Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Michael Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Myers

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $73,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2012

Saint Michaels is a terrible schools there is so much bullying by higher income students if you dont meet their standards.


Posted January 4, 2012

On a scale from 1 to 10, 10 being the highest, I would rate St. Michael Lutheran School a 10! Without a doubt they are amazing. This has become more than just a school for my kids, its like they are family now. The staff connects with them and I can see that they REALLY care about each child and their specific needs. The best decision we have made for our children is sending them to St. Michaels'. -A.B.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

At St. Michael Lutheran School I feel like family. I love the high quality education that my children are receiving and the constant communication with me. I as a worried parent want to make sure that my child is doing the best they possibly can, and with the communication between faculty,staff, and myself they update me and inform me on my child's progress. I am really thankful for this great Christian education. - S.N.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

St. Michael Lutheran has been my child's school for one year now, and we are very happy with our choice. There is great communication between the staff and our family on performance and progress, and they have great courses available. St. Michael Lutheran has a very family-like atmosphere which is great for both the children, and their families. - Julia N.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2011

My daughter is currentlyin the IB Program at Fort Myers High School. She is a junior and has consistently maintained a 4.3 GPA. We feel that her Saint Michael history has led her to such successes. The academics were challenging and rewarding. She excels in math and english and feels that the SMLS teachers were wonderful in teaching her important concepts and study skills in those areas. She is also active in volleyball and soccer, another love she developed while at SMLS. My son is currently enrolled at SMLS. He loves his friends, teachers and the athletic program (basketball, soccer and golf).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

St. Michael's School has been an amazing experience for our family. We switched schools from a previous private school and had our son repeat kindergarten here at St. Michael's. I can't say what a different experience we had here at St. Michael's and how our son really thrived this time around in kindergarten. The curriculum was a change and a good change for our son. It has been a great overall change for our family, because we also put our daughter at the same school. Our daughter was only 3 at the time and St. Michael's provides a pre-K 3 program which is just an added bonus for a stepping stone into kindergarten. Their teachers also are degreed teachers and it shows with how much my daughter learned this year. It is nice to be able to take both of my kids to the same school and know they are getting a great education and in awesome hands of Christian teachers! We love St. Michael's and look forward to our next 8-10 years with them. - Julia N.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

My child's first year at St. Michael has been wonderful. He has learned a lot of skills and has become a well-rounded student. His teacher keeps the parents well informed on the events taking place at the school. She is a very friendly, open-minded, christian who cares deeply about her students. I wish all teachers had the passion for teaching like she does. My son will truly miss her next year. St. Michael is a top notch school who offers children a variey of activities and curricular skills. - Tonya K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

St. Michael has been such an asset to my child in preparing him for high school and now college. Science and math are his favorite subjects and the teaching staff at SMLS really pushed him to even higher academic standards. He just graduated as valedictorian of his high school class and has a full ride scholarship to an Ivy league school in the fall. My daughter has also excelled at St. Michael academically and was a volleyball player too. The volleyball team at St Michael was a real insperation to motivate her in school and the coaches were second to none that we have ever had for our children. Our daughter maintains a 3.9 in high school and will be attending Penn next fall. Thank you St Michael for building a great foundation for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

Class size is comparable to/if not more than public schools. The Middle School science program is severely lacking. The teacher expects students to teach themselves the material. Teachers, in general, are spread far too thin. Organization is a huge issue, especially when it comes to homework. Homework is a tool that serves to cement and reinforce what is learned that day. Unfortunately, it accounts for most of the students grade. The weekly Bible verse memorization serves no value. The band/music program is the only area of strength the school possesses. For the amount of money invested, very little is gained in return. We will be moving our child out next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

Class size far exceeds that recommended for the price of the tuition. Curriculum lacks severely in the Sciences in the Middle School. The sciences should be taught daily and if you wish to teach religion daily just make sure you are supporting the core courses as well. Very disappointed in this aspect of the school. Teachers rating: Fair (a few teachers that are no longer effective-and should retire) Student:Teacher Ratio: Exceeds Public school Tuition: Far Too expensive for the Student/Teacher ratio. Parental support: Good. Rely on parental contributions Classroom size: Crowded and not adequate storage area for student belongings Facilities: Out-dated and not equipped for the number of children.


Posted August 12, 2008

Overall we were glad my son attended here . However class size was more than public school! Teachers were hit or miss and unless your child is exceptional not much attention given. ( no extra help offered) Sports teams were political on who made the teams. It was alot of money for not being thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

I loved all the teachers my daughter had. They provide a wonderful education. There were some things that concerned me, however. Last school year they had the 'top' A/R readers from each class receive a limo ride, even though everyone in her class reached their goal. There is a definate materialistic and competive (students and parents alike) climate there with very little diversity. That said, as far as the teachers and school size, it is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

All three of our children attended SMLS and they have all benefited. The teachers sincerely care about the welfare of all the kids and strive to provide a positive educational environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

We have been very happy with the quality of education our daughter has received. She will enter first grade in one week and has been at St. Michael since PK3. That being the case, we know the faculty, fellow students and the general environment. We are Christian, although not Lutheran, and are so pleased that the Christian values we want to teach her are also reinforced at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

Academics slightly lacking. Religion the true influence. If you want a great education spend a little more for a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

The quality of academic progams is extremley high and the best I have seen in this area. There are many electives to choose from.. Physcial Ed,Art,Band, Choir,Computers,Etc. This school makes you as a parent feel 100% invloved, It is one big family looking out for one another. My daughter (BY CHOICE) switched from Trafalgar Middle School (public) to SMLS>. and is completley enthralled.. she has friends now that she will have for the rest of her life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

As parents for the past four years, we selected SML becuase of its Blue Ribbon status, Christian curriculum and longstanding reputation. We see teaching with timeless love and endless devotion for students needs for today and tomorrow...new facilities being added constantly, new teaching resources and new technology are always on the forefront. Great music and sports as well. A full program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 42%
Black 4% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3595 Broadway
Fort Myers, FL 33901
Phone: (239) 939-1218

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pivot Charter School
Fort Myers, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT