Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Park Academy

Public | 6-12 | 1821 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2013

I got to LPA and I'm a freshman. I've gone there since 6th grade and my brother is graduating this year and has also been there since 6th grade so I've been around the school for a while. Sure, LPA is an A school, but the teachers suck, administration couldn't care less about the students, and if you aren't in IB, then you will get "labeled" by the IB kids. I used to be in IB but the teachers assigned pointless assignments and if you didn't understand something in class they would look at you like you're stupid and continue on with the lesson. I've been begging my parents to take me out of LPA for over a year. Plus everyone there has been together since middle school so if you're new, then you are kinda cast out from everyone. I would never recommend LPA to anyone unless you want to be in the IB program,but that isn't all that great. The teachers try to make LPA and IB seem like the best possible thing in the world and if you go anywhere else, then you won't do well in life. I've had a teacher say that to me! LPA is just another High School. It isn't anything special and I would not recommend going there.


Posted April 24, 2013

My son is in 7th grade and I would consider him a average student. He is doing very well at LPA. Honestly, if he was going to any other school in St. Lucie County he would of fallen thru the cracks. The teachers he has and have had in the past help him with any issues he has. Tom Peters, his guidance counselor goes above and beyond. When you register your child for this school you should know what you are getting into - Expect your child to work hard, follow the rules and all these people complaining about the dress code, seriously the dress code is not that difficult. The dress code is much easier than my other kids school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

Very happy to be a parent of a LPA 6th grader! I am very pleased with the content of each subject and the quality of work that is expected. My son has certain expectations from this school and so far they are being met. After reading some comments regarding LPA, I was very surprised at the attitude from some parents. My child, as well as myself, was made fully aware of what is expected when you CHOOSE to attend LPA. LPA is not for everyone, that is why there are different middle and high schools. Education is very important to my child and his future. He wants to excell is his studies, while enjoying his middle and high school years.. Thank you LPA for caring, educating, and providing a good learning enviroment. Parent involvement equals parent knowledge about the school and their child's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

Now I fully understand why there is a long waiting list for this school. The teachers are fully qualified. Kids go to this school knowing that they will graduate and go on to greater future. My child says he never has any problems at LPA. Isn't a school suppose to be a place you go and LEARN at? The principal is also in and out of classrooms sometimes to make sure teachers are doing there proper procedures. Great job...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

As a parent I wanted the best for my child. You would think that sending them off to an "A" school would be the best thing for them. My child has asked me to switch multiple times. I had trouble getting to the bottom of why he she hated it so much there. Then I did a little research. If you read all of the other comments talking about how good the school is, odds are there in the IB program that program is great but don't expect anything special if your not in it. IB kids Excel so well because they get chances to go to different schools, colleges and go on different trips that actually engage students in academics. That's good and all but my child has been here all of middle school and two years of high school. She is in the tenth grade and goes through the same schedule everyday, not only do I think its not right, It's completely unfair if LPA does not care about there children in that sense what makes you think there going to give extra attention to the normal kids. After switching my child loves it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2011

I am in the 8th grade and this is the worst school I've ever attended. This school is absolutly horrible. The teachers don't try to help you at all. They care more about dress code than actually teaching you academics. All the school care about is IB. If your not an IB student than dont expect anything special.


Posted October 14, 2010

Very good school. There is no doubt that the teachers here care about your education. I don't know why people in the past comments complain about dress doce, the teachers and staff here seem very leniant about it. I am in 9th grade and is enrolled in the Pre-IB program and I am throughly satisfied. Being split up into other classes has really helped me meet more kids and helps me become less shy. The work is tough but because of the two days difference it is all worked out especially on weekends. All of the teachers have manners and never talk with disrespect and the academics are good. However I'm not sure about the principle. I never see him. I'm pretty sure he is always busy thinking up good stuff because there are always great things coming up on the announcements which always take effect. Great school!


Posted September 22, 2010

Lincoln Park Academy is a true gem in the St. Lucie School District. The academics are challenging particularly in the MYP, Pre-IB and the IB program. The band program is awesome especially in the high school. I can't imagine my kids attending any other high school in the area, except for lack of a football team, this school is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

My daughter goes to this school and she is friends with all the IB kids. She hates how they split them up... IB on top floor non IB on lower floor. She thinks thats all the school cares about is IB.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

great school. Teacher is very good in IB program. They work very hard. But the campus is old. It need to be motified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

School is above average some teachers will continue to teach and not explain in detail if a student doesn't understand . Put pressure on you if your student missed a day !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

i love this school. my very intelligent daughter goes and she has learned so much. i do believe that this school has the finest staff this country has to offer. 10! 10!10!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

My youngest child will graduate from LPA next year. My older children were extremely well prepared for college as a result of the education they received at LPA. Almost all of the students that I know who transferred to another high school in the district were sorry that they did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

LPA is an excellent school for students interested in furthering their education. My daughter is an IB student graduating this year. The teachers encourage students to think for themselves and strive to be the best they can be. Yes, the school is strick. Learning to follow strick rules now helps in the real world of tough competition in the work force. LPA cares very much about academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

I am a recent graduate of LPA and I have had the experience of attending this honorable school since 6th grade. I Honestly will attest that the school has changed a bit since 2001( when I was enrolled) but the heart and mission is still prevelant. We have been ranked as 21st in America's Top 100 schools and has been a grade 'A' school for about 10 consecutive years! The school has merrit on an international level and is often considered among America's elite. I am currently a sophomore at a HBCU and I came to here with a lot more background than others. LPA is indeed a college prepretory institution.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2009

Lincoln Park Academy is a wonderful school is commited to making the school a place a student can feel confortable. The students are all very respectful and thoughtful. I have found on the whole the student body is more self insured in their knowledge and importance to society.


Posted March 18, 2009

Great school? Pssh. I'm in 6th Grade right now and the preforming electives are okay (I do Orchestra), but when it comes to the academics, that's pretty okay, but the teachers are so mean! D: I'm an A student and totally hate it here. But hey- Orchestra and my 5th Period are the only classes I like to attend. YOU ROCK MRS. BENNETT! -ahem- Anyways, all the staff cares about is dress code and wether you have your ID badge or not. And now you can get a refferal JUST for violating the dress code! 'Here's a refferal for just having your shirt untucked!' THAT'S WACK.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

The school is a good school, grade wise, but they never give the children a reward for their hard work. They always cancel special events and never give them a break. The staff is horrible and they never listen to what the students have to say
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2009

I am an 8th grader at LPA and honestly its not all great. Its just like anyother school just alot older than most. The education is alright but seriously dresscode is such a big deal here.And they really need to rebuild the middle school side it looks horrible. I mean its older than my mom!And dont even ask about school spirt. I'm soooo glad I'm leavin for highschool! Lucky Me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2009

I'm a 7th grader at LPA and I love it. I have all my friends there. I get a great education there it is everything I want in a school plus it's an A school. I love it
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

280 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

280 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

255 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

255 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

256 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

279 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

277 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

271 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

256 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
58%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Black 24%
Hispanic 16%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 95%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%65%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAMELA DAMPIER
Fax number
  • (772) 468-5485

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • College/career center
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1806 Ave I
Fort Pierce, FL 34950
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 468-5474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Delaware Avenue School
Fort Pierce, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT