Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Fort Myers High School

Public | 9-12 | 1826 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

I think it is a very good school, they keep the student busy in all areas. Teacher have very good values, and they are very good example to the student. I had kids there, my older one just graduated and the other one is in 10 Grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

I am suppose to go to this school. My mother thinks its the best chose. I want to become a Dentist in the future and South Fort Myers High will let that happen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2010

My daughter graduated from, and my son is attending SFMHS. It is always a joy to deal with the administration and staff. Both my kids receive(d) great opportunities and experience at the school. I hate to think what they would have missed had they attended another school. The guidance counselors actually know who my kids are! It is a school with the widest educational opportunities available, and dedicated to the success of each student.The brand-new facilities add to the experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This school is great! Compared to the ones I came from in South Carolina, this school is the best. The Academy programs are great. Looking forward to graduating from here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

Its like real life every thing is hands on it prepares us for the real world
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2008

My son is in 11th grade and has been in the school since 9th grade. He is doing great. The teachers are great, great communication, which is so important at this age. The Academy programs are great, giving the kids a great head start at life. I could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

From bounching around from high schools in Lee County, I feel that South Fort Myers is actually one of the best I've been to. The academies are a great way to get students started on the right off and are extremely beneficial for everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2007

I love it and it has a very well developed music department and I think my son is better off here than at any other school in our district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

I really believe the staff at South Fort Myers do care about the students and how their education is developing. Kudos to all of you keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Great school ! The teachers are very informative and communicate with parents effectively.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

478 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

393 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

391 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

412 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

436 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
52%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 39%
Hispanic 37%
Black 20%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 169%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 81%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%66%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MELISSA LAYNER
Fax number
  • (239) 561-3612

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14020 Plantation Road
Fort Myers, FL 33912
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 561-0060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Canterbury School
Fort Myers, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT