Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kenwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 612 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2013

I used to be a student here. I went from Kindergarden to Fourth grade. My best childhood memories were from this school. There is no other school like Kenwood. I miss it so much and if I could, I would send my children to this amazing school! This is from voice of expierience. Enroll your child at Kenwood! You won't regret it. The teachers here are spectacular! Extremely nice and will help you with all your needs. Kenwood also has many social events. My favorite was the Fall Carnival! They teach you the basic needs in life. Will never forget such a wonderful school. -Helen Noel-


Posted September 23, 2013

This is the best school around. My son has a learning disability and they are the only ones who cared about what school he would go to for middle school. The even helped me get him enrolled in the best school for him. I have never seen such a caring school before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

Loved the teachers and my three kids were able to get an incredibly awesome education here at this school. Unfortunately, the principal was unfriendly and unavailable to both parents and teachers. Hopefully there will be a new school principal soon because this school is too incredible to be brought down by poor leadership. Again, awesome teachers, awesome students, horrendously disappointing principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

This was my sons first school in the U.S. We are foreing nationals. I was amazed at how fast the picked up the language. Thanks to Ms McDonough, Ms Griggs, Mr Jones, Ms Tucker and Ms Bridwell. his teachers and to all of you who made his love new culture. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

This was my daughter's first school in the US, she arrived here at the age of 8, we are foreign nationals. I was amazed at how fast she picked up the language thanks to the extraordinary support of her teachers. She was never left behind in the curriculum, never made her feel isolated. She loved this school from day one. Thanks to Ms. Garea, her first teacher, and to all of you who made her love her new culture, that was priceless to me. This is her last year in Kenwood, she will miss you all greatly. I definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

3 of my 4 kids attended this school. There is a high level of parental involvment with the school. PTO is very active. Quality of academic program is high standard and challenging.You will not be disappointed with Kenwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

I used to be a student here and I loved every moment. I miss it badly and the teachers here are the best in the world. I would recomend this school over every other. The teachers here know what's the most important to teach and make sure the kids understand it. There seriously isn't enough words to express the gratitude I feel to have been given the gift of going to this school and, I hope many other kids get to have that same experience as I had here. I love and miss all my teachers including (Mrs. Kathy, Mrs. Kafferly, Mrs. Clemons, Mrs. Chatnueff, and the math teacher in the advanced special child program. I love you all. Thank you for giving me a chance. -Shara Christie
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2004

We have had 5 children go to this school. It has been a great experience for all of them. The teachers are wonderful, caring people. They always keep you 'in the loop' as to what is happening with your child. They always encourage them to do their best. This will be the last year that we have someone there. We will miss the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Black 14% 23%
Two or more races 12% 3%
Hispanic 8% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%57%61%
Master's degree 16%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Yvonne Michna
Fax number
  • (850) 833-3597

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Eagle St NE
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
Phone: (850) 833-3570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL



Calvary Christian Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Calvary Christian Pre-School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Wright Elementary School
Fort Walton Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT