Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edison Park Creative And Expressive Arts School

Public | PK-5 | 369 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2012

This is a fabulous school in all areas. My children get a great academic education mixed with the arts. The specials, art, music, strings, drama, dance and PE, make for a well-rounded educational experience. I can not imagine my children going to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The school is wonderful in many ways. However, many of these 'after school programs' are only for certain grades or get filled so quickly that if there is not adequate communication, one cannot get in. I feel the principal is a bit much. There is no talking allowed during lunch if the kids speak too loudly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

This is a model school in all areas. I love walking through the halls. You can hear music, see student artwork, and most importantly friendly faces. High expectations are a must. The arts shows are out of this world! The activities after school are also amazing. Pottery, drums, bells, dance, drama, boat building workshop, counseling groups, tutoring and more. If you ask, the staff helps in any way possible. The living environment makes me proud to be a part of this amazing school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 12, 2010

I absolutely adore this school the teachers have the most creative ways of teaching. My son loves schools and does not want to miss one day. A Honor roll and Excellent Attendance
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

This school is truly amazing! Though I've only been here about a year and a half, I think that this school provides great learing, and expressing of the creative arts!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

I cannot say enough how wonderful this school is. Every teacher and parent truly cares. In '07-'08 they implemented some extracurricular activites such as pottery and computer graphics. My daughter and son love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

Edison Park is just a wonderful place for my daughter to be. The teachers and staff are fantastic. A must see on that open house list. The halls just reek of education in the most wonderful way. Edison Park is how I remember school use to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I could not be happier. All three of my children have attended here, one going into High School now and the others are still at EPCEA. It is just a fantastic environment for not only the children, but teachers and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

Our oldest daughter went to Edison Park and I cannot begin to say enough about the school. It is absolutely comparable to a private school. Our youngest begins first grade next week and we were not able to get her into Edison Park. She will be going back to private school for that very simple reason. There is not one school in this county that can stand up to Edison Park. My advice is that you get on the waiting list early.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Edison Park is a very strong school for all ethnic backgrounds. They allow the kids to go outside the classroom and experience dance, art, drama and keep their grades up on all FCATs etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

This is a wonderful school for parents who want the best for their child in the public school system. The school principal is outgoing and seems to care about and know each student. It is organized and culturally minded in all aspecst, encouraging creativity in all areas. Each child seems to be praised continually for doing their personal best. I would give it an A+ and recommend it to all. Get on the waiting list and take a seat as soon as it is available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

Good school for learning. My children have improved a lot. Teacher's are not very friendly though and not sports for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

This is a fantastic school. I was truely impressed with the level of parental involvement at Edison Park. Everything is first rate, from the principal to the teachers. They have their act together. There is no other school in the area that compares to it, public or private. Believe me, I looked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

Small school, great academics, hard to get into.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

The only public school we seriously considered, Edison Park has provided exceptional teaching in basics. Violin, stage and artwork only enhance the core learning for my 2nd and K daughters. The leadership and teaching are outstanding. Parents are involved at all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is my sons first year in the public school system, I was worried at first because he has learning problems but am very impressed with Edison park. Everyone is on the ball there, the school is clean, and the staff is so very friendly and helpful. They addressed my sons problems the first week of school instead of letting him 'fall through the cracks'. The education here is comparable to private school (my son had previously attended St Francis) and am so happy that my son is attending school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 47%
Black 32%
Hispanic 17%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%66%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 Euclid Avenue
Fort Myers, FL 33901
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 334-6232

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Saint Francis Xavier
Fort Myers, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT