Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Anthony School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Lauderdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $252,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,460.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

We moved to Fort Lauderdale right before school started and St. Anthony made room for my kids and it has been a blessing to our whole family. The parents and staff are amazing and involved. Families reached out to make us feel included and comfortable and my children have had an amazing experience. My son's learning reading has improved amazingly and I feel that the Catholic values permeate the environment and set a tone for the whole school. There are many events for families and students to get to know each other. You are expected and required to complete a certain number of volunteer hours at the school and it does make you even more committed. I do wish there was more emphasis on Science in the curriculum for the lower grades. Some of the teachers are quite junior but are very dedicated. Some of the classes are large but they manage to address this with additional help in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

I have friends at this school, who love it! But some however, dont. There class sizes are very large, and the children there could be nicer. There is drama in the middle school, and alot of relationships that sometimes get in the way, but not always. St.Anthonys's teacher and cirriculum are an A+. The religious part of the school is lacking. Students dont care about the faith. They respect but dont care to know anything about it! The students are very welcoming though! They love new-comers and the teachers do too. The buliding is very safe and very beautiful. My only complaints, is the lack of the religious teaching and understanding and the students attitude towrads learning and one another. Overall, they need some work in some areas. But St.Anthonys is STILL a good school.


Posted May 6, 2012

I'm giving this 5 stars because I really think it's on it's way to living up to the standard. I think the new leadership is making a difference in the quality of the staff, the large class sizes, and working to improve curriculum. The parents are down to earth and very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

Love this school. Centrally located in east Ft. Lauderdale, community is amazing and a strong, Catholic foundation for children. Children leave the school well prepared educationally, spiritually and as great overall citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

I am a graduate of this school and really liked it. My teachers were great and I made friends there that are still my best friends. I was ready to go on to high school, but learned a lot at St. Anthony.


Posted October 31, 2010

This school has a very poor administration. They are unethical and incompetent. Certain parents in power are keeping the greater majority of children from getting the quality of service they deserve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2003

This is an excellent school academically. St. Anthony also provides a safe environment that nurtures both the mind and the soul. Classes are large and require heavy parental involvement, both at school and at home, to continue the 'balanced education'. Like any great school, his is a roll up your sleeves kind of Parish that requires a lot of volunteer work. We have great families with excellent morals. '
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 44%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

820 NE 3rd St
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: (954) 525-8851

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bethany Christian School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



The Obama Academy for Boys
Fort Lauderdale, FL


North Side Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT