Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gateway Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 745 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Heard only good things about this school from teachers and students. My daughter starts this year and she is looking forward to meeting new friends and taking sign language as her foreign language. She has been a Sixmile Charter Academy student for 8 years and has enjoyed each one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

This school is lucky I'm giving it a star. The school is absolutely absurd! Teaching- average. Everything else? Absolutely unsatisfactory. Where's the school spirit? The nice staff that smile instead of threatening you? Our current assistant principal for 2013 will threaten you for the smallest things, like hugging your friend, along with the rest of the disciplinary staff. I thought high school would be amazing. Not a complete disaster. (This school has probably fueled all the hatred I have just developed for people in general.)


Posted May 18, 2013

WOW! Do not send your child to this school. Students are misbehaving until teachers will get fired! My daughter had 4 Spanish Teachers and 3 Math teachers in one year! The last one to stay has not even been a teacher but just a long- term substitute teacher. Bullying is a huge issue and no one cares. My child had to talk to 3 different teachers until someone talked at least to the other student. Administration prefers not to report any violence, drugs or bullying issues and rather get rid of teachers who try to do the right thing. My daughter attends a regular HS now and noticed how much she missed out on general knowledge at Gateway. They just practice for the FCAT and state testing. Real learning does not take place! A School, yes with a lot of sacrifice for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

My daughter went to this school and I found this school to be great! She graduated with honors and is now a second year pre-med student and on the dean's list at her university. You as a parent can not just send your kids to school and leave it all to the teacher. You as a parent has to play your part from day one of your child lives and You the student have to take responsibility for your learning. It's up to you to want to learn! At the beginning of each school year I would email each of my daughters teachers with my phone number letting them know to feel free to contact me. As the school year goes on I would send another email asking if my daughter was being respectful to her teachers and other students. I attended every parent teacher conference and returned every teacher phone calls and emails. I let my daughter know that she don't have to like her teachers but she Must show Respect to her teachers. And yes you are my child but that does not means that I will just take your word over your teacher. Parents get involve and Students take responsibility if not then don't come on here bashing the school and the teachers because YOU failed to do what was needed to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

Gateway Charter High School is in no way a real high school. Considering the building is an old business building, it doesn't actually look like a real school. The hallways are narrow and short in height. The walls are so insanely thin, you can hear a cough from two classrooms over. The lighting and lack of windows makes it seem gloomy, dark, depressing, and prison-like. Unlike other schools, 0% of our daily lunch is made by real people. It's disgusting and disturbing, and the price and length of lines are absurd. Besides that, the education is great. If you dont mind listening to teachers complain and getting insulted by your teachers daily. None of the teachers are actually qualified to teach the subject they're teaching. We've got some great curriculum this year though. I'm enrolled in a Law class, my favorite. Our football team hasn't won since 2009, probably due to our lack of a field. Our campus is ridiculously small, plus we're cramped in with 6th, 7th, and 8th graders too. If you're looking for a high school you can brag about, don't come. If you want to make lifelong friends and have amazing experiences, come on in! You won't learn, but you'll have a good time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2011

Better then people say it is, i'm proud to be a student of GCHS. Don't let ungreatful students give an opinion on our school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2011

Rung like a business not a school. Most teachers are not certified and are inferior to their public school counter-parts... Save your children a lot of trouble in the future educational endeavors and send them to public school...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 29, 2011

don't EVER consider putting your child into this school. Horrible teaching staff, the teachers play favorites by giving students who dont do their work A's, and students who actually do their work a lower grade. If you need bus transportation, Gateway is the wrong decision, they cancelled half of the buses. New principle took away most of the fun activities. The sports teams (such as football and basketball) dont win ANY games, the football team went the whole season without winning or scoring points at all. Mostly everyone i know is leaving or has already left due to the poor teaching/ feeling of a real high school. The uniforms cost way to much. the school lies constantly, and in bullying situations, they say the will help but NEVER DO! Most of the juniors have left even though they have been there for years because the school has gotten that bad to the point where no one can handle it anymore. Ii is small, cramped, and gloomy. WORST choice of school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2010

This school, like most in SW Florida, has its problems. The parent corporation is a huge problem, as they are mostly concerned with money (as any self-respecting "for profit" corporation should be). In this case, the money received from the state doesn't filter down to the teachers (who are paid about $10K less per year than teachers working for Lee County), and it definitely doesn't filter down to the students. Classrooms lack technology, students don't have textbooks to take home, and the school is seriously overcrowded (with core class sizes of 28+). Now, if you're considering GCHS as an alternative to a Lehigh Acres or Fort Myers high school, this could be a step up. Keep in mind, however, that parents have to do their part when it comes to children's educations.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2010

Outstanding school and quality of education. Staff is very dedicated. School is modern, comfortable and well equipped. Son graduated from charter this year and was amazed by the numbers of honor students and students receiving full scholarships. Probably 60% of the entire graduating class of some 150 students, impressive. I would rate the entire Charter school system at or above most expensive private institutions and would most highly recommend without reservation to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Gateway's alright. I just moved here a month ago, and it could do better. The lockers for high school students are only half lockers making it a pain when you have someone above or below you trying to squeeze in, which is ridiculous considering the 8th graders get full lockers on the third floor. The lunches are 3 bucks for a meal that starving folks in Africa would pass on(Bring your own since some kids don't even get to eat with the long lines), and the focus is more on discipline than anything else. But hey, I'm here for an education and only have two years of high school left anyway, and even though the workload is absurd, I still manage to do well. If you want a good education then GCHS is your place; quality looking high school...not so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2009

this school is a joke. i totally disagree with sending your child there its un organized and every teacher there is pretty much inconsiderate. i would never recommend sending your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2009

this school is very pourly orginized and has much expectations and teachers can be strict but some are nice and help you alot .
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2009

My daughter loves GCHS! She knows about the regular public schools and the behavior issues. While some of the teachers need to understand and appreciate their students, all are not that way. Maybe the complainers need to watch video of other students' (and maybe their own) behavior and then decide what's what. My daughter will return to GCHS and is looking forward to the new year. If you don't like it, leave...find somewhere that will make you happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

A joke of a school. I absolutely would not recommend sending your child here. The teachers seem to hate their jobs and complain to the kids continually. The people running the school don't seem to know what they're doing. All around bad experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

This school is a complete joke. As a student there currently, I am so dissapointed. The teachers are absolutely horrible. But, some, on the other hand care about there students. But for the most part they do not. I strongly do not reccommend you have your child enroll in this school. Once again this school is a complete joke!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2007

I'm a student at gchs and although the is an 'A' school bases on FCAT scores, this is just an average school. To me they focus a little to much on maintaining the 'A' grade and not enough on actual programs. Gateway doesn't offer a large variety of programs, but just enough so you can graduate ny state standards. And also the 3rd floor is occupied by the middle school beacuse there is not enough space for them at the elementry school next door, which gives the high school students only 2 floor to work with. I think this school could do way better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2007

GCHS, This school is a complete joke. As for discipline it could be improved by far. The teachers are mixed some good and ohers not so good but they have too many policies to enforce rather than to teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

167 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 42%
Hispanic 35% 29%
Black 19% 23%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 87%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 94%66%61%
Master's degree 6%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12770 Gateway Blvd
Fort Myers, FL 33913
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 768-3350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lehigh Senior High School
Lehigh Acres, FL






Pace School for Girls
Fort Myers, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT