Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ Church School

Private | PK-5 | 265 students

Our school is best known for outstanding academics in a nurturing atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Fort Lauderdale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $235,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2010

Even if I tried I could never say enouhg great things about this school! I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

I am a parent of two CCS students. I cannot say enough good things about this school! The school curriculum is academically challenging, and the teachers encourage intellectual curiosity. The teachers' dedication to the students promotes a lifelong love of learning. In addition, there is a great deal of emphasis placed on developing students of strong character. As a parent, I find it incredibly comforting to know that the values I am teaching my children at home are being reinforced and rewarded at their school. From everything I have seen, the students do very well after they graduate from CCS. They are in high-demand at area middle schools, and I am so glad that my children will have the life experience of transitioning to a new school after fifth grade. All in all, CCS is a wonderful place. I feel lucky that my children are able to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

I am so pleased with the curriculum at Christ Church School. Although my children were doing well academically at their former school known for its 'prestige'. Christ Church has managed to surpass my high expectations academically and my children are now respected and treated as individuals. As a parent, I am so thankful to the teachers and staff of Christ Church School for teaching 'me', not only the value of incredibly strong academics for my children, but also the importance of character, integrity and good decision making.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

I have been going to this school since PK4. I love this school and I always have. The teachers are nice. The education is great. The school has after school programs. They are fun but yet still educational.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2006

My child has attended PK4-5th. This school is a hidden gem I feel very fortunate to have discovered. It is an academically excellent program. There are a variety of extra- curricular activities and after school clubs. It is a nurturing environment where staff and teachers are caring and children feel encouraged and recognized for their achievments . Parent participation is high .Children are WELL prepared for middle school. Could not imagine a better foundation for my child. Wish the school went through 12th grade (as do most parents - we'd never leave).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

Christ Church is probably the best private elementary school in the Fort Lauderdale area. The teachers are extremely warm and positive, but at the same time, they challenge my child academically. I searched high and low for the right private school for my child, and after visiting and trying some other schools in the area, I have found that Christ Church offers a curriculum that is academically rigorous and a faculty and staff that truly care about each child and family at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

We have been VERY pleased with our experience at Christ Church School. We love the teachers and the staff. We have been at CCS for 8 years and have not had one bad year. We highly recommend Christ Church School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

This school is the perfect place to send your child for grade school. It teaches your child how to deal in middle school. I went there for four years. Now I'am a straight A student. It gives your child a rock solid foundation.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 1, 2003

Christ Church is a a very warm but academic school. My children are very happy there. The school also has an enrollment of 304 not 176. Parents are VERY involved and are encouraged to be that way. Pine Crest has reccomended the school to several parents I know as a good prep for Pine Crest. The ratio's are also very good. I am overall very pleased with the school, and even though I would like the school to go on to 8th grade, all the students are very prepared and excited about changing schools at 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 42%
Hispanic 3% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Tane Bonham
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Methodist
Fax number
  • (954) 776-4553

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Christ Church SChool is an educational ministry of Christ Church. Students in prekindergarten through fifth grade are provided with positive influences - from caring, nurturing, Christian teachers to a challenging curriculum designed to educate the whole child and to promote growth in all areas of development - intellectual, social, physical, spiritual and emotional. Curriculum areas are integrated with an emphasis on a developmentally academic approach to learning. The curriculum helps build a foundation for life and leads to future academic success. These influences help students develop a sense of traditional values and character while fostering each child's God-given abilities and talents.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4845 Northeast 25th Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 771-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Shepherd Of The Coast
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Westminster Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Floranada Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


St. Mark's Episcopal School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Pine Crest School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Mcnab Elementary School
Pompano Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT