Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 227 students

We are best known for Biblically-based program.

 

Living in Fort Walton...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2014

Great, loving, Christian environment. Students really learn about the truth's of God's Word. So thankful for CCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

I agree WHOLE HEARTEDLY with the post from Jan. 12, 2014!! With 2 children in Calvary and close to 4 years in the school my family and I could not be happier! Each teacher, even teachers that have never had my children in class, and staff members somehow know my children by name, they know that my husband and I are their parents and I love that! ANY time I have had any concern or questions about something the teachers have been extremely prompt in answering me and have offered to meet with me at my convenience. I love Calvary and feel that my children have been blessed to have the opportunity to attend this school. The staff at Calvary love the Lord and love these kids, no doubt about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

Calvary is a wonderful school! A top notch education taught by great teachers and supported by a staff who all put in 100%! They teach the kids about the love of God through their words and their actions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

I love Calvary Christian Academy. It has a caring staff and faculty and I feel my son is secure there. We have been with Calvary for over a decade and feel blesses for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

My kid's school is a wonderful Christian school that focuses on Christ, teaching His Word in every subject and helping us as parents to raise our children in the care and admonition of the Lord. Our children have been there for several years now and we are extremely pleased with the teachers, the staff, the instruction, and all of what this school does for us and our kids. We look forward to many more years in partnership with Calvary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

My Children have attended Calvary since K-5. I love the Phonics base beginning that they received, it has made them both great readers and spellers. The staff is a loving and helpful group of people who love their job and the children they work with. They make you feel that they care about your child and they want them to do well as much as you do. they are willing to go the extra mile to get the job done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

The first year my child attended was great; his teacher made learning fun and worked with students' particular ways of learning (visual, tactile, auditory, etc.). My child's second year was horrible. The teacher handed out conduct marks - which can lead to detentions, and in turn a suspension, if they rack up - like candy for *very* inane things (i.e. letting her know someone else could have a turn). She ignored me most of the time when I asked about the specifics behind the multiple conduct marks. Attempts to find a compromise in meetings with teacher and principle (who is the teacher's husband) were unfruitful. This school does not allow in-classroom observation, even if it is requested by a therapist. His teacher did not allow the boys and girls to play together at recess. A VERY legalistic Christian school. Apparently some of the parents agreed with me about the conduct marks but because I was the only one who consistently voiced my concern (and frustration), even though I was civil about it, I was abruptly told to remove my child from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

We are so absolutely blessed to have found CCA. From the moment we stepped foot into the school we felt that it was the perfect place for our daughter. Not only is she receiving a wonderful education and learning how to stand proud with Jesus she is able to participate in numerous after school activities-this is huge as many smaller schools can't offer them. Amazing parent communication & involvement, NO bullying, NO students left behind, and most importantly your children are EXPECTED to succeed-therefore they do! Helpful and encouraging staff, administration, teachers---everyone! If you are considering any other school -STOP! Pick CCA. You will NOT regret it! We are having to move in a few months, and I am heartbroken and still unable to find a school I think is any where near the caliber of CCA. Amazing. Just look in the faces of their students, that will speak louder than any words I say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

This school is one of the best in FWB, FL. The teachers are well educated, some with numerous degrees and many years of teaching education. They give your child one on one attention. The teachers care and their goal is to teach your child and make sure that child learns. The Teachers, Principle and staff at CCA are all very knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and enjoy their jobs. The students are well mannered, polite, open & hold doors open for you. And are better acting then most students we have been around There is NO BULLYING going on at this school. No NAME CALLING, ETC. Students here are nice to each other. If you believe in learning about God, while getting a great education in a Christian environment, then Calvary Christain Academy is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

Excellent School. Very organized and very structure. If you are looking for a place that may provide education with christian base, this is it. My son was there for three years and I was able to see the difference. Quality teaching and the teachers and the staff is concern for every child. Do not hesitate, great school. I wish I could've move this school with us ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Black 22% 23%
Hispanic 8% 29%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 14% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 71% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 14% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Pensacola Christian College
Bob Jones University
Crown College of the Bible
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Christian Character and Sportsmanship (2013)
  • Christian Character and Sportsmanship (2012)
  • Christian Character and Sportsmanship (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • John C. Policastro
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • FACCS; NCPSA
Fax number
  • (850) 862-9826

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Teacher-run
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Calvary Christian Academy is a private, non-profit Christian school founded in 1967 as a ministry of Calvary Baptist Church. The curriculum provides a traditional Christian education founded on the principles of the Scripture. These principles are integrated into each subject throughout every class and by all instructors. The school implements the teachings of the family and the local church, helping to rear children in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
45
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
50

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Step Up for Students Scholarship

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Pensacola Christian College
Bob Jones University
Crown College of the Bible
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 14%
4 year college - 71%
Military - 14%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

535 Clifford Street
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 862-1414

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Christian Pre-School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Wright Elementary School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


W. C. Pryor Middle School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Choctawhatchee Senior High School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Okaloosa Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Silver Sands-Excep. Children
Fort Walton Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT