Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gateway Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 706 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

great staff, outstanding program for especial need kids,great school- parent communication .The best .Thank you Gateway Elementary for make the different in my son life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

Great school for my kid. Focuses on her individual learning needs. Administration takes care of business and truly cares about my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2011

Decent school. However recess only once a week for kindergarten, and not many extracurricular activities offered, and sometimes the classwork (or at least the work I see come home) seems a bit boring or repetitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

Beware of this school. The front office staff is wonderful but once you get through them and to administration...Watch out! I was outraged to find out how sneaky and rude the administration is at this school. My child will not be returning next year. I recommend that any parent look elsewhere before enrolling their child here. I also have been told by teachers and parents that the teacher turnover rate is high at this school because of the person in charge! Stay away!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I am a teacher at Gateway and have been for four years. This will be my last year at Gateway. The school is not a positive environment for any student. Only if you are a 'well behaved' child will you be repected and liked. Any 'problem' child will not be treated fairly by administration. I would not allow any child of mine to attend Gateway.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2009

Half the year is over with and I could not be more pleased with what is happening. Gateway instituted the Positive Behavior System this year and the kids are doing great. Each month the kids redeem their 'gator bites' for rewards at the Gator store which is manned by the counselor and volunteer parents. Greats success and huge smiles on the faces of the students. Way to go Gateway!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I have taught in many schools and I feel that Gateway Elementary School offers all students and staff warmth, compassion and the ability to grow.The students are greeted with a warm hello plus a student run daily news program completely run by fifth graders. The administration listens to the concerns of the parents, teachers and the students and consistently makes necessary accomodations. I truly feel that Gateway Elementary School is a 'family' and that all associated with the family are treated with care, compassion and understanding!!! Gateway is a great place to learn and grow!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2009

My daugter tranferred to this school in 3rd grade, it has not done that much to help her. Some of the teachers have a bad attitude and do not deal with child well. I am glad this year will be her last one .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

This is a sought after school in our area. I have a 2nd and 4th grader going here and my boys have been challenged and proudly prevaled this year. Teachers have high expectations here but give them proper guidence and tools to allow them to see their way to success. We're going to be moving this summer and will ensure it's within limits of this top-notch school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I was a teacher at this school and I am very glad I no longer work their. The teachers are great but administration is terrible! They are sneaky, rude and very disrespectful of teachers, parents, and students. If you live around here, I would recommend Gateway Charter instead of Gateway Elementary!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 24, 2009

I am a grandparent and I think Gateway Elementary is a great school. Good discipline and strong academics. Good luck to Gateway in their FCAT results.


Posted February 8, 2009

We transferred from another school and we are so happy we did. My child has been taught twice as much as he did at another school in math, reading, and english. I HATE the school choice program that they have in Lee County, but I'm thankful that my child got into Gateway Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

The teachers are great, but parents PLEASE beware of this school. There have no system of behavior management and the administration is tyrannical and novice. They do all they can to make the school look like it is doing well, but it's steadily falling apart. My bet is that this year's (2009) FCAT scores will reflect this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

My son started gateway last year it was his first year of school. We chose gateway because we heard great things about it. My son loves gateway. His teacher Mrs. Johnson was wonderful. My son learned so much and is in advanced reading. I am very pleased with gateway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Gateway Elementary has many fun and academic activities for the children. The Science and Writing specials are unique compared to other elementary schools. We sent our daughter here because of these programs offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

My children had a wonderful year at Gateway. Thank you to all the teachers who made this year so successful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

I had a pleasant experience w/Gateway for the most part. My kindergartner learned a great deal and her teacher provided me with numerous ways to work with my child at home to expand her learning. I was welcomed to volunteer while bringing along my 3 year old numerous times with me in the media center. Though they seem to need more parents at lunchtime as the children need plenty of help opening food containers, sitting in their seats, etc. especially for the younger ones adjusting being away from mom all day. The sometimes stressed teachers need a little help & relief particularly. I urge parents volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

I think Gateway Elementary is a great school. The professionalism and organization of the teachers & school, in general is impressive. The children are exposed to art, music and PE once a week. The PTA is very involved and welcoming of parent volunteers, even if you have a younger child. I brought my then 2 1/2 year old to help out at the Media Center numerous times & on class trips as well as in class parties. Whether it be for a 1/2 hour or 2-3 hours. They have some very nice events like a Spring Fling, Book Fair, etc. Though parent involvement is evident in the Grade A rating. I would like to see more parents volunteering at lunch time. The hard-working teachers could use a break & its a nice way to get to know your child's classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Hispanic 34%
Black 18%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%66%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13280 Griffin Drive
Fort Myers, FL 33913
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 768-3737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT