Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Fort Lauderdale, FL

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Mark Catholic School 3

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
Academics at St. Mark are okay if your child is an independent learner. If you child struggles or needs more attention, he or she will not get that here. Class sizes are huge. Bullying issues are not addressed. Definite favoritism towards wealthier families. Many of the parents, students, and staff are snobs. Not a very friendly, Christian environment with the exception of some of the faculty. A few of the teachers are outstanding if you are luckily enough to get them; however, you cannot request teachers. Not worth the money when there are superior charter and public schools within a few miles of St. Mark. St. Mark's preschool, however, is excellent!

St. Mark Catholic School 1

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
St Mark is the worst school ever. The teachers don't know how to teach, the students are rude, and the principal doesn't care about any problems you have. Bullying is an extremely common thing to encounter at this school. After switching schools, my children had trouble keeping up (despite them being gifted) due to the terrible education at this school. Everyone that works in the school shows favoritism towards the people who write the biggest check. If you want your kids to go to a good school, go anywhere but here. Going to St Mark is the worst decision any parents could ever make for their kids.


St. Mark Catholic School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
St. Mark's is an exceptional Catholic School where the students are nurtured from the moment they step through the doors until they graduate at 8th Grade. We have found St. Mark's to be a warm, nurturing school that encourages children to learn, learn, learn. The students are exposed to the traditional academics as well as phys.ed, music, technology, the arts and hands-on science. A variety of programs is available to all students to promote and foster a love of reading.

St. Mark Catholic School 1

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Terrible first impression I will not send my kids here. The lack of interest from the admissions office is so discouraging, I don't see how they get family's to enroll their children here.

St. Mark Catholic School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
Mrs Sandusky and her staff of dedicated teachers educate your kids in all standard subject matter, and more importantly they nurture them to excel in the Christian tradition of community. The teachers are excellent on every level. They are very hard working, they care and it shows.The result is a well-rounded, confident, and happy child. Its really a family atmosphere and you can just feel the positive vibe on campus. Parents care and get involved. Kids are well behaved and kind toward each other. It is a wonderful community that I highly recommend.


St. Mark Catholic School 1

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
We are leaving after 7 years. Behavior problems are not addressed, curriculum is not updated, and technology is outdated. Unfortunately, with the huge debt the school helps the church pay for, it is unlikely things will improve soon. The financial statement shows that the SCHOOL gave $374,000 to the church last fiscal year.... Hard to improve with that kind of money going out the door. It's a shame, because the teachers and families are so wonderful!

St. Mark Catholic School 2

Posted July 29, 2011
- a community member
i went to this school for 8 years from tweens to 4th grade and the teachers don't know how to teach almost everyone in my grade left and i left cause my brother almost failed math cause the teacher had a very strong accinent. I DO NOT SUGGEST THIS SCHOOL then i went to public school and i was so far behind it was crazy never ever go here

St. Mark Catholic School 3

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
Nepotism,favoritism and the parent writing the biggest check gets the benefits. Bullying is at and all time high. Parents complain, and are just brushed away. Very high teacher turn over. School has had three assistant principals in five years. Can't seem to work with the principal.


St. Mark Catholic School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
Great School, great education, best staff and best people. Difficult to find a better Catholic education in Florida and probably in the Nation.

St. Mark Catholic School 5

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
Both of our children have been enrolled at SMCS since the Tweens program. Academics, faith and family are extremely important. The principal, administration, faculty and staff are some of the finest you'll find. Cudos to all of them!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Mark Catholic School
5601 S Flamingo Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL  33330
(954) 434-3887
Last modified St. Mark Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Mark Catholic School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top