Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

697 students|St. Lucie
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakewood Park Elementary School 1

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
I just got off the phone with this school and I am horrified.I found out that there is no open door policy, meaning I need to make an appointment with a teacher in order to visit my child's classroom.I don't know but that is extremely fishy to me and I'd rather be able to walk in a class room to know whats going on at that time then to have things setup (meaning the element of surprise, I'd see the real going ons than what is setup) Use cation here!!

Lakewood Park Elementary School 4

Posted February 09, 2014
- a community member
I am a former sudent that went there since pre-k. Awesome school! doesnt really have programs... but you know, it has the basics. I loved the teachers there! they were so conserned about every student in the class. -nikki


Lakewood Park Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
My son is in the Pre-K program this year, 2013, and he enjoys it. We moved to this area because this school was an A+ school a few years ago. I have no idea if it still is. The principal is great, staff is very friendly, my sons teachers are very sweet, and soft spoken. So soft spoken that I often wonder how they can control a room full of 4 and 5 year olds without yelling, but they do. After what happened at the school in Newtown, Connecticut, this school is more protected with the local sheriffs always very close by.

Lakewood Park Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
We just started at Lakewood Park, and so far so good. The kids like their teachers, so far, and are doing well academically.

Lakewood Park Elementary School 2

Posted December 22, 2011
- a parent
First words out of my kids' mouths when picked up on the first day "This school is a prison! They yell at you, threaten you." The school does look like a mini-prison and I believe in positive appearances for young children; a learning environment should look like fun and be inviting...not scary. As far as the teachers go, they do not really communicate with you on your child's progress or weaknesses until report card which is much too late. The classrooms are uninviting and dull. Something you would see in a 3rd world country at best. I will add that there are a few cream-of-the crop and you would be blessed to get one of these. I would not recommend sending your child here if you can avoid it. It is now a Title I school but they do not do well to adhere to the rules of communication with parents. They are back in time...I do not get emails on functions, staff does not smile at you, as a matter-of-fact, the receptionist lady behind the desk always has a sour face on. Not staying there another year...sorry my kids had to be there but I'll be one of those parents who are in line 5am to sign my kids out to another school...fast! Otherwise I'm removing them from the Education system.


Lakewood Park Elementary School 2

Posted February 13, 2010
- a parent
My child has been in Lakewood Park Elementary for 5 years. I don't like the school for several reasons: 1) The report card sometimes has passing grades, but also says, 'below grade level', 2) They are haphazard in giving honor roll. My child was given honor roll and later we was told it was a mistake, 3) They practice social promotion over the wishes of the parent. 4) They will not answer all of the parents questions and 5) Sometimes they will not give you your child's records. I do not recommend the school. I will note there are some very good people working there, but I still cannot recommend the school.

Lakewood Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2009
- a parent
my son has been going to lakewood park elementary school since kindergarden (he is now in 2nd grade). It is a great school! The teaching staff is exceptional....... he has had the best, most inventive teachers. For kindergarden he had Ms. Allen, For 1st grade Ms. Dayton, now for 2nd he has Ms. Cunningham. All great! The Office staff are wonderful too...... the school nurse, the cafeteria staff, very friendly! All around A++ school.

Lakewood Park Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2008
- a parent
I have an 11 year old son who attends Lakewood Park Elementary School. He has been going there since grade 1 and is now in 5th grade. I find this school to be a highly informative school when it comes to informing parents of all the events/happenings. Academically, it's also a pretty good school, however for some reason they don't teach the kids how to write in cursive writing! My son knows how to write cursive because I tought him. All in all though, it is a very good school and frankly I wish it was also a middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakewood Park Elementary School
7800 Indrio Road, Fort Pierce, FL  34951
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (772) 468-5830
Last modified Lakewood Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top