Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Pierce Westwood High School

Public | 9-12 | 1385 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2013

I am a previous graduate and a current parent. The administration is so far out of touch with what's happening its sad to watch. The high school traditions are no longer at this school. There is no longer a homecoming carnival at main campus, but it is allowed at MOA. My children are AP and Honors students. I have found teachers that blatantly tell the students, I get paid if you learn it or not, and Tallahassee only cares if you pass the FCAT. When you have teachers who can't teach the material, we seriously need to stand up for our children. The injustices that ate being done ate unbelievable!! Just for showing up tardy, a lunch detention is given. No call to the parent even when it is known they are not the ones driving. But yet while they are sitting in class they are marked absent! Get a clue this school sucks!!!!! There are some great teachers and great programs, but the school board needs to take a closer look at what is happening at this school! When you have a teacher 6 weeks into the 9 weeks send home a progress report with a 0%, average for the 9 weeks with no call from the teacher in all that time?? Really. The excuse, I was keeping it between me and the student!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

i switched to to this school from treasure coast high school and this school is disgusting.i have been harassed by male students numerous times in the last month of me being there. everybody there is unfriendly unhelpful and rude.. im spending my senior year here by force if i could i would much rather drop out and attend irsc. the teachers are no help at all the students are up to no good at all. "some who think they are gangster" and terrorize people like me who are just there to get my diploma and leave.if you are think of send you child here, please do not send them as it will be a mistake.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2012

As a former student, I know the school very well. I hated going to Westwood, even though I played tennis and had straight A's, the level of education was very low. It forced me to skip senior year and go straight to IRSC, which I am very thankful for. I wish the other students had more class and self respect, as well as respect for the teachers (most of them were very good by the way). I did not care about the sports program at all, so I have nothing to say about that except that maybe the school & students should focus on studies first! I wish classes were more challenging and went to higher levels, I do not blame myself for switching out of Engineering and into Marketing, I blame Westwood for the poor education! After years of college I'm graduating with my bachelors this year, on time, thank God!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2011

I am an Advanced Placement and Gifted honors Social Studies 10th grade instructor new to FPWestwood and I am truly encouraged by the positive attitude of the students and teachers here. My students are bright and intelligent .Although many of them have not been exposed to any other part of the country. They have an appreciation of all cultures and the new administration is excellent. The administration ecourages new ideas and supports all new positives ideas by the students and staff. The school is increasing their advanced placement department in all subjects and more students are signing up. We have two academic teams, the Euro challenge, and compete in the History Fair,The National honor Society and Beta clubs are growing as well. If we continue on this positive track , then I have no doubt FPWestwood will soon be ranked a "A or B" school. More parents are volunteering as well. Our ROTC dept. is visiting the Wash, DC Pentagon this spring as well. Bravo Westwood, Good Job!!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2010

Ft. Pierce Westwood high school is not a 'excellent' school to attend, however the MOA (Marine Oceanographic Academy) is an great program. It has an intense curriculum, but its worth it because students learn how to think on a more advance level. As far as the main campus (westwood), I can't say the same, but MOA is an awesome place for future marine biologist or any student that desires a higher education. Actually, I have no main interest in marine majors, but as I go through the program I realize that MOA not only prepares you for college, but it exposes you to many career opportunities for any major! Overall, Westwood isn't a 'Great' school, however they offer great programs for student (look on their website for other programs) like MOA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2010

Westwood use to be a good school. Now, it is one of the worst school's, if not the worst school in St. Lucie County. They do not have control of their classroom's. The teacher's are scared of the students.The teacher's let the students talk, sleep, and they even curse the teacher's and students out. The only thing they might say is watch your mouth. They don't write them up or discipline them. The student's are so rude and out of control with the exception of some well mannered students that want to learn, but can't learn because the teacher refuses to teach because the students won't shut up. The principal's use to care, but not anymore. How can the principal do anything about it, if it is not being reported. The only thing the school is good for, is athletics. If you're an athlete, you are nobody at Westwood.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2007

Westwood is a small school with a real hands-on approach by the teachers. Because of the size of the school, teachers really get to know their students and enjoy the time their share together.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2006

It is a good shool and the teachers are great
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2006

its boring..but sometimes fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2005

As a fisrt year parent at Ft. Pierce Westwood, we are very pleased with the experiance. This school is a 'hiden diamond' in St. Lucie County. Strong in accademics and athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This school could have administrators more familiar with children on a whole.


Posted September 9, 2003

I am very happy with the school and it's acheivements that it has for my child. I want to say thanks for everything you do for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

As grandparents raising their granddaughter, we are always questioning the FCAT testing. Our concern is the Math that is being taught compared to General Math. We feel some students, not all, need to have algebra and advanced. Our child needs General Math! In the area we live, most children are not at the above range scholastically. Fort Pierce Westwood is trying but their hands are tied because of the Government. Jeb Bush is trying to have the schools compete for his A+ schools. It is sad that schools now have to compete for performance


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

334 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
26%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 23%
White 35% 42%
Hispanic 15% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 67%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%65%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mallissa Ponders-hamilton
Fax number
  • (772) 468-5465

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 Panther Ln
Fort Pierce, FL 34947
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 468-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

John Carroll High School
Fort Pierce, FL



Delaware Avenue School
Fort Pierce, FL


Lincoln Park Academy
Fort Pierce, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT