Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Pierce Magnet School Of The Arts

Public | K-8 | 476 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2011

I am a parent of a child who has attended the school for 4 years and will eventually graduate from this school. My child believes in the Arts incorporation with in the academics and takes his grades very seriously. He is proud when he receives the rewards for honor roll and monthly character traits. He has had opportunities to attend many theater events, artist come to the school every year and the teachers are always going out of their way to be there for every child. This is a community school and I have gotten to know many parents over the years. When I attend a ceremony I am surrounded my people that care for the success of their child as well as the success of the school. The principals very supportive and will talk with you and your family as needed. The counselor is amazing and has helped me and my family overcome out own trials and tribulations. Thank you Arts Magnet. you are my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Every student and their family is part of the FPMSA family. The students and staff look after each other and keep all the students on track. I have had the pleasure of working in this school for several years and wish to continue. The students are engaged in the arts in the regular class as well as in their "Arts" classes. The staff is amazing and very support of weather you are a teacher or a parent. As a teacher I know every student on campus, it is easy when you have either had them or they have been in the class next to you. The families can always ask for help no matter the situation. We are community that raises children to be enriched leaders and professionals.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 20, 2009

My daughter started at FPMSA in Kindergarten last year. She loves it there, and is thriving! The school has small ratios, caring staff, and a family environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2008

this is definately an A+ school I have 1 child that are ready went to this school and I'm trying to get my other child into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My daughter started FPMSA last year after a few weeks into K. She loves it. I think the staff is great! Everyone is so friendly and they really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

This school is the greatest and closest school. The teachers care for you they treat you like you're their own.This schol also got 82% on the NRT in 2008.The school also has alot of activities and the shows are to die for.I attended this school from 2002-2008 and those were some of the best years.When I leave this school and go to Treasure Coast High I'm going to miss it terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2008

I am a fellow student at this school. I started at this school in 3rd grade and now a fellow 6th grader. And I have not had the best time at this school. Though I have never got into any serious troble, and made Principal's HonorRoll or A honnor roll, the teachers are not very help full. In middle school some teachers are just plain lazy. Some will give you work and not even teach you how to do it. They will go to their computer and check their e-mails! Except for Mrs.Hammock. She has to be one of the greatest Teachers there! (not to brag but in her reading class I made a straight 95% all through the year.) And I have the highest math grade in 6th grade with a 101.2! She only had 4 failing students out of 6th and 7th grade!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2007

This shool is one of the best schools i have been to, and i have been to a lot of schools. They teach you academics and the arts and then because of the small size of the school, you learn many life skills that will value in the future. We have some of the best teachers that are alays willing to help regardless of academic position. I love FPMSA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2004

I went to this school in 8th grade. I waited 3 years to get in and it was worth it! This school integrates the arts with academics and they also do a lot of hands on work with us ( the students ). The teachers are kind and helpful and their classes are really fun! ( Not to brag but I was the first person to ever ace Mr. Maller's Science Class, and I did it twice!).Though I didn't really like the principal the school it self is beautiful and very much improved from when in was St. Lucie Elementary ( I went there too ). Well to sum it all up the school is amazing and there is always somthing for every one! The arts classes are as follows - Drama, Dance ( Jazz and ballet style ), Art ( ceramics, painting, the works), Chorus and, Band. * Bye! *
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
17%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 55%
Hispanic 20%
White 20%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%65%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. JACQUELINE LYNCH
Fax number
  • (772) 467-4277

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Delaware Avenue
Fort Pierce, FL 34950
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 467-4278

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT