Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freeport Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 602 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2013

My child has gone to this school for two years now and I've been nothing but impressed with her teachers. I love how involved I'm allowed to be and how welcome they make me feel. All the staff truly care for the students. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

Military family here chose beautiful master-planned Freeport community over overpriced Niceville/Bluewater neighborhoods, worried about what elementary school would be like...after 2 years, I feel this is a very decent school. It has a solid positive behavior system in place and an excellent reading program. My kids have had some amazing teachers although I have learned that as with any public school, you need to be proactive in requesting a teacher that is right for your child's personality (you cannot request specific teachers but you can request the characteristics your child needs). The gym/music/art/library teachers all seem to be enthusiastic, devoted educators. The school has a "sunshine math" program to challenge advanced students and a gifted/talented program. I toured Bluewater Bay Elementary at one point due to open enrollment possibilities; the environment seemed more crowded & stressful to me and I was not convinced that my kids would be happier there. FES is not without its flaws but overall I feel that my kids are receiving a very decent education and enjoying an incomparable lifestyle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

Excellent school! I have nothing but praise for this school! Coming from a neighboring school (Butler Elementary) I was a bit nervous about my child's transition. I must say, I was so pleasantly surprised! The teachers and staff are so friendly, and welcoming. They keep me well informed on my children's progress, and if they need any help in any areas. They encourage reading and learning at all their events & activities. They know every child by name, and encourage parental participation and have an open door policy for parents any time. As a parent that lived in Santa Rosa Beach, I am so glad I tried the school, and did not allow people to discourage me from taking my children here! I have personally experienced both schools (Butler & Freeport) and find that we are having a much richer experience here in Freeport. So, for those parents that shuttle their children south of the bay, please give Freeport a try before making that decision. I am very happy I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

Our children have been in schools all around America. This is the first school our children have attended that have gone above and beyond when it comes to communicating with the parents. As our youngest is in K, we have not worked with the advanced programs yet. Regardless, this is one of the best elementary schools our children have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I would have to say that the school could work a bit harder at providing a challenge for those able to handle it. It appears that they are too worried about the 'FCAT' as most public school systems seem to be nowadays. The No Child Left Behind Act has created a school system that seems to only be concerned with 'making the grade' and not teaching a full robust curriculum. I can see a future that wonders why we let our brightest minds dim and die in the quagmire that is NCLBA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

its o.k. but not that good with childrens behavior and the way people deal with that but very safe and excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

Our two boys are doing so well at Freeport Elementary that they are on the honor roll. They have excelled and exceeded our expectations, the teachers go above and beyond communicating with the parents. This is a school I very highly recommend for anyone's child. They make your child feel at home, know the kids by name, ensure your child's safety and provide an atmosphere for well being and learning. The building and facilities are in excellent condition, the media center is very well stocked for voracious readers and the Principal is a leader. Our kids are not only learning at Freeport Elementary, they are thriving. My only complaint is that it does not go all the way through College because the school is that good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

I went to Freeport Elementary when I was a student. Now I have one child attending this year and another child starting next year. This school is an excellent elementary school. The teachers and staff care about each and every student. I am a very involved parent, and I see first hand the quality of education the children receive. The school also strives to keep the kids excited about what they're learning. The staff and PTO provide fun activities like a Fall Festival, T-shirt contest for the kids, and lots of extra events througout the school year. I feel very lucky that my children will and have attended this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

After losing our home to hurricane katrina we relocated to Freeport florida and enrolled our kids in Freeport Elementary. They made us feel so welcome and at ease knowing that our kids would be well taken care of. The kids love the school and have made lots of new friends. One of my sons has a severe allergy to ants and they staff has gone above and beyond to make his safety a priority. We love this school and have made Freeport our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

moving down here from New Orleans due to Katrina my daughter attended this school and loved it. I thought the principal was awesome! He was very motivating and positive and strived for hard work and setting goals. We lived about 30 minutes away so I don't know about after school avtivities. My daughter really enjoyed the music and art program. For the little while we were there I was very impressed with teachers, principal and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

The teachers here are excellent and very kid friendly. I have to say that in my opinion the school is unprepared for children with medical needs. They do not have choices for children with food allergies, and offer little assistance for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

My two girls have attended FES for the past 3 years. The teachers are above average and really go the extra mile to help our girls be successful in their endeavors. The support staff is encouraging and helpful in every manner possible. The learning environment is exceptional in encouragement and excitement. The ESE program at FES is above average. The ESE teachers really know how to motivate my girls into making the right choices. The resources FES makes available are outstanding. The student teacher ratio is appropriate. FES makes learning fun and challenging. The student's are very forgiving and equally accepting of other students and various disabilities. Overall, we love FES and the students and the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

This is a great school, one of the better run schools in the County. They have great incentives for the kids to achieve their personal goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

The faculty and staff at this school hold extremely high standards for our children. We are very proud to say our children attend Freeport Elementary. I know they are getting the high education they need to succeed in life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

Exceptional school with a friendly atmosphere. All staff promotes a positive learning environment where students feel safe. My children and I love Freeport Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

I have a son in this school and I have one that has already graduated that went to this elementary school. These teachers work very hard and if more parents would volunteer they would see this. We may be a small community school, but we give every student as much if not more than any big city school could.This school cares about its students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

We have two children who attend FES. We find that the staff keeps children first in every decision. It is a caring, nurturing environment where every child has the opportunity to reach their potential. Parents and/or Volunteers are very much a part of the school and are always welcome. In addition, to giving our children a first rate education, my husband and I appreciate the fact that the school stresses good citizenship, good behavior, and personal responsiblity. Our children love their school--everyone from their own teachers and the principal to the custodians!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

Freeport Elementary School is an excellent school, as evidenced by the overwhelming percentage of positive responses received on the annual parent survey. As an involved parent, I see wonderful things happening at this school every day. For a true review of the school, call or write for a copy of the annual report and the school will happily provide one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 5%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 182%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 25%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%68%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. PAMELA JONES
Fax number
  • (850) 892-1219

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15381 U.S. 331
Freeport, FL 32439
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 892-1210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bay Elementary School
Santa Rosa Beach, FL


Van R. Butler Elementary School
Santa Rosa Beach, FL


Cornerstone Church & Academy
Defuniak Springs, FL


Gateway Academy
Miramar Beach, FL



First Christian Academy
DeFuniak Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT