Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Andrew's Episcopal Academy

Private | PK-12 | 245 students

We are best known for our small class sizes and engaging teaching methodogy.
 
 

 

Living in Fort Pierce

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $46,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I am a new Upper School parent at St. Andrew's this year. My child enjoys going to school for the 1st time in his life. The students and teachers have been so kind and respectful. The class sizes are wonderful (between 12-18 students in each) so my child is no longer just a number like he was in the pubic school system. There is no other school (public or private) in St. Lucie County as great as this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

As a grandparent with two grandchildren in this school for 6 years I will agree that there has been turmoil and constant changing of head of school. However, we are very heartened by the new direction taken by the current Head of School. Mrs. Angelone has to date lived up to every expectation we have and more importantly the Teachers at St. Andrews were and continue to be amazing in their dedication to the students not just to their education but also to their feeling of selfworth and belonging. We had almost made the decision to leave the school after the last change in Head of School but are so glad that we waited. Good things are happening at St. Andrews and we are happy our Grandchildren can be a part of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2014

This school has been in turmoil for years! Anyone considering it needs to look beyond the surface to learn what is really going on here, and what you are getting for your money. There is no way this school deserves 4 stars. Parents & staff are encouraged to write in to give multiple stars so their rating goes up. They may be trying to develop program around the lagoon issues but the curriculum is weak. It is just a small public school except that religion is pushed on everyone, and not just christian values. Math scores are low and reading is barely above average, and only in 1-2 categories. Nobody talks about it to save their jobs and parents are afraid their options will be limited. Many classes have too few students. Some okay teachers but most are new since many left in droves. I couldn't wait to get out. The school is buying students with full scholarships to fill their new Upper School - too many IEP's! A new building is just that - a building. Think carefully before signing on and don't believe everything they tell you. The issues are not going away anytime soon.


Posted July 22, 2014

My child is entering 10th grade next year at St. Andrew's. We recently met with the guidance counselor to sign up for classes and I am so excited! My child is going to have an opportunity to work closely with Smithsonian scientists, take sailing lessons, play sports, and get a top-notch college prep education. I would highly recommend that you check out this school if you haven't already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2014

I am a teacher at St. Andrew's and the comments below are not at all true. Our new Head of School, Trina Angelone, is amazing! Our school is in a the most stable state that it has been in our 45-year history. Enrollment is higher than it ever has been before. We are by no means a virtual school. We have iPads and MacBooks that we use to teach the children about technology. The teachers at St. Andrew's are engaging and the children learn through hands-on learning. I would recommend that you to go visit the school so you can see just how wonderful it is.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 13, 2014

Why pay for tuition at this private school which is like a public virtual school, when a student can do this at home for free. This once promising school has sold out to a public/virtual education going forward. Ask what your paying for in extra's such as tutoring, sports and any additional classes and how many hours your child will have instruction from a teacher not a computer. Horrible year at this school, would not recommend. Four Headmasters this year. . New Headmaster has a principal/vested interest in the Virtual program they are using going forward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2014

The headmasters' at this school change yearly...like a revolving door...very unstable and inconsistent. Be very careful as to the quality of education your child will receive at this institution.


Posted June 7, 2014

It's a shame this school has changed from a very promising Christian independent school with caring teachers and staff into what appears to be a public virtual school. I suggest that you get a definitive answer from the administration on how many hours a week you student will be receiving instruction from a teacher and how many hours they spend sitting in front of a computer listing to videos. What a shame :(


Posted June 4, 2014

St. Andrew's is a wonderful school! The teachers and new Head of School are amazing! I encourage you to visit the school to learn more about all of the exciting things that are taking place in 2014-2015.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

Ask many questions before enrolling your child! Is this a public school under the guise of a private school? Do numbers mean more than quality? Is this a secondary outlet for the virtual school owned by the Head o School?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

SAA, is falling into mediocrity education. I had my daughter there for 4 years waiting for them to give what they promise at the beginning "Exclusive Education", which never happen. Today the school again is facing a new Head Master. The Teachers are not quite qualify to teach, and they and the staff give donor parents more attention. Its a unfair school. :'(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

We agree! St. Andrew s is an amazing school! Our son is now in his sixth year there and has loved every minute of it. From a parent s perspective, the teachers at St. Andrew s clearly invest a tremendous amount of time and energy providing an environment in which the children are not only comfortable, but willing to strive to reach their fullest potential. Their days are appropriately divided with a healthy balance of academics along with a variety of enrichments Spanish, Art, Christian Education, Music, Strings, Technology and Physical Education. St. Andrew s is successfully combining a 21st Century curriculum supported by the latest technology (all the children have access to an iPad and each room is equipped with a Smart Board) all while continuing to value what is important in a traditional education. From our child s perspective, all he knows is that St. Andrew s is the place he has been happy to get up and go to, day after day, for over five years because every day there is a good day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

What has remained constant in the past 3 years since our grandchildren enrolled in St. Andrew's, is the remarkable dedication of teachers and staff, to create a safe, enriching experience for each student. The teachers have taken differential learning to a new level blending technology, hands on lessons, group discussions, debate, and individualized instruction. It is a joy to know our grandchildren are with teachers who enjoy their work, and care enough about each student to continually challenge them and raise the bar of expectations. Whether it is the music teacher, the Spanish teacher, the art teacher, or their respective classroom teachers, our grandchildren report to us they feel loved and respected by their teachers. In turn, they have the highest praise for teachers and staff, and feel empowered to work hard on learning projects. Academically, our grandchildren are challenged, stimulated, and awed by their teachers. They want to go to school. I attribute our grandchildren's love of learning to the wonderful teachers at St. Andrew's. I cannot thank them enough for their professionalism, their dedication to the student, and mostly the warmth they exude. Thank you!


Posted August 13, 2013

This school is amazing! They teach compassion which is where so many others schools are lacking. My son had attended 7 other schools both public and private before the 4th grade. I'm happy to say he will be starting his 4th consecutive year this year at St. Andrews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

We say, oh we love this school! My child feels free to be himself. He loves the art and strings class. We feel at home here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

St. Andrew's has been disappointing in every way. We stayed 3 years because we believed the promises - and because it is a convenient location. We now regret it very much. The school has a terrible reputation in the community. There is constant internal conflict which hurts the whole school A third head master in three years has just been hired. The board is incompetent. While the current pre-k through eight school is losing students and struggling with mediocrity they are adding a high school. And while all of this is going on tuition is going up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

The school is heading in the right direction. My kids are happy to attend and feel challenged. The school tuition is a value for the personalized teaching my kids receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

St. Andrew's is a wonderful school. Both of my children have been successful at St. Andrew's. We have been a part of St. Andrew's for over 9 years and have seen many wonderful changes and improvements. My children are very different from each other, but both have found the environment engaging and love to go to school. I would highly recommend St. Andrew's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

This school has changed quite drastically over the past year. My son has been attending for three years and we chosen not to continue for the upcoming year. There has been so much change in the staff (and strife among staff) and although the "new direction" seemed promising initially, I have found the quality of the education has diminished while the tuition, fees, aftercare, etc... are increasing drastically. The curriculum seems to be on target; however, teachers are falling short of implementing. As a veteran parent, I have been very disappointed in the leadership change and feel it has compromised the overall well-being of the school. Finally, be wary of positive recommendations as this school now offers existing families $1000 off tuition for each new student they refer. If a school was worth attending, would such an offer be needed?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

My daughter thrives at this school. Even in Kindergarten, the diversity of the academic and enrichment curiculum stimulates her and encourages her to work harder.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 13% 29%
Black 6% 23%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school St. Anastasia Catholic School
St. Edward's
Sungrove Montessori
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • FCIS Accreditation (2014)
  • FKC Accreditation (2014)
  • NAIS Membership (2014)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Lead to Feed (2013)
  • Chamber of Commerce (2014)
  • Sportsmanship (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Trina Angelone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
Fax number
  • (772) 461-4683

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Culinary

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Rowing/Scuba Diving/Snorkeling
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Rowing/Scuba Diving/Snorkeling
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Baton
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Game club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Photography
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Test Prep
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Please call (772)461-7689 to schedule a tour today!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
125
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
150
Students typically come from these schools
St. Anastasia Catholic School
St. Edward's
Sungrove Montessori

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Step Up for Students/VPK

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
John Carroll High School
St. Edward's School
The Marine Oceanographic Academy
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 S Indian River Dr
Fort Pierce, FL 34950
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 461-7689

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Dan Mccarty School
Fort Pierce, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT