Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

W. C. Pryor Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 626 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2014

Avoid this school like the plague. I have NEVER been so unhappy with any of the schools my children have attended, this school is the exception. Office staff continuously "lost" paperwork and there are most definitely teachers here who should not be teaching AT ALL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

This school is not professional at all. They do not know who to handle bullying cases and the staff has a problem with bullyng kids also. Children have a hard enough time dealing with other mean kids why on Earth would you employ someone like this in your school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

Pryor is an excellent school. My child has attended since 2011 and I have been very satisfied with her education there. The teachers and administative staff are very dedicated to helping students excel academically and helping them prepare for high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

Two of my kids are going there now and I am not happy with that school. They don't get enough food at lunch and a lot of the teachers are alwaysin a bad mood. I am going to transfer them to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

The violence erupts daily in this school. In addition to drugs, low teacher morale, and student apathy, I would NEVER send my child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I love that most of the faculty and staff are exceptionally dedicated to their students and that is very hard to find in education now unfortunately. I love that Pryor offers students wonderful program choices and great opportunities. I also have a huge appreciation for the fact that there are a number of athletics offered but that they do not take a higher priority than academics like they can at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

This is a great school. As parents, you need to get involved with your child and with the school to help make the experience a wonderful one. Get involved with booster club, Parents for Pryor, and even with your child's classroom. Field trips are wonderful despite the budget cuts that everyone is experiencing. If you have ideas for improvement, submit them, don't let a problem go by if you feel there is a need for change. That's how all schools improve. The facility has been upgraded very nicely! I'm happy that the atheletics department is getting more support too. The classroom sizes are very low compared to what other schools in other states have. I can easily check my child's grades online, contact a teacher, or guidance counselor for support. They really do listen. I have two children at the school, one in Gifted program and the other is Advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

The schools is great. Despite the previous reviews. Considering the number of students and the teaching methods the staff has to cook up, they're doing a fine job. P.E is also perfect. It keeps us physically in shape and also having fun. The front of the school looks good as well. The way things are done around here are what makes it a really special school. Example, When a new student come, the student assistants show give them a tour of the school and their new classes. Or when a parent brings up something for a student, its taken directly there by the student aides or even the staff.(: Which brings me upon parent involvement; Parents are important to the school, and they help out SO much. The field trips are WONDERFUL. :D. I hope to see this school succeed in great things. They can always improve.:]
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2007

I was very disappointed in pryor.Three of my children went there and the first two were great but in the last 5-7 years this school has went downhill every day. Hopefully the new principal, mr woitt, can turn things around. A miracle is needed from the heavens for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

I am extremely disappointed with this school. My son is currently attending the 6th grade there and I am going to pull him out early for the last week of school. Most of the teachers showed very little care and support about what the children were doing, school work wise and socially. My son is passing by the skin of his teeth only because he is able to make passing grades without much effort. No one in that school has shown an interest in trying to help him want to do better. I felt like I was the only one trying to encourage him. I hope the new principle can turn things around, but I am not keeping any of my children in the school to find out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

My son currently attends the school and I'm disappointed and looking into other schools at this time. I haven't seen any help to give my son who is very intelligent but is not excelling in fact he is failing, when I asked the teachers what is going on they had no idea what was happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

I have personally put 4 children at Pryor and have one more that will be there next year. My oldest went there from '83 to '86. My second child is now a sophomore at Choctaw and currently have two there now. I have always found the teachers and the staff to be very helpful and you can just see the care they put into taking care of your children. They are very supportive and available when you need them. Telephone calls are usually returned within a reasonable amount of time. I have one child in Girls Softball which was a great activity. Two of my girls have been in chorus and done well and my son is currently enjoying art class. The staff always recommend extra activities to keep the children involved. A great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

The Principal Ms. Green does an excellent job. Mr. Adams the band director is tough but outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Black 18%
Hispanic 17%
Two or more races 8%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 140%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 23%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%57%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JEFF PALMER
Fax number
  • (850) 833-4276

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Racetrack Road Northwest
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
Phone: (850) 833-3613

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Christian Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Calvary Christian Pre-School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Okaloosa Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Heritage Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Okaloosa Blended School
Fort Walton Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT