Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

940 students|Lee
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

As the new principal of Paul Laurence Dunbar MIddle School, I invite any and all interested families to schedule a tour of the campus. Our facilities, student body and program, as well as our staff, are second-to-none. We take great pride in teaching all students, and the complexity of the children we serve is a source of our strength. Reviewers will review, and in a school-choice system, most who choose to speak up have likely moved on within days - limiting their scope and knowledge. I hope any and all prospective students and families call us, speak with me directly, and enjoy the great opportunities at PLDMS.
November 20, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 08, 2016
- a community member
The presence of highly trained educators and psychologist handling issues immediately with a caring heart.

Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2016
- a community member
The presence of authority in the hallways at all times- Principle, Vice Principles and teachers at all times. Misbehavior and consequences are dealt with accuracy, respect and support.


Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School 5

Posted July 08, 2016
- a community member
Staff is committed to excellence. Understand and attend to the needs of children with learning disabilities. Challenged those in need of achieving their best and encourage and support the overachievers.

Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
As a parent who is raising two young boys in a very global and diverse society it is important for my kids to have an educational experience at a school that promotes diversity and develops a culture that emphasizes respect, tolerance, and acceptance. Dunbar Middle meets all of those expectations and much more. They have some of the most dedicated and caring teachers that I have ever been around (and I am a teacher as well). They pride themselves on doing what is best for their students and involving parents and the community in their students education. The building is clean, bright and well taken care of. Academically, the school is technology driven, and has the resources to meet your child's needs despite whatever level they may be at. They have programs to support struggling students and have one of the best gifted programs in the county. I definitely recommend Dunbar Middle, as a parent and a teacher!!!!

Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle is comprised of some of the hardest working, engaging, caring and passionate educators in Lee County. They provide a safe, supportive and respectful environment for their students and demonstrate on a daily basis, their commitment to providing an educational experience that is relevant, rigorous and dynamic for their students. I highly recommend sending your students to this school.


Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are more like guards and most do the absolute minimum as far as teaching goes

Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a teacher
I feel that PLDMS offers a wide variety of activities for students while simultaneously challenging them with rigorous coursework. Dunbar excels athletically, musically, artfully, theatrically, academically, technologically.....the list really goes on and on. I love working here and look forward to working with my students every day!

Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School 5

Posted November 21, 2014
- a teacher
Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School offers a wealth of opportunities for your student to learn and grow. Students with a variety of talents, will have those talents nurtured. The faculty and staff are dedicated to seeing all students succeed. If you are looking for a school for your middle school student, I highly recommend giving PLDMS strong consideration. You can attend the Student Assignment Open House that is offered in January, and follow the school on Twitter @PLDUNBARMS to find out more.


Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School 5

Posted November 21, 2014
- a teacher
I have been working in education in some capacity for the last 16 years. Here at PLDMS, I have had the opportunity daily to collaborate with some of the hardest working and professional team members. The students at the school are enthusiastic and love to participate in what the school offers; including the after school tutoring programs, clubs, as well as the sports that are offered here. I am fortunate to have found a home here at Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School, with such outstanding students and staff.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
As the new principal of Paul Laurence Dunbar MIddle School, I invite any and all interested families to schedule a tour of the campus. Our facilities, student body and program, as well as our staff, are second-to-none. We take great pride in teaching all students, and the complexity of the children we serve is a source of our strength. Reviewers will review, and in a school-choice system, most who choose to speak up have likely moved on within days - limiting their scope and knowledge. I hope any and all prospective students and families call us, speak with me directly, and enjoy the great opportunities at PLDMS.
Posted November 20, 2014

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School
4750 Winkler Avenue Ext, Fort Myers, FL  33966
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (239) 334-1357
Last modified Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top