Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Fort Myers, FL
Students enrolled: 448
Before care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

FMMA is a great, small school. The teachers and administrators know all the students and help them to be their best. Homework Huddle is awesome because students can stay after school to get homework help from their actual teachers. Enrichment Clusters make learning fun for everyone and the AVID program helps kids set goals & helps them achieve those goals! Highly recommended!
December 10, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
FMMA is a great, small school. The teachers and administrators know all the students and help them to be their best. Homework Huddle is awesome because students can stay after school to get homework help from their actual teachers. Enrichment Clusters make learning fun for everyone and the AVID program helps kids set goals & helps them achieve those goals! Highly recommended!
Posted December 10, 2014
1 person found this helpful

Fort Myers Middle Academy 4

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
my daughter will begain 6th grade here next year. and i would like some input on the school.


Fort Myers Middle Academy 5

Posted October 26, 2011
- a community member
It saddens me to see a grade of only 3 on this site for the test scores of the students here...what needs to be factored in is the very high low income students and non-English speaking student numbers. ANY school would get a low grade from that-so assess how well this school is doing with what it has to teach and you'll see a much higler number...and well deserved. Schools that only have gifted students or kids with highly motivated parents that are rich enough to not have to work 2-3 jobs and instead be with their kids will score higher...but that doesn't mean the school is teaching better-just that it doesn't have to. This one does and succeeds well in doing so.
1 person found this helpful

Fort Myers Middle Academy 5

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
My son had been homeschooled for the last 3 years and just returned to public school this year. Although this school services a majority of low income students the programs and staff here are excellent. From the moment I stepped in the doors to register my son I found every teacher and administrator to be extremely helpful and accomodating. They worked with me to put my son on a bus route that was closer to my work so that he would not have to be home alone. His teacher is excellent at communicating what is going on in class and with my son and takes a special interest in helping her students. Everyone there shows an interest in trying to help the students be the best they can be and making this school a great school. Although there are other in district schools that are closer to where we live I would continue to send my son to this school as it feels like a community and second family to him rather than just a place to learn.

Fort Myers Middle Academy 5

Posted August 12, 2011
- a community member
my grand children transfered to this school from lehigh ackers and from the momement we steped into the school on the first day i noticed the concern for the student from the teachers,principles and security. they were well orginized polite and helpfull. they even took the time to find a bus rout and change it to pick up the childern closer to home. i have 11 grand children and have been to many schools in many states and this one by far surpasses all of them i would rate this school an a+ for concern and politeness to students and parents.


Fort Myers Middle Academy 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a community member
Lots of fun technology, cool science projects, TSA club!! Ft. Myers Middle students won a ton of awards at the student film festival!! It's the best middle school!

Fort Myers Middle Academy
no rating

Posted February 08, 2010
- a student
I am an 8th grader at FMMA and just happen to be n Ms.Nauss's class..she is really nice:) and understandinq...

Fort Myers Middle Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
FMMA is an awesome school. Teachers present lessons that are relevant and interesting. They care about the kids & spend extra time to help students achieve! FMMA is over 50 years old & STILL provides the highest quality education in a safe, positive environment!


Fort Myers Middle Academy 2

Posted February 29, 2008
- a student
This school is very strict I mean they have great programs and they mean well but ther just alittle to tough tey will write you up quick they hav exelent teachers though. But they need to let us have a little fun every once in a while and stop with data folders it's a waste of time most students don't care they just put any thing down quick so they can get back to talking .Kids hate setting big goals and then when they see there grades it's disapointing for you to put so high then score low it sometimes just hurt there feelings and makes them mad that they failed.

Fort Myers Middle Academy 1

Posted October 09, 2007
- a parent
The teachers in this school are very good. Mr. Nagata is an excellent art teacher and extremely talented artist. Mr. Forrest Walker is probably the best Math teacher I have ever encountered in that it is the first time my daughter has understood math concepts completely. But, I do not have good things to say about the administration. For one thing, they do not provide Parent Link like the other schools in the same county. They also do not handle bullying incidents seriously and as a result I have been forced to move my child to another school. I do not recommend this school and would encourage you to try to get your child into another school within the choices offered in this county.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fort Myers Middle Academy
3050 Central Avenue, Fort Myers, FL  33901
(239) 936-1759
Last modified Fort Myers Middle Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fort Myers Middle Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top