Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Myers Middle Academy

Public | 6-8 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2011

It saddens me to see a grade of only 3 on this site for the test scores of the students here...what needs to be factored in is the very high low income students and non-English speaking student numbers. ANY school would get a low grade from that-so assess how well this school is doing with what it has to teach and you'll see a much higler number...and well deserved. Schools that only have gifted students or kids with highly motivated parents that are rich enough to not have to work 2-3 jobs and instead be with their kids will score higher...but that doesn't mean the school is teaching better-just that it doesn't have to. This one does and succeeds well in doing so.


Posted October 26, 2011

My son had been homeschooled for the last 3 years and just returned to public school this year. Although this school services a majority of low income students the programs and staff here are excellent. From the moment I stepped in the doors to register my son I found every teacher and administrator to be extremely helpful and accomodating. They worked with me to put my son on a bus route that was closer to my work so that he would not have to be home alone. His teacher is excellent at communicating what is going on in class and with my son and takes a special interest in helping her students. Everyone there shows an interest in trying to help the students be the best they can be and making this school a great school. Although there are other in district schools that are closer to where we live I would continue to send my son to this school as it feels like a community and second family to him rather than just a place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

my grand children transfered to this school from lehigh ackers and from the momement we steped into the school on the first day i noticed the concern for the student from the teachers,principles and security. they were well orginized polite and helpfull. they even took the time to find a bus rout and change it to pick up the childern closer to home. i have 11 grand children and have been to many schools in many states and this one by far surpasses all of them i would rate this school an a+ for concern and politeness to students and parents.


Posted May 26, 2010

Lots of fun technology, cool science projects, TSA club!! Ft. Myers Middle students won a ton of awards at the student film festival!! It's the best middle school!


Posted February 8, 2010

I am an 8th grader at FMMA and just happen to be n Ms.Nauss's class..she is really nice:) and understandinq...
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2010

FMMA is an awesome school. Teachers present lessons that are relevant and interesting. They care about the kids & spend extra time to help students achieve! FMMA is over 50 years old & STILL provides the highest quality education in a safe, positive environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

This school is very strict I mean they have great programs and they mean well but ther just alittle to tough tey will write you up quick they hav exelent teachers though. But they need to let us have a little fun every once in a while and stop with data folders it's a waste of time most students don't care they just put any thing down quick so they can get back to talking .Kids hate setting big goals and then when they see there grades it's disapointing for you to put so high then score low it sometimes just hurt there feelings and makes them mad that they failed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2007

The teachers in this school are very good. Mr. Nagata is an excellent art teacher and extremely talented artist. Mr. Forrest Walker is probably the best Math teacher I have ever encountered in that it is the first time my daughter has understood math concepts completely. But, I do not have good things to say about the administration. For one thing, they do not provide Parent Link like the other schools in the same county. They also do not handle bullying incidents seriously and as a result I have been forced to move my child to another school. I do not recommend this school and would encourage you to try to get your child into another school within the choices offered in this county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

Parental involvement is high, the PE program is good, the art classes are very good with different materials, and a very nice art teacher, Mr. Nagata.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2004

This school is the best. The uniforms are great to. I would definitly encourage parents to bring there children to this school. I am currently a sixth grader this 03-04 school year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

Oustanding school, caring staff. High academic focus for all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
16%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

171 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
82%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 57%
Hispanic 27%
White 10%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%66%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. BETH OHBERG
Fax number
  • (239) 936-4350

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3050 Central Avenue
Fort Myers, FL 33901
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 936-1759

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pivot Charter School
Fort Myers, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT