Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1134 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2009

Heights is the best public elementary school a parent could ask for. The teachers are top notch and led by a brilliant principal. They put kids first and make sure each and everyday is a positive learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Wonderful teachers & principal. My sons in kindergarden and has learned so much since the start of school and is very excited about school. I also love tha it;s an ib school which gives a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

They do so much for the kids with learning and they also try to find new ways to attack different obsticles. They are a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Love the newly built school!! Love that we are now an IB World School!! Love the teachers, staff and administration!! Most importantly, love the education my child is getting. All top notch!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Heights Elementary School has an amazing media/library! It is so nice to see so many book options for the kids. I hope it keeps growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Fantstic teachers! Fantastic students! Very loving environment. They do a great job keeping up technologically, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

We LOVE HEIGHTS. Last year we toured all the Public Schools in our district for our daughter and were blown away by the committment and friendlyness of the entire staff at Heights Elementary. Mrs. Julie Shannon Kindergarten teacher is FABULOUS!!! She is teaching her kids about gardening and taking responsibility. Before school opened we had a small issue, I emailed Mrs. Diane Salko our Principal and she handled it personally. She was extremely professional. I am very very glad we choose Heights. Proud Purple Panther Parent, Carol McCarley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Excellent! That is all you can say about the staff, the kids, the lovely new building! Teacher are the best there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I hope any of you looking at these reviews will only consider the latest ones. I couldn't be happier with the school. The staff are highly experienced, parent involvement is great and the school is very safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

what my son learn in this school within 2 months was more then he learn in k at colonial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

My children have been attending Heights Elementary for 2 years. I was shocked to read the reviews below, but they are rather outdated. The principal, Diane Salko, has really turned this school around. I have nothing but high praise for her and all of the teachers at Heights. There are many activities planned throughout the year both during school time and evenings for family involvement, and it's almost always standing room only & not an empty spot left in the parking lot, which goes to show the tremendous growth of parental involvement. I genuinely cannot think of anything negative to comment on regarding Heights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

This is my second year at Heights and I have been very satisfied with the school. More importantly, my child has been very happy and has grown so much, both academically and socially. The principal and her assistant, as well as every teacher I have come in contact with, are always friendly and available. In addition to academics, my child has enjoyed many 'fun' activities and is always eager to go to school. I am so glad I chose this school and must say that the negative comments I heard before going there are completely unfounded. And, now with a brand new school and potential IB Program it will even get better!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

i would like to say that this is the best school the my kid has been to she is doing great here and her teacher is great {Branson}
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2003

My son was harrassed and assaulted so many times last year that we ended up having to pull him out of school for his own safety. He did not recieve any education at all. This school has a habit of hiding school violence and they do not follow the Zero Tolerance policy. Thanks for letting this happen Heights Elementary. This school needs to be put on a watch list for school violence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2003

The lack of parents involement at this school is appalling! Hopefully our new principal will take the challenge to make this school we are all proud of, it has the potential!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

147 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 33%
Black 7%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 155%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 25%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%66%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. DIANE SALKO
Fax number
  • (239) 481-3154

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15200 Alexandria Court
Fort Myers, FL 33908
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 481-1761

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Canterbury School
Fort Myers, FL


Grace Community School
Cape Coral, FL


Cape Elementary School
Cape Coral, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT