and single them out and honestly it was none of their business. Another problem for me is that when I went to highschool I did not feel like I was prepared enough. There was curriculum (especially in the science department) that I had no idea what was going on. So the other kids had the upper hand. But it worked out in the end my grades and my gpa are fine, but if I were to do things differently I would have gone to a school with stronger curriculum.

Saint Jerome Catholic School 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
This school has poor communication as in nonexistent, constant fundraisers, and the sports suffer. They shove anyone into a coaching position (pk3 teacher) and you end up paying for your kid to do a sport and lose every game, the IT guy who works there isn't doing his job in protecting the kids when using their iPads and their 'summer camp' just puts the kids on YouTube all day. I email call and go to appointments and nothing has changed. My kids has struggled the past 2 years and now he probably won't pass. This is with me paying tuition and a tutor!


Saint Jerome Catholic School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
SJS is truly Fort Lauderdale's hidden gem! SJS is a small school with a big heart. Each student is given individual attention they need and the opportunity to excel. We are thrilled with the advanced programs, technology and extra curricular activities. The academics cannot be beat. The IBTS test scores for our school are consistently top notch. I believe my children will be well prepared for high school and beyond. If you have a concern or idea for improvement, Sister Vivian's (principal) door is always open. She listens to parents and students and is open minded. My first experience at SJS was on a random tour. I was walking alone to the main office and a middle school aged student passed me and said "Hello, How are you today?". I thought "Wow", I hope my daughters will remember to be this polite to adults when they reach middle school age. I had visited all the Catholic schools in the area, some were closer to my home, some had pristine grounds, but when you visit SJS you will know you have to look no further. We have been at SJS for several years now and the students and families have made us feel at home.

Saint Jerome Catholic School 5

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
Both my children attend SJS and we completely LOVE It!!! The teachers are extremely kind and warm-hearted. My children truly enjoy their classes, their classmates and the faculty and staff. My oldest child made the Honor Roll this year and was recognized for scoring a 95% on her ITBS testing and qualified for DUKE TIPS (Duke Talent Identification Program). I credit these accomplishments to her hard work but also to the dedication of the teachers and the administration. The curriculum is challenging and the classes are very organized. The administration is hands on and has an open door policy. The after care program is fantastic as my children participate in: ballet, arts and craft club, gymnastics club, choir, and science club. After seven years of sending my children to St. Jerome's, I am still thrilled that we made the right decision to bring our children to St Jerome Catholic School. I would recommend St. Jerome's without any hesitation to other parents. The school is having an Open House on Saturday, January 11th, 2014 for prospective families.

Saint Jerome Catholic School 5

Posted August 09, 2012
- a community member
St. Jerome's is a wonderful school. It has caring teachers and staff. The diversity of students there also helps the children to learn that we are really more alike then we are different. My 7th and 8th grade teachers were a big inspiration to me and I am forever grateful to them. St. Jerome made me feel like I had a voice for the first time. I went to public school until 6th grade. It got so bad that I couldn't even tell my parents that I was being bullied everyday in the public school. St. Jerome's offers a caring and safe environment where students are able to learn without fear of being ridiculed.


Saint Jerome Catholic School 4

Posted January 29, 2012
- a parent
Nurturing environment. Good, Catholic values. Very nice families. However, class size averages over 30 children per class and there is poor communication between teachers and parents.

Saint Jerome Catholic School 1

Posted May 27, 2011
- a community member
Honestly? It's ok. I mean yeah. If your looking for a school with a good curriculum, go there, but in terms of heart? Umm not really. I spent two years there as a student and by my second quarter first year, I wanted out. The thing is, no matter how "amazing" the teaching is, they practically forget about you when you leave not graduating! I was there until 7th grade and tried contacting the teachers to "see how it's going". 3 months ago. twice. We even visited the school only to be greeted with a hello, look away, goodbye. "Family" Oriented? yeah right. "Know you by your by your first name"? Sure, for three months. Thats All

Nearby schools

Saint Jerome Catholic School
2601 SW 9th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL  33315
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (954) 524-1990
Last modified Saint Jerome Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top