Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakewood Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 683 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2013

My son is in the Pre-K program this year, 2013, and he enjoys it. We moved to this area because this school was an A+ school a few years ago. I have no idea if it still is. The principal is great, staff is very friendly, my sons teachers are very sweet, and soft spoken. So soft spoken that I often wonder how they can control a room full of 4 and 5 year olds without yelling, but they do. After what happened at the school in Newtown, Connecticut, this school is more protected with the local sheriffs always very close by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

We just started at Lakewood Park, and so far so good. The kids like their teachers, so far, and are doing well academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2011

First words out of my kids' mouths when picked up on the first day "This school is a prison! They yell at you, threaten you." The school does look like a mini-prison and I believe in positive appearances for young children; a learning environment should look like fun and be inviting...not scary. As far as the teachers go, they do not really communicate with you on your child's progress or weaknesses until report card which is much too late. The classrooms are uninviting and dull. Something you would see in a 3rd world country at best. I will add that there are a few cream-of-the crop and you would be blessed to get one of these. I would not recommend sending your child here if you can avoid it. It is now a Title I school but they do not do well to adhere to the rules of communication with parents. They are back in time...I do not get emails on functions, staff does not smile at you, as a matter-of-fact, the receptionist lady behind the desk always has a sour face on. Not staying there another year...sorry my kids had to be there but I'll be one of those parents who are in line 5am to sign my kids out to another school...fast! Otherwise I'm removing them from the Education system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

My child has been in Lakewood Park Elementary for 5 years. I don't like the school for several reasons: 1) The report card sometimes has passing grades, but also says, 'below grade level', 2) They are haphazard in giving honor roll. My child was given honor roll and later we was told it was a mistake, 3) They practice social promotion over the wishes of the parent. 4) They will not answer all of the parents questions and 5) Sometimes they will not give you your child's records. I do not recommend the school. I will note there are some very good people working there, but I still cannot recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

my son has been going to lakewood park elementary school since kindergarden (he is now in 2nd grade). It is a great school! The teaching staff is exceptional....... he has had the best, most inventive teachers. For kindergarden he had Ms. Allen, For 1st grade Ms. Dayton, now for 2nd he has Ms. Cunningham. All great! The Office staff are wonderful too...... the school nurse, the cafeteria staff, very friendly! All around A++ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

I have an 11 year old son who attends Lakewood Park Elementary School. He has been going there since grade 1 and is now in 5th grade. I find this school to be a highly informative school when it comes to informing parents of all the events/happenings. Academically, it's also a pretty good school, however for some reason they don't teach the kids how to write in cursive writing! My son knows how to write cursive because I tought him. All in all though, it is a very good school and frankly I wish it was also a middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 42%
Black 34% 23%
Hispanic 20% 29%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%65%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Dianne Young
Fax number
  • (772) 468-5833

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7800 Indrio Rd
Fort Pierce, FL 34951
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 468-5830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT