Advertisement
Advertisement

Fort Lauderdale Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Fort Lauderdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $69,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2012

On August 2011, Fort Lauderdale Christian School merged with Calvary Christian Academy (CCA), becoming CCA's West campus. CCA is the largest protestant Pre-K - 12 grade Christian school in the nation. As a teacher and staff member, and most importantly, a CCA parent, I am blessed to be part of this incredible school. The school's mission is to make disciples of Jesus Christ and that is not just a catchy phrase we like to place on our printed and other visual materials, it is the truth, because that's exactly what we do: in the classrooms, in the courts and fields, and on the stage. But don't take my, or the school's, word for it. Check it out for yourself. Go to www.ccaeagles.org and browse the site, then make an appointment to see it for yourself. Talk to the staff, students, admin, and other CCA parents. And then, pray about where the Lord God wants your children to be. If He wants you to be part of the CCA community, He will let you know. He did that for me almost 10 years ago and I am forever thankful for His guidance in one of the most important decisions a Christian parent could ever make.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2010

Small class sizes. Hardworking teachers. Students are far more friendly than staff members. They unfortunately have made too many cuts due to financial problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

I just left that school but I loved it! I had a family there and everyone was nice! They are having some difficulties though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2008

The school lacks self controls of their students and it is not a good influence on students both academicaly and spiritually. I attended their and had some very bad enfluences with the staff and how they disipline thier students and also how they treat their students. So i would not recoment thie highschool


Posted September 14, 2007

This is 6th year for my daughter at FLCS and 4th year for my son. The staff and faculty are exceptional. They all care about the children and provide a very positive learning environment with strong academic and extracurricular program. I love this school and so do my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I am not a parent, but a student that attended FLCS from K-12. Upon entering college I realized just how good FLCS was to me... I grew up enjoying art, drama, music, and sports thanks to this school. This school welcomed me like family, and because of that, I was able to make friends in fellow students and also teachers that are now like my extended family. Thanks FLCS! I always look forward to coming back and visiting - knowing you'll always be there is a great comfort!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 9, 2007

Children have been in this school for several years. Very happy; learning above average. Great sports and art dept. Teachers on top of things. Very Christian atmosphere. Nice families. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

Both of my children go to FLCS. It is a small school with a low student to teacher ratio. The techers are exceptional and are willing to go out of their way to accomodate special needs of individual students. Additional information can be found at the school's website: http://www.flcs.org/index.html. My kids love their school and their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

My son is 3 yrs old and will be 4 in late August. He is in Pre-K and I am not at all impresed w/ this school. My son is the youngest in the class, never been in a school setting and speaks 2 languages. He dosen't understand the process of what school is all about yet and Ft. Laud. Christian has not giving him the time to get aclamated yet. I received a call from the teacher on the second day of school about my child's 'behavior' and schedule a confrense! I was told that he is disrupted and disobediant. I explained he is 3 and never has been in a day care or school setting - they told me that is only an excuse and I souldn't look at those things! Remember 2nd day of school. 4th day of school - I started looking for another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

I have three children that attend Ft. Lauderdale Christian and we have had only excellent experiences. Everyone has been helpful and concerned about my childrens' education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Great academic program very afforbale fees
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

Although our child had an excellence experience with one teacher. We have pulled out child out of the school for 2 major reasons: 1) student bullying is a major problem. Children attending the school has concluded 'this is just how children treat each other.' This is not an issue with just one child - multiple children have been bullied and when it is brought to the attention of administration, nothing is done. We are not alone in pulling our child out of this school - we know of other parents who encountered the same problem and withdrew their children. These children are now happy in public schools where bullying is not tolerated. We only have to recall the Columbine incident to realize the seriousness of tolerating student bullying and not putting a stop to it. 2) teachers do not have to meet the same academic standards/certification as in the public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

I was a student at FLCS for Three years. It is a strong school with a good Christian stucture. They allowed you to have your opion on the bible as well as helping grow in God's word. Not only that, you recieve an excellent education. If I had not moved out of Ft Lauderdale I would still be attending today. I am very proud to say I was a student at FLCS. -Amanda S.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 29%
White 37% 44%
Hispanic 24% 24%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (954) 977-2681

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6330 NW 31st Ave
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
Phone: (954) 972-3444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Christian Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL



Gold Coast Christian School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Imagine Charter/N Lauderdale
North Lauderdale, FL


Broadview Elementary School
North Lauderdale, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT